We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it - great location, large rooms, comfy beds.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Ranked #55 of 376 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed in the Westin Miyako for three nights in January 2014. It's a wonderful hotel in the foothills of Kyoto, with a lot of history and beautiful gardens. We loved the location - it's walking distance to various shrines, temples, gardens and other cultural locations, as well as Gion (if you're in the mood for a longer walk). The rooms were great - clean, comfortable and big. And the beds were divine - after sleeping in a tatami room in our previous accommodation, it was like floating on a cloud. Finally, they offer a free shuttle twice an hour into town, which is great. We'll definitely stay here again when we next return to Kyoto - great value and great location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank framling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for staying at the Westin Miyako Kyoto.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Heavenly beds are located in our all rooms for your delight.
It is called that it is the feeling to sleep on a cloud.
Please come back and relax with heavenly beds again in the near future.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Miyako Kyoto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

771 - 777 of 2,514 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

There has been a hotel on this property since 1890. It was one of the first and largest hotels in Japan. The staff and service are first rate. The room was very nice and quite comfortable. The free shuttle to the Kyoto train station was a real convenience and allowed us to visit several other cities in the area without additional cost.

Room Tip: Don't wait until you check out to review your bill...there is no so such service on the tv as in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for staying at the Westin Miyako Kyoto.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our hotel has been started the name MIYAKO hotel since 1890, after that, it has been rebranded with Starwood in 2002 and changed to The Westin Miyako Kyoto.
Next year in 2015, we will celebrate 125th anniversary. Let’s join and celebrate with us. We very look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Miyako Kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The Westin Miyako is nicely located on the foothills overlooking beautiful Kyoto. It has it's own nature trail and is within walking distance to some incredible temples, shrines, and gardens. The rooms are nice and big, And I would definitely request a city view. Food was good, but expensive.

Room Tip: Request a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for staying at the Westin Miyako Kyoto.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
As you mentioned, we are located near many famous temples and shrines included the National Heritage, such as Heian Shrine, Kyoto Imperial Palace and Nijo Castle.
Wild Bird Sanctuary and Trail is located behind the main building of the hotel, offers guests a change to reflect and relax in harmony with the environment.
And also, two Japanese gardens named Aoi-den and Kaui-en, which registered as Cultural Property by the city of Kyoto, located 7th floor in the hotel. Please visit and feel nature tradition next time! We very look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Miyako Kyoto in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in Jan. Nice large room with a balcony - facing the mountain. I think it was a deluxe room. Room was rather far from the elevator, can't imagine if we had to walk back to our room to get something. Heavenly bed was just heavenly (as always!). Hotel has a mixed setting - integrating the new and modern whilst maintaining the traditional look in some areas, particularly the Banquet Halls. Maya from Conscierge was very helpful. Gave us very clear directions and helpful local tips.

Expect some competition from the Ritz Carlton Kyoto (opening March 2014). Overall good stay, nice room and bathroom.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank ConradTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for staying with us for 3 nights while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We continue to provide the space where guests could have a memorable and relaxing stay with us. Thank you very much for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

After a pause of over 5 years, we re-visited Westin Kyoto again. This is our fourth stay here and this time was over the New Year holidays. Our room was in the Kasuien wing, our second visit. We stopped coming here after the opening of Hyatt Regency Kyoto, the latter is a superb property, probably the best Hyatt Regency in Japan that we stayed in, but Westin Miyako was our first western hotel experience in Kyoto and we returned hoping to rekindle fond memories. Our room was comfortably appointed with a nice view of the gardens, and a very well maintained hinoki (cypress wood) bath - loved the soaks in it! There was free wifi but no humidifier. The disappointing areas were: (1) unpleasant cigarette smoke smells along the corridors of even the non-smoking 7th floor that we needed to pass to access Kasuien (SPG members beware); (2) woolen yukata outer coats were not provided despite the cold winter weather; (3) rather cold service at breakfast in Shisen, the Chinese restaurant; (4) luggage delivery between the hotel and their satellite concierge at JR Kyoto is now charged per piece, used to be free. This used to be the best 5 star hotel in Kyoto but now it's become just a faded beauty.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ChuJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for staying with us while you were in a beautiful city, Kyoto and thank you for coming back to stay again. We are pleased to hear that you liked Kasuien-Japanese room where Heavenly Futons are provided. Thank you for your feedback. We will check the points we made you disappointed and will improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you back again next time you visit Kyoto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We have just spent 3 nights at the Westin Miyako. We had a room on the executive level on 9th floor which boasts a heavenly bed and a heavenly shower....well don't know about heavenly but it was pretty good. There were 3 of us in the room.
The rooms are large on Japan scale. The bathroom was great. It was quiet, view nice and the team there were fantastic. Great breakfast buffet.
They organised a bus to pick us up at Osaka airport and they have a great shuttle from the hotel to places like Gion and many of the stations.
Fantastic stay and would definitely stay again. Convenient location and Right next to a subway.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for staying with us while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. All the rooms are equipped with the Heavenly Bed for you comfort and good rest. The shower has just replaced to new one recently. We continue to make the space where guests enjoy, relax and satisfy their experience. Thank you for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I'm not sure about the other reviews stating the hotel is dated or is not up to par, but my stay was one of the best amongst all the Westin's i've stayed in. Stayed with wife and toddler. Firstly, the shuttle from Kyoto Station to the hotel and Gion is a life saver. Kyoto ain't Tokyo with its network of trains and the buses has nearly no English and is a challenge to use. Look where the buses stop that's where the shuttle is. Check-in was smooth and the rooms are massive for Japanese standard. I had 2 double beds with a single bed and there was still plenty of space in the room. The amenities are top notch and generous. The toilet is spacious and the room is very clean. Location wise is fine since the shuttle stops you at the subway which can connect you to multiple places and also to Gion which is great for the evenings - dinner and shopping. As for room rates, I personally thought it had extremely good value for the price. Will definitely stay here again when I come back to continue my Kyoto trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teh_Ais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for staying with us while you were in beautiful city, Kyoto. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our hotel is located a bit out of city but there are many historical sites for exploration around hotel. It is very nice to go for a walk in the greenery. If you use our shuttle bus to get to central, it is convenient but also it is a walking distance. Thank you very much for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#10 of 376 in Kyoto
2,432 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#25 of 376 in Kyoto
1,263 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 376 in Kyoto
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 376 in Kyoto
3,063 reviews
City Center
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Miyako Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Address: 1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto 605-0052, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#11 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#14 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $178 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Miyako Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western-style 11-story Hotel located amid Japanese gardens, 5 miles from train station & 31 miles from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Miyako Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Miyako Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Westin Miyako Kyoto
Westin Kyoto
Kyoto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing