We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Five Star Hotel that Nickles and Dimes You”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Ranked #51 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not a Five Star Hotel that Nickles and Dimes You”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I am a SPGGold Member and Starwood continues to disappoint me every single stay. Recently, I've been staying at Hyatt's and they treat me a lot better than Starwood. This hotel is in a decent location close to the city center.But you need to take a 5 minute taxi ride. The hotel itself is very nice. However, I think the service has room for improvements. Barely any of the staff speak English and had two experiences where they were extremely rude to me. The thing the bothers me the most and I blame Starwood for allowing it is that they will charge you $5 every single time you want to use the fitness center or the swimming pool. I think it is absurd for a five star hotel to do that. I expect a three star hotel to get away and it is terrible that a Westing would alienate their guests in that way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bem247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us while you were in Kyoto. We apologize that we could not make you feel to be at Westin during your stay. We will make our efforts to improve our service. We hope we could welcome you back in the future if we have another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    978
    449
    121
    73
See reviews for
736
827
174
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cairo
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

i stayed there for 1 month..The rooms are more than amazing..very clean and the beds are amazing..Tha staff is so friendly..the room is occupied with everything u wish for even when i ordered a small toaster for the the toast they got me..you'll enjoy the garden and climb the hill inside the hotel..the food is excellent..the hotel is 15 min walk from down town.. 2 to 3 min to a famous market there..It is expensive but it worth the experience alot

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us for 1 month while you were in a beautiful city, Kyoto. We are glad to hear that our service and a Heavenly bed made you comfortable to stay. Not only in-house guests but also visitors try Wild Bird Sanctuary and Trail. It offers guests a chance to reflect and relax in harmony with the environment.Totaling, 850 meters, or roughly 1/2 mile, the tour can be completed in 30-40 minutes. We hope we could welcome you back another seasons like spring next time in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuhai, China
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very good service at this hotel, typical of japan! Its located near one fo the famous, must visit temples, and a great 20 minute walk to the city centre.

The bar upstairs (when you find it) is very comfortable and has 2 piece band playing. very relaxing spot to be.

I loved kyoto, westin offers the best vantage point to get around this city while maintaining a comfortable living environment, free wifi in room and around the property. Kyoto is the old immperial capital of Japan and wow its such a beautiful scenic area, its really amazing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_enhancement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Westin Miyako Kyoto.
We really happy to hear that you spent a pleasant time with Jazz live is taken place at our bar named Moon Light .
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Kyoto in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. The accommodations are more than adequate. The only draw-back is that the location isn't near anything spectacular so you'll always be traveling to your destination. Not a terrible price to pay for comfort. Also, the breakfast buffet is incredible.

Room Tip: Ask for views of Kyoto, since the hotel sits up on a hill it offers spectacular views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while you were in beautiful city in Kyoto. We are glad to hear that you had western feel during your stay. We would like all the guests to be their best at Westin and feel like being at home with comfort. Our international and Japanese buffet has approximately 50 kinds menu including using local foods. There is also "Super food" about which it cares healthily. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Even though this hotel is in the suburbs of Kyoto, this city has so much to offer that 2 of the atractions are within a waking distance do this hotel.
If you arrive to Kyoto via JR train, the hotel has a welcome center where you can leave you bags, go for a walk and come back by 6 pm to then go to the hotel. Also useful the day you check out if you want to have a last day o sightseeing in amazing Kyoto.
Free shuttle service runs between the JR station and the hotel. Stoping to drop you off at Gion.
Located 15 min walk from one end of the philosopher's path.
Service is outstanding people are very nice and helpful. They will take time to help you plan your day. I would go back anytime.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us while you were in a beautiful city, Kyoto. We are glad to hear that you had wonderful time in Kyoto city. There are a lot of places to see. It would be nice to come back here different seasons. You would see another Kyoto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

From the pick-up to drop off we were delighted. Once we realized that we were at the wrong pick-up site on this warm day we were well on our way to having a great day in Kyoto. After refreshing in our rooms we ventured to see the Heian temple and Cultural museum nearby. Access via hotel bus and subway are good as Kyoto is quite spread out. Reminder that the last pick-up is at 9pm, we just about missed our free ride one night! Staff were all helpful, thanks for the 25th anniversary cake. Doorman was quite a hoot! Quick checkout was a blessing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaperoneguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto. We are glad to hear that you had wonderful time with us, celebrating on your 25th anniversary. This summer was quite humid and hot, so we hope our heavenly beds were comfortable for you and relieve your fatigue one day sightseeing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel has numerous restaurants that are excellent. The service is outstanding as usual for Japanese culture and service. Just because they don't understand English well doesn't mean they don't care. They are very concerned about disappointing. Great pool area, one indoor and the other outdoor. The concierge will organize whatever you may want or need. Front dest exchanges money into Yen at competitive rates. Very helpful.

Room Tip: Courtyard with fountain view is quiet. Street side is more noisy slightly but nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto. We are glad to hear your feedback of our restaurants. There are 7 different dining and lounge. We will continue serving guests with our spirit of hospitality. "Westin Work Out" has Gym, indoor pool, outdoor (shape of Biwa Lake next prefecture of Kyoto), Sauna and Jacuzzi, so you can energize or de-stress day or night. Thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#13 of 369 in Kyoto
2,348 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 369 in Kyoto
2,958 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 369 in Kyoto
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 369 in Kyoto
883 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#45 of 369 in Kyoto
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Miyako Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Property: The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Address: 1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto 605-0052, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#14 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Miyako Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western-style 11-story Hotel located amid Japanese gardens, 5 miles from train station & 31 miles from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Starwood APAC, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Miyako Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Miyako Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Westin Miyako Kyoto
Westin Kyoto
Kyoto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing