We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no Further”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Ranked #56 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at the Westin Kyoto for 10 days in a Deluxe Garden with Balcony. The service is unbelievable and the rooms are very spaceous. Some say the hotel doesnt have a great location, however that is nonsense. its right in the heart of the best area for temple / shrine viewings. There is a shuttle service to Gion, however the walk there is magnificent. After a few stays in Kyoto we can say that the location for us is the best. The convenience store within the hotel was a gem and the Spa first class. Breakfast was unbelievable. Its all about attention to detail and the exceptional staff.

Room Tip: Go for Highest Floor with Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarPANAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

941 - 947 of 2,608 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Westin in Kyoto for two nights during Golden Week 2013 and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is of older date clearly and it is huge which some people like and others don't, but overall we had great service, a spacious room and enjoyed the amenities. The hotel has a pool that our 3 and 4 year-olds really enjoyed frolicking in on a rainy morning before venturing out to the tourist spots. My husband and I both used the tiny but it-has-what-you-need gym, and had a decent workout. All at a price, of course. Breakfast buffet was in the main dining hall and huuge due to the size of the hotel - one aspect of the stay my husband was mot crazy about.We had dinner one night at the teppanyaki restaurant in the hotel and found it to be very pricy but also very tasty. The hotel is in the outskirts of Gion and with kids it's a bit of a hike to walk to and from the hotel. There is a shuttle that can take you to the nearest train stations and to Kyoto Eki, but going back to the hotel you are on your own.
We got a room in the newest section of the hotel, and it had a nice big balcony with a beautiful view of the city. This made the room-feel nice and big. Also the bathroom seemed newly refurbished which was very nice! In all a comfortable hotel stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelMom_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Expensive and not worth the price. Ugly decor (the common area has a 60's feel to it but not in a hip or retro way), and bad breakfast.

It is a tired -tired-very tired hotel that is in desperate need of love and money. The executive lounge, had truly one of the most skimpy breakfast and afternoon "spreads" ever encountered. Reminded me of the 70/80s food in East Germany. And we know how bad that was.

It was so bad, that it was almost funny. But not really.

The only positive, walking distance from many of the key sites.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCMomInChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

When you picture the ancient city of Kyoto, the massive Westin Miyako is not what comes to mind. One advantage to the size thought is the shuttle from the train, which makes things a bit easier. However, we probably would have rather paid the $5 for the two of us to take the train than $5 per gym use. We have been to 40+ countries, stayed at Starwood's in more than half of them (including two others in Japan) and that is the first time outside of most hotels in Las Vegas we had ever seen something like that. That was not our only complaint.

They had been very helpful in arranging our dinner and train reservations ahead of time and generally speaking the employees were very accomodating (the door men/women spoke English perfectly and always made sure we got to the right place in a taxi). However, the concierge who was there most of the 5 nights we were staying at the hotel, Kaori, was unhelpful and at times nasty. We had to ask specifically to get detailed maps of areas and getting a recommendation for lunch when we were out sightseeing was like pulling teeth. When we asked her to show us something on our larger map, she said I already gave you a printout yesterday (which was in Japanese and not of much help when we decided to go to the place on our own via the train). Even if she had I don't think it is too much to ask to have it again.

As for the rooms, they are a decent size but desperately need updating. It is the carpets, wallpaper and furniture that are especially dated/dirty. The bed and bathroom are more up to date, which is obviously more important. Finally, we should say that we did find the location very good as we could walk to Gion, Kiyomizu-dera and the Philosopher's Path. We used points and got 5th night free, so it was worth it for us, but they charge a great deal which probably isn't worth it. Overall, this isn't up to a westin standards, and we were disappointed in spg.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rogi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We recently stayed at the Westin Hotel Kyoto. The rooms are much larger than the newer hotels in Kyoto. They were nicely appointed and quite comfortable. The service at the hotel is very good. We were assisted by the Concierge multiple times and her recommendations were excellent. The only drawback for some would be the location. It is closer to the temples (a positive) but the hotel is quite far from the city center activities. Taxi travel is almost a requirement.

Room Tip: Request a room facing North with a view across the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonR_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is quite far from city centre and most attractions. There is however a shuttle bus available if you need to get to gion or the train station. JR railway is about a 1800yen taxi. Gion about 800yen. The hotel has minimal restaurants around it and therefore takes the opportunity to gouge as much as it can with its on restaurants and services

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TopenderNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel is located within steps of a subway station and a 15 minute walk from many bus stops; the hotel also operates a shuttle from the train station. Very close to the Geisha district - can take nice walks from the hotel in the evening. Unlike at the other Westin and HIlton Hotels I stayed at in Asia, as a Platnium (Diamond at Hilton) member, we were not given the option of the buffet breakfast in the restuarant, but only given the option of breakfast in the club lounge, which was more of a continental breakfast and did not include asian items (not even Miso) - hence the poor rating for breakfast. In the evening the club room had cheese, crackers and nuts, and one could request a pre-determined appetizer plate - we later learned a vegetarian alternative could be requested in advance. The staff was very attentive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 150nightsperyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#26 of 407 in Kyoto
1,322 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#8 of 407 in Kyoto
2,529 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#16 of 407 in Kyoto
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#13 of 407 in Kyoto
3,174 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Miyako Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Address: 1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto 605-0052, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#12 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $173 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Miyako Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western-style 11-story Hotel located amid Japanese gardens, 5 miles from train station & 31 miles from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Starwood, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Miyako Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Miyako Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Westin Miyako Kyoto
Westin Kyoto
Kyoto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing