We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Ranked #54 of 376 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We returned to this hotel as we thoroughly enjoyed the location last time. The timing was perfect for the cheery blossoms with the surrounds and beautiful gardens. Some of the junior staff seemed new to luxury hotels, and in a quirky way this added some character to the hotel. Overall we enjoyed the stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

917 - 923 of 2,519 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Let's be fair, this hotel is just fine. The room was clean, the staff were helpful and the facilities were sufficient to ensure your stay was comfortable.

All that being said the hotel had a tired feel and certainly catered to a rather elderly clientele. From its outward appearance the building dates from the 1970s and the interior from the late 80s or early 90s. The whole place could do with an update , particularly considering its prime location overlooking the city.

The restaurants served very average food and the Moonlight Bar had the feel more akin to a conference centre rather than the Westin brand more globally.

We also had rather annoying issues with access to broadband throughout the stay and the hotel did not attend to the problem even when we complained three times.

In summary this is a hotel which has seen better days.

Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great hotel, great location. The Westin Kyoto is a large, comfortable, modern and clean hotel. Staff is friendly and rooms are really good size for Japan.

Close to most tourist destinations in Kyoto. Most rooms have views of the city.
A few minutes walk to subway station.

Free wireless in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megadayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We love this hotel, having been there three times. one must assume that there is something bringing us back,
Were told that we would be given a Deluxe room but no breakfast would be included in the rate which was quite high.
When we arrived late at night from a long journey, we were shown to our room , which was the same one we stayed at when we were there last time but with a much lower rate.
Don't get me wrong the room was clean and the bed wonderful, but was expecting some thing a little more luxurious!
Maybe the pyjamas that they provided for us (and they were wonderful) made the room into a deluxe.
At the time of booking as I was a starwood member they included a continental breakfast downstairs at Madisons cafe, which was very nice, but somewhat repetitive after 7 days.
As usual they staff were great and were more than willing to help with anything we had a problem with.
We had room service menu 4 times while we were there (unusual for us but the climate was so cold and we were out so much of the day) so dinner time comes around and we were pretty well starving.............room service and it was quick and delicious.
The Westin itself was surrounded by flowering Cherry trees and the sight was spectacular!
The flowers were just coming out when we arrived, and every day there were more and more. all over the riverbanks and beside the streams, beautiful cherry blossoms. Down by the museum and the University, the sight was unbelievable. I would have to count this among one of my best life experiences. I have had so many.
Also, you must make time for the bird watching trail behind the hotel. Once again the experience is like no other......quiet......clean.......beautiful.......lots of oxygen to clean out your lung and more an more cherry trees , magnolia and azaleas,
While we certainly enjoyed our time at the Westin, I was a bit disappointed that we were not given a better room, seeing it was our 3rd time there. We are now planning another holiday and while we love it there, there were other hotels with better rates.
Also, forgetting praise for their wonderful shuttles and the drivers!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. You can take marvellous photos fro there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesandVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I would definitely stay at this hotel again. The hotel is beautiful, about a 10 minute taxi ride (about 1600 yen) from the Shinkansen Kyoto station. The room was a good size for Japan standards, and we got an actual king sized bed and two free bottles of water every day.
Somehow I missed the gardens on the grounds, but will need to check it out next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noveez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Excellent property...helpful staff.. the lobby is decent enough.. however, the floor on which the restaurants and bar are located look desolated,lifeless and scary.. the directions to the bar should be highlighted properly or else one can get lost. !

The convenience store had good souvenir products and other stuff. the rooms were big and bathroom amenities were good. the hotel also boasts of a bird watch trail.. this is worth the walk..

the breakfast area seemed small if your group is large and u want to have breakfast at once!

The bar has good selection of cocktails and spirits. the ice cubes served is MASSIVE and styled as a globed.. loved it!

Recommended strongly!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank anushree l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed 4 days in March with our 3 children and the hotel is perfectly located within walking distance of the lovely 'Philosophers Walk' and several beautiful old temples and shrines.

The free hotel shuttle in very convenient for exploring different parts of Kyoto and for getting to Gion and Kawarasuma for a great selection of restaurants, shops etc.

The hotel is also very near the Heinan Shrine which was the finish point of the Kyoto Marathon which one of us ran.

Rooms are tired but fine. Service is very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sveske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#12 of 376 in Kyoto
2,436 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#25 of 376 in Kyoto
1,268 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#22 of 376 in Kyoto
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 376 in Kyoto
3,068 reviews
City Center
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#46 of 376 in Kyoto
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Miyako Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Address: 1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto 605-0052, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#14 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $177 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Miyako Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western-style 11-story Hotel located amid Japanese gardens, 5 miles from train station & 31 miles from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Miyako Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Miyako Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Westin Miyako Kyoto
Westin Kyoto
Kyoto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing