We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Ranked #54 of 376 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Large hotel in a great location for nearby temples Silver Pavilion, Nantenji. Reception area very impressive but the room we had needs updating. Rather shabby and dated. Western style bathroom was nice though. Hotel bus shuttle service (drop off only) every half hour to Gion/shopping area and Kyoto station. Very enthusiastic doorman who spoke excellent English and seemed to enjoy practising with us! Save money on taxis by using the subway – the hotel is located between 2 subway stops Keage and Higashiyama (I think) – choose Keage round the corner then you don’t have to walk up hill to the hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

941 - 947 of 2,519 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is my second stay at the Westin Miyako and just like the last one was a good stay. Was upgraded to a suite with Bulgari amenities. Needless to say the suite was very well appointed and service was excellent. The hotel is located near the woods which is beautiful. Kyoto is compact enough and it was not more than 10 minutes of taxi ride everywhere we went.

Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feibeesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was familiar with the Westin in Tokyo and went to the Westin Miyako in Kyoto expecting a similar standard of comfort. However, the room was relatively small and most of the decor looked like it was getting on for 20 years old. Admittedly the bathroom had been done up very recenty and was very smart, albeit rather cramped. Overall I would expect more comfort given the price we were paying, although it has to be said that Kyoto hotels are generally very expensive (we have stayed in several over the years). We did not eat in the hotel as I was not prepared to spend another arm and a leg above what we were paying for the room.

One of the big plus points about the hotel is its near perfect position for exploring the Higashiyama area of Kyoto. On one day you could walk along the philospher's path to Ginkakuji and on another day you could walk south to Sannenzaka and Kiyomizudera. There is also a shuttle bus which can take you to the city centre and to the main railway station. Meanwhile there is a subway stop just a few yards from the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genkhis_khan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Initial impression was nice - good lobby area, great location from which to do some sightseeing (Keage metro stop literally a 2 min walk out the front doors). Room was disappointing however. Small. Hallways also showed signs of wear.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank glbtrttr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Westin Miyako Kyoto was a fantastic place to stay. We were travelling on a JR rail pass and managed to drag our luggage through 2 subway connections from the main station only to discover the hotel has a free shuttle. The staff were outstanding, the location brilliant and the hotel itself provided all the great things one expects of the Westin Brand however... we had reserved a Japanese Style Room which was truly a highlight of our trip. The futon was comfortable, the Japanese furnishings practical and created the most wonderful atmosphere. From the hotel it was easy to walk to some of the shrines/temples and also many of the great restaurants and sites in the area. One word of caution... it still leaves me lost for words, the restaurant in the hotel had a lovely Sashimi and Sushi selection - price was almost 40,000 Yen.

Room Tip: Familiarity of a Western Chain but with all the charn of Japan, ask for a Japanese Style room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airlinesimulation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Everything about the stay was great - the breakfast, room, staff...etc. But I was most impressed by their concierge service. A week ahead of my stay I sent an email to the hotel with several questions and dinner reservation requests. One of their concierge staff, Akimi Kawabata, got back to me with very helpful suggestions and was efficient in securing reservations for dinner and tours at palace properties. When I checked into the hotel I found Akimi waiting for me with everything printed out - including tickets, confirmations, directions and maps. As she was explaining everything to me I realized she knew my itinerary better than I did! Wonderful service from Akimi and I highly recommend this hotel, which is a 3-minute walk from a subway station so it's super convenient.

Room Tip: Get in touch with the concierge via email before your trip to secure tour and dinner reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed there for two nights in the japanese style room. What a very nice experience, a change from the usual hotel room.

The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good too. And another plus point, free wifi.

However, the location is not in central kyoto. And quite far from the attractions. The hotel provide free shuttle service to kyoto station, and closest subway station is around 2-3 mins walk from the hotel.

A good choice for rest and relaxing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mswendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#12 of 376 in Kyoto
2,435 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#25 of 376 in Kyoto
1,266 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 376 in Kyoto
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 376 in Kyoto
3,068 reviews
City Center
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Miyako Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Address: 1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto 605-0052, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#14 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $177 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Miyako Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western-style 11-story Hotel located amid Japanese gardens, 5 miles from train station & 31 miles from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Miyako Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Miyako Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Westin Miyako Kyoto
Westin Kyoto
Kyoto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing