We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the highlights of Japan!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Ranked #47 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Sydney
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of Japan!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Westin Miyako Kyoto was a fantastic place to stay. We were travelling on a JR rail pass and managed to drag our luggage through 2 subway connections from the main station only to discover the hotel has a free shuttle. The staff were outstanding, the location brilliant and the hotel itself provided all the great things one expects of the Westin Brand however... we had reserved a Japanese Style Room which was truly a highlight of our trip. The futon was comfortable, the Japanese furnishings practical and created the most wonderful atmosphere. From the hotel it was easy to walk to some of the shrines/temples and also many of the great restaurants and sites in the area. One word of caution... it still leaves me lost for words, the restaurant in the hotel had a lovely Sashimi and Sushi selection - price was almost 40,000 Yen.

Room Tip: Familiarity of a Western Chain but with all the charn of Japan, ask for a Japanese Style room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airlinesimulation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, June 30, 2015
Thank you for staying wth us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    934
    419
    117
    69
See reviews for
694
794
169
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Everything about the stay was great - the breakfast, room, staff...etc. But I was most impressed by their concierge service. A week ahead of my stay I sent an email to the hotel with several questions and dinner reservation requests. One of their concierge staff, Akimi Kawabata, got back to me with very helpful suggestions and was efficient in securing reservations for dinner and tours at palace properties. When I checked into the hotel I found Akimi waiting for me with everything printed out - including tickets, confirmations, directions and maps. As she was explaining everything to me I realized she knew my itinerary better than I did! Wonderful service from Akimi and I highly recommend this hotel, which is a 3-minute walk from a subway station so it's super convenient.

Room Tip: Get in touch with the concierge via email before your trip to secure tour and dinner reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, June 30, 2015
Thank you for staying wth us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed there for two nights in the japanese style room. What a very nice experience, a change from the usual hotel room.

The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good too. And another plus point, free wifi.

However, the location is not in central kyoto. And quite far from the attractions. The hotel provide free shuttle service to kyoto station, and closest subway station is around 2-3 mins walk from the hotel.

A good choice for rest and relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mswendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, June 30, 2015
Thank you for staying wth us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I am an American traveler and stay at Westins frequently. This is not a typical Westin and I would not recommend it, though it wasn't terrible. Here are some pros and cons:

Pro:
1. Very near a subway station and a number of the key sites (Temples) in Kyoto
2. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful

Cons:
1. The rooms/furniture are tired and old. In my first room (more below), the carpet looked like it hadn't been updated since the 1970s and the bathroom wasn't much better. The second room I was in was weird -- it was huge, but had an empty, strange feeling to it.
2. I was in a non-smoking room, but the hotel put me on a floor with a number of smoking rooms. I could smell smoke in my room. The staff did move to another room for my second night, but it was a hassle. I was also given free breakfast, which was definitely not up standard of international hotels (but I shouldn't complain too much).

I get the feeling that there aren't very many hotels in Kyoto, so this hotel has been able to get by without investing in a renovation. I think a lot of local weddings are held here. Not the worst hotel experience I've had, but certainly not a typical Westin.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StargazerFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, June 30, 2015
Thank you for staying wth us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The rooms and common areas are all well appointed. However, the hotel bar is tiny and the other services non-existent, which is not acceptable for a hotel in this class. Also, information on where to go in Kyoto at night was less than good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, June 30, 2015
Thank you for staying wth us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We really debated whether to stay here or at the railway station, closer to the center of town. But eventually the tranquil location of this hotel won us over.

The second morning we woke up, we explored the hotel grounds. There are a couple of very nicely kept Japanese gardens, and a footpath leading up the hill will take you to a shrine. On the way you can also spot the place where the hotel grows its own mushrooms.

The hotel is 200m away from the subway line, and runs free shuttle to and from the railway station. Taxi cabs line up at the gate of the hotel all the time, so there won't be any trouble getting to places.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chin_Jun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, June 30, 2015
Thank you for staying wth us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Pros...
20 steps from the front door is the Tokai subway line.
Hotel runs a shuttle that drops u near Main part of town (at Kaiken subway station and the bridges that connect u to the main shopping dining part of town. Shuttle runs 8a until 10p or so
Offers a non-cookie cutter option of staying in the Tatami rooms
You can stroll on the paths behind the main bldg and feel the loveliness of the Kyoto hillsides, bird watch too.
Cons... There are many
That shuttle is good only for getting into town but you're on your own getting back. It also continues on to Kyoto station
Those tatami rooms are arranged in a lovely way ryokan style and the gardens are ok (not exceptional) but overall are very tired and in need of minor facelifting.. Some cracked stucco, lighting is either very subtle (can't work by that light) or quite brite overhead fluorescent. The bathroom was not even close to ryokan standard --- the wood soaking tub was stained as were the drainage boards surrounding --- very unappealing. And there is no option for an in room nice tatami ryokan meal or afternoon tea and snacks.
Food in the casual dining area (aqua bleu) was so- so. Breakfast buffet had variety but overall quality was mediocre
Place is huge and it shows in the abject lack of coordination between their "Service express" desk, the main desk and the concierge. We had two or three specific needs and expressed them early in our three day stay... And In the end, they performed poorly on all three... The simplest of which was to guide on the airport bus limosine bookings etc. The Service Express and Concierge staff need more training and they need to note a guests needs and follow thru In true Japan hospitality style... They seem not to use tools to share info and requests back and forth. Worse, we would receive conflicting info from the various concierge staff (for something as simple and common as airport transit to be botched... Well, you can imagine how our slightly more complex needs (such as shipping a box back to the USA) went
The bed pillows forI the tatami rooms were hard... One side is firm fiber fill and the other sort of a buckwheat or beans but they are so thick and hard that comfort is elusive. Can't tuck the pillow u der your neck very well
There are many options in Kyoto and we've used ryokan 3x and hotels 2x in the past. The Westin Miyako hasn't earned our loyalty for a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank litebags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, June 30, 2015
Thank you for staying wth us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#10 of 366 in Kyoto
2,239 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 366 in Kyoto
2,825 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 366 in Kyoto
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#41 of 366 in Kyoto
1,953 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#20 of 366 in Kyoto
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Miyako Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Property: The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Address: 1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto 605-0052, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#14 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Miyako Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western-style 11-story Hotel located amid Japanese gardens, 5 miles from train station & 31 miles from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Miyako Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Miyako Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Westin Miyako Kyoto
Westin Kyoto
Kyoto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing