We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a typical Westin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Ranked #48 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a typical Westin”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I am an American traveler and stay at Westins frequently. This is not a typical Westin and I would not recommend it, though it wasn't terrible. Here are some pros and cons:

Pro:
1. Very near a subway station and a number of the key sites (Temples) in Kyoto
2. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful

Cons:
1. The rooms/furniture are tired and old. In my first room (more below), the carpet looked like it hadn't been updated since the 1970s and the bathroom wasn't much better. The second room I was in was weird -- it was huge, but had an empty, strange feeling to it.
2. I was in a non-smoking room, but the hotel put me on a floor with a number of smoking rooms. I could smell smoke in my room. The staff did move to another room for my second night, but it was a hassle. I was also given free breakfast, which was definitely not up standard of international hotels (but I shouldn't complain too much).

I get the feeling that there aren't very many hotels in Kyoto, so this hotel has been able to get by without investing in a renovation. I think a lot of local weddings are held here. Not the worst hotel experience I've had, but certainly not a typical Westin.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StargazerFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, June 30, 2015
Thank you for staying wth us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    952
    431
    119
    70
See reviews for
712
805
173
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The rooms and common areas are all well appointed. However, the hotel bar is tiny and the other services non-existent, which is not acceptable for a hotel in this class. Also, information on where to go in Kyoto at night was less than good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, June 30, 2015
Thank you for staying wth us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We really debated whether to stay here or at the railway station, closer to the center of town. But eventually the tranquil location of this hotel won us over.

The second morning we woke up, we explored the hotel grounds. There are a couple of very nicely kept Japanese gardens, and a footpath leading up the hill will take you to a shrine. On the way you can also spot the place where the hotel grows its own mushrooms.

The hotel is 200m away from the subway line, and runs free shuttle to and from the railway station. Taxi cabs line up at the gate of the hotel all the time, so there won't be any trouble getting to places.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chin_Jun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, June 30, 2015
Thank you for staying wth us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Pros...
20 steps from the front door is the Tokai subway line.
Hotel runs a shuttle that drops u near Main part of town (at Kaiken subway station and the bridges that connect u to the main shopping dining part of town. Shuttle runs 8a until 10p or so
Offers a non-cookie cutter option of staying in the Tatami rooms
You can stroll on the paths behind the main bldg and feel the loveliness of the Kyoto hillsides, bird watch too.
Cons... There are many
That shuttle is good only for getting into town but you're on your own getting back. It also continues on to Kyoto station
Those tatami rooms are arranged in a lovely way ryokan style and the gardens are ok (not exceptional) but overall are very tired and in need of minor facelifting.. Some cracked stucco, lighting is either very subtle (can't work by that light) or quite brite overhead fluorescent. The bathroom was not even close to ryokan standard --- the wood soaking tub was stained as were the drainage boards surrounding --- very unappealing. And there is no option for an in room nice tatami ryokan meal or afternoon tea and snacks.
Food in the casual dining area (aqua bleu) was so- so. Breakfast buffet had variety but overall quality was mediocre
Place is huge and it shows in the abject lack of coordination between their "Service express" desk, the main desk and the concierge. We had two or three specific needs and expressed them early in our three day stay... And In the end, they performed poorly on all three... The simplest of which was to guide on the airport bus limosine bookings etc. The Service Express and Concierge staff need more training and they need to note a guests needs and follow thru In true Japan hospitality style... They seem not to use tools to share info and requests back and forth. Worse, we would receive conflicting info from the various concierge staff (for something as simple and common as airport transit to be botched... Well, you can imagine how our slightly more complex needs (such as shipping a box back to the USA) went
The bed pillows forI the tatami rooms were hard... One side is firm fiber fill and the other sort of a buckwheat or beans but they are so thick and hard that comfort is elusive. Can't tuck the pillow u der your neck very well
There are many options in Kyoto and we've used ryokan 3x and hotels 2x in the past. The Westin Miyako hasn't earned our loyalty for a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank litebags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, June 30, 2015
Thank you for staying wth us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Having stayed the previous night in a Ryokan, I was really looking forward to the "heavenly bed" that was asvertised at the Westin, and glad to say that i wasn't disappointed!

This is a very, very large hotel ( even with its own wedding chapel in the grounds!), however the service we experienced was warm and friendly with typical Japanese efficiency. We booked direct with the hotel as we had a problem gettign the room for all the nights we wanted on booking sites. Direct rates were great and the hotel responded swiftly to our emails prior to arriving.

Rooms were very well appointed and by far the largest we experienced in Japan. The hotel is located up the hill from downtown Kyoto, however there is lots to see in the area and the views are an experience in themselves. A downtown shuttle leaves (precisely) every half hour and the hotel is only one hundred metres or so from the subway station

Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat at the hotel, apart from room service which was good and, once again, frighteningly efficient!

Certainly would stay here again and cannot fault the quality, service or value for money. Big hotels are not for everyone, however the overall quality and level of service more than compensates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, June 30, 2015
Thank you for staying wth us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Make no mistake, this is a big hotel. And it feels like a big hotel. But the upside is that they have free transport between the hotel and the station with drop off points in between. And the rooms are VERY spacious, which makes it a good base for a week stay. The close proximity to the Philosophers Walk and a number of Shrines as well as a train station is perfect. And there are a number of small restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

Eating and drinking in the hotel is expensive, but the view from the Moonlight bar is lovely, and there was a live jazz performance every night of our stay. Watch out for the Long Island Ice teas, it becomes addictive. And the maitre'd of the Mayfair Tea room recognised us every morning, and even remembered our coffee orders from the second morning onwards.

The staff was very attentive, friendly and helpful. The rooms are well-appointed and luxurious. Wonderful bathroom.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, June 30, 2015
Thank you for staying wth us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The bad: This is a large hotel with significant tour group and business meeting activity. And it shows. The hotel is dated, and the service less personal than I observed in other Japanese hotels.

The good: Location, location. And, you must spend one night in the ryokan room, but then move to a regular chair, bed, electrical outlets, etc.

The best: lunch in the Aquablu restaurant was absolutely 4 star. It is a buffet, but do not be fooled -- the food is fabulous. All of the food was cooked from scratch, the spices in the curry were very complex. When I return to Kyoto, I do not know if I will stay at the Westin, but I will definitely eat lunch at Aquablu.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drbob1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, June 30, 2015
Thank you for staying wth us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#12 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,892 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#19 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#20 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#45 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Miyako Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Property: The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Address: 1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto 605-0052, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#14 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Miyako Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western-style 11-story Hotel located amid Japanese gardens, 5 miles from train station & 31 miles from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Rakuten, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Miyako Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Miyako Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Westin Miyako Kyoto
Westin Kyoto
Kyoto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing