We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very fine hotel, just a bit old and tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Ranked #55 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My family and I were very well looked after having stayed in adjoining rooms that over looked Kyoto. The staff were predominantly caring and friendly and the services were very good.

Room - two rooms is big, and in our case it felt very big. They were well fitted out and provided a view of the city. Ours was on the corner of the building so we got to see the tops of several shrines.

Facilities - the gym, pool, gardens, walks nearby, bikes, restaurants and bars make the Westin a very well kitted out hotel. Its The hotel is massive, well over 500 rooms, so finding your room can be a bit of an ordeal as you walk a complex array of corridors. And there is absolutely plenty of things to keep you entertained within the hotel.

Location - pretty close to Gion. They run shuttle bus services throughout the day which is great. The hotel is nestled into the hills so you get fantastic views and also short nature walks directly from the building.

Atmosphere - epic hotels rarely have an amazing atmosphere, this is no exception. ITs highly professional and competent.

Service - very good, at times stuffy. Using the pool for example my kids could not jump, dive, splash, yell and had to wear a swim cap...too much. At the bar early one eveing we were denied entry with kids - eventually (perhaps to the expression on my face) we were let in.

Kids - Westin Miyako is in many ways awesome for kids and in others not. At times they are jsut way to stuffy and old world in their view of children ("children can be seen but not heard: mentality). The pool area could have been so much more fun.

Value - its far from cheap, very far from cheap.

Go Again - when I stay in Kyoto next time I will try something new for interests sake. This is a very fine hotel
Best - facilities and rooms
Worst - price, stuff attitude to kids in some places

Its hard to go wrong staying at a Westin and this is no exception

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelmckerlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,006 - 1,012 of 2,603 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

If you like the morning walks this is the best place to stay, around the area there are a lot of gardens and srines that you can visist just walking from the hotel. They have a very good Concierge, they recommend us the best Sushi restaurant in Kyoto (Thanks to Tomomi she was great).

They have a breakfast buffet it is not the best one but is a good option if you for the first day, they have better choices at the cafeteria next to the main lobby (Best pastries ever). You should try the apple tart and also the Grean Tea Cakes.

I want to mention that when I walk to my room smell a strong tobacco during my stay and actyally we ask for a non smoking room.

It was a very nice time at Kyoto.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Westin Miyako is in a perfect place if you're into sightseeing and walking in Kyoto. If you're expecting to walk out the door to find shops and restaurants, this might not be the place for you. But all of that is just a short train ride away. Rooms are clean and comfortable, service is provided in both Japanese and English, and views are very nice. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with wi-fi as not all of them come with it. It's also good to have a room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cometdebris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Miyako for 4 nights in October 2012. The hotel was recommended to us by our travel agent and we were a little disappointed by it.

The hotel itself feels quite glamorous based on first impressions of the lobby and check-in areas. It is a very large hotel and is used for weddings, conferences, and plenty of business travellers. There were also numerous restaurants in the hotel too, all very expensive. We were travelling as a couple in Japan on holidays, so in many ways it felt like it didn't cater for us too well.

The room was a non-smoking superior room on the 5th floor. It faced the internal courtyard/garden which was nice. The room itself was average and a bit dated. If we weren't paying so much for the hotel it wouldn't have mattered but we were paying a premium here! We had also just come from a cheaper yet more modern hotel in Tokyo which didn't help.

The main problem we felt was that the hotel was a bit out of the way of many things we wanted to see. We like to walk around and explore and discover things not in guide books and not on everyone else's travel checklists. So it was probably a bit far out of the town centre for our liking. For those who like to be shuttled around or rely heavily on the local trains, the hotel is next to the Keage subway station making a direct trip into the city centre reasonably quick. The hotel also has a shuttle bus to and from the main Kyoto train station. It can drop guests off at set points along its route which is also handy for many.

We didn't have too much interaction with the staff though check-in was smooth and staff in the lobby were polite and attentive when approached.

Overall the Miyako was an OK hotel but from our experience not suited to everyone. Best probably for business travellers or maybe older couples, families or groups travelling together, as it's very much a westerner's hotel too. Younger couples, independent travellers, or those who like to stay closer to the action might want to look elsewhere as there is plenty of choice in beautiful Kyoto.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camnicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Dated 1890, the Miyako Hotel (I mean today's depandance with Japanese Style rooms and zen garden and bird watch park) can transport you in the age of early '900 travellers. You still can get the modern comforts of breakfast, restaurants, spa of the main building (probably a bit dated). Very kind personell at the reception, very efficient Concierge, practical shuttle bus to the station, with 2 intermediate stops in Gion area. Breakfast with all you'd expect. Location is superb, as it lays on the east-hill of Kyoto, in the middle of a north-south path for temples-watching.
Only note for western travellers is to beware of backpain when staying in a ryokan style room: we're not used to low tables, floor-lying bags etc.
Overall, this was my 4th Westin (after Fort Lauderdale, Berlin, Pune) and can say that it had fine flavour of history thanks to the old Miyako house. Probably the rest of the structure may not give the same excellent experience.
Note: the bird watching park and the 2 separate gardens must be visited as soon as you arrive, to introduce you in the atmosphere of the Miyako hotel. Also a shrine is included.

Room Tip: Get a Japanese style room and do experience Kyoto-living!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Fabulous location and views. Courtesy bus to the station and a couple of metros along the way. Walking distance from the Gion district. Nice big rooms. Very helpful concierge staff. We were already pre checked in and were handed key cards and breakfast vouchers on the bus

The food is decent, but over priced. You are better off having breakfast there and eating meals while out in the city

Nothing to complain about

Room Tip: Some rooms are far from the elevator. Try to choose a room with city views and closer to the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThirstyTraveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you're headed to Kyoto and need to stay at a Starwood hotel, you have two options: either stay here at the Westin, or book at stay in nearby Osaka and take the train in for a day or two. This Westin is certainly not up to chain standards, with dated rooms, mediocre staff, and an absolutely terrible bed.

+ Buffet breakfast is decent
+ Executive floor guests get free drinks and snacks each evening

- Bed is terribly uncomfortable -- not a Sweet Sleep, for sure
- Suites are small and dated
- Concierge wasn't terribly helpful
- There always seemed to be a line at check-in
- Hotel is not centrally located (you need to take a taxi/shuttle/subway to get anywhere of interest)

Room Tip: Junior suites with a capital "J"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zshonig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 407 in Kyoto
1,319 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#8 of 407 in Kyoto
2,528 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#16 of 407 in Kyoto
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#12 of 407 in Kyoto
3,170 reviews
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Miyako Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Address: 1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto 605-0052, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#12 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $169 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Miyako Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western-style 11-story Hotel located amid Japanese gardens, 5 miles from train station & 31 miles from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Miyako Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Miyako Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Westin Miyako Kyoto
Westin Kyoto
Kyoto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing