We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Kyoto,wonderful staff and outstanding breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Ranked #53 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Easton, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best location in Kyoto,wonderful staff and outstanding breakfast.”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Walking from the hotel to Gion,the silver pavilion or imperial palace is possible,two out of three easy and the third walk is well worth the trouble. If you are inclined to take a subway Keage is just around the corner. From the railway station the hotel offers free transport. Who could ask for more. I thought the room all til one of our three roomates said it was 4timez larger than her last hotel, so make your own judgement. Tjere is theist delightful antique shop across the street,with kimonos and odd bits of china so don'ts that. Dont miss anything,go to Kyoto today!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ウェスティン都ホテル京都, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of our hotel during your recent stay.  We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and our hotel features among the most wonderful hotels you have stayed in.

Thank you for acknowledging the friendliness and attentiveness of our team; it is certainly with great pleasure that we take every opportunity to exceed your expectations and we do hope to ensure you will want to return.

We truly appreciate your kind support as our guest, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    988
    452
    121
    74
See reviews for
751
831
175
258
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I took my family to a 3 day trip to Kyoto and Nara, unfortunately slightly ahead of the Sakura season.

The Westin property is pleasantly situated and a easy walk on level ground to Silver Temple. Unfortunately the hotel it is a little remote from the other interesting areas and evening meal locations but the taxi concierge organised things really well and the taxi fares are very reasonable compared to Tokyo.

We had access to the Executice club lounge which unfortunately was poor compared to other Westin's I've stayed in Japan and China. We found the rooms functional but short in comfort.

As said the staff make this hotel a happy place to stay. The hotel fabric is in need of update and investment.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellysian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ウェスティン都ホテル京都, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Thank you for submitting your review to Tripadvisor. Your comments about our services and your concern about our commitment to the environment are truly appreciated and will drive us even more to ensure we can leave up to your expectations and future guests here at our home in Kyoto.

Our Goal is to ensure all our treasured guests experience a most pleasant and renewing time at The Westin Miyako, Kyoto and I very much appreciate your kind words of praises for the associates on their professional and friendly service towards you as these are the people that make one’s stay a true success.

One of our advantages is the location. We are little bit far from downtown, but we have easy access to there and we have a quiet environment. We are glad to know you enjoyed it sufficiently.

we shall make every effort to improve our services and we very much look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to an improved Westin Miyako, Kyoto in the near future. It would be my great pleasure to show you around our historical property and explain you in person our commitment to the environment on your next visit.

Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

As mentioned by another reviewer, this hotel is overpriced and in terrible condition. The lobby is nice enough, but the rooms are awful and dated. I see the response of management below doesn't address this issue at all. To add insult to injury, they make you pay extra to use the substandard it was 'centre' - I have never encountered a hotel that charges extra to use a broken treadmill. This place is very disappointing and no amount of apologizing from management will fix this.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ab666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Miyako, マネージャー at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, July 1, 2015
Thank you for staying wit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We choose the Westin Miyako because of the location thinking that coming from Tokyo it would be nice to be in more of a country setting. We were not dissapointed because we could walk to several interesting sites. The area was pretty and quiet.
There is a shuttle to and from Kyoto center but be aware it will take you to the main station and from the main station. You can be let off on two other points but not picked up.
The rooms are nice and spacious but no wi-fi. I work when we travel so this was a pain. I had to sit in the lobby and the speed of the internet was very slow.
The lobby was very elegant and the restaurants fancy and very expensive. The breakfast was amazing. The consierge was helpful but we definately got the feeling that they didn't think we could afford to go to the restaurants we were asking about and the last night when we just wanted a light meal she stuck her nose up when suggesting a small local place which turned out to be great. A small mum and dad place with good home cooked food.
We were in general left with a feeling that this hotel could be anywhere in the world and that we as guests were one in a million. I am surprised as this was the only place through out our trip to Japan where we didn't feel special.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelloverFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ウェスティン都ホテル京都, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for your recent comment relative to your stay at our hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our location and facilities. Please accept my apologies for the experience you had with our wi-fi and internet system.

Thank you for ending your review by positive comment. It means a lot to us!
We will keep working to improve our service quality. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This hotel is very deceptive! The lobby is quite lavish, but our room was appalling! Terrible carpet, furniture and bathroom. Literally out of the 1970s. Do not book here - you're paying westin prices for a motor inn!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kkksydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ウェスティン都ホテル京都, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for submitting your review to Tripadvisor. At Westin Miyako Kyoto we pride ourselves on offering personal and tailored service to each and every guest and so I am extremely disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. Your comments about the attitude and professionalism of our associate and the time it took to acknowledge your discomfort and take appropriate action are very much appreciated and we are taking them very seriously.

We shall make every effort to improve our services and we very much look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to an improved Westin Miyako, Kyoto in the near future. It would be my great pleasure to show you around our historical property and explain its interesting past and social connection to the local and international community on your next visit.

Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This hotel has a a typical Westin room or, a traditional Japanese room with Tatami mats in a building separate from the main hotel.

We stayed 2 nights in the Japanese room which is very spacious. There is an area outside the room for you to sit and have a chat with your visitors. It is very tranquil with a beautiful garden.

The ryokan is expensive but it was a great experience and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We wake up in the morning to hear birds chirping away and took a walk up to the nearby shrine/temple near the hotel which is on a hill side over looking Kyoto city.


The hotel has a free shuttle bus to and from Kyoto station. We took the shuttle bus to Kyoto station and walked to many of the sites like Toji Temple, & Nijo Castle.

Food, service and everything else was great and we would love to go back and stay there again if we go to Kyoto.

Room Tip: Try the Japanese style room if your budget allows it. If you are a starwood spg member, you can cash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlleyOopDinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoko_n1427, Director of Sales at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for your comment. We are happy to know you were able to experience staying at the Japanese style room. Since the Japanese garden at our hotel, Kasui-en, is designated as a Kyoto City Cultural Asset (Scenic Site), Ialso hope you were able to enjoy our garden too. Thank you so much for your recommendation to others. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

good location, good service.
good sleep quality.

That's good enough for a trip.
but no wifi in the room!

Room Tip: no wifi in the room. but the location is really good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch_Den
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoko_n1427, Director of Sales at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel during your recent stay.  
We are pleased you write a lot about our specialties, such as the location, bet , service and so on.Wi-fi can connect at the main lobby from October 2011. Please use next time!

We will keep working to improve our service quality, thus please visit us near future!

Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#12 of 373 in Kyoto
2,370 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 373 in Kyoto
3,002 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#25 of 373 in Kyoto
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 373 in Kyoto
888 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Miyako Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Property: The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Address: 1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto 605-0052, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#14 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Miyako Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western-style 11-story Hotel located amid Japanese gardens, 5 miles from train station & 31 miles from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Rakuten, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Miyako Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Miyako Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Westin Miyako Kyoto
Westin Kyoto
Kyoto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing