We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, friendly and characterful”
Review of Gojo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gojo Guest House
Ranked #48 of 416 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2006

Ok so this place isn't a palace but it struck me as good value and certainly added to my visit to Kyoto. The staff were very friendly as were most of the people staying there. The dorms are tatami mat rooms Japanese style off a long corridor running the length of the house as it stretches back from the road - a characteristic of old Kyoto buildings as I understand.

They will sell you decently priced beer or a limited range of food and drink. The common room (with internet access) was a good place for the evenings although not many were using it while I was there and more conversations were struck up in the dorm.

The down side of the place was the washroom showers which were not terrilbly well appointed and while the water was good and hot the shower rooms weren't (March). Surprisingly the main road outside did not disturb me at night. The location is good for the buses to get to the main sites and the station and close to Gion which is a great place to wander in the evening.

I'd certainly stay there again but perhaps not if I had my partner with me.

12  Thank And55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 128 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2006

The first time I stayed at the Gojo Guest House was in January and February of 2004. It was so nice that I've stayed there several times sinse then.

If you stay there you can expect to have helpful and informative people who know the area and can help you get the most out of your stay in Japan. You can also expect clean showers, beds, and a friendly atmosphere.

Its strange to read the other persons review who gave it such a negative rating. I had something VERY far from a negative experience and don't feel its fair review of such a wonderful, clean, accommodating, and affordable place to stay while backpacking through Japan.

I've traveled all over the world and the Gojo Guest House is by far one of the nicest places to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank monostereo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank M_A_G_Andres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sonnakonnaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EkeCacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Galaxies9-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Beat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
K's House Kyoto
K's House Kyoto
#5 of 416 in Kyoto
844 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Guesthouse Roujiya
Kyoto Guesthouse Roujiya
#143 of 416 in Kyoto
95 reviews
Gojo Guesthouse - Annex
#72 of 416 in Kyoto
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gion
Jam Hostel Kyoto Gion
Jam Hostel Kyoto Gion
#144 of 416 in Kyoto
87 reviews
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Piece Hostel Sanjo
Piece Hostel Sanjo
#2 of 416 in Kyoto
513 reviews
Nishijin District
Ryokan&Hostel Wasabi Kyoto Soba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gojo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gojo Guest House

Address: 3-396-2 Gojobashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0846, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 416 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range: $21 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where you would want to come back. We try to keep a cozy, home-like atmosphere where you can relax and chill out after your long day of traveling. In our 100-year-old “machiya”(an old traditional Japanese house) we have shared bathrooms, shower rooms and a kitchen, also free WI-FI which can be used anywhere inside. In our cafe on the first floor, you can choose to sit alone and enjoy your moment, or share the long table with other travelers and share your fun experiences from your trip.Located in Eastern Kyoto within walking distance from ・Kiyomizudera Temple・Higashiyama・Sanjusangendo・Gion・Kodaiji Temple・the downtown areaand・Ginkakuji・Philosopher's Path・Heian Shrine・Yasaka Shrine・Maruyama Park・Fushimi Inari Shrine・Tofukuji Templeby bicycleetc.・We provide futon and linen for each guest.・Shared Shower room and Toilet・All guests receive a Map and Free drink ticket for the frist night.・We provide breakfast set from 8:30 am for 2 hours,at 300 yen.【Facilities】・All rooms are Air conditioned・3 Shower rooms(There are some public baths nearby)・Kitchen・Lounge room・Safety Box・Free Wifi・Cafe【Rental , Sale】・Bicycle rental 500 yen per day(only 4)・Bath towel 100 yen・City Bus 1 day pass 500 yen【Check-in / Out】・Check-In time is 15:00 ~ 22:00 and Check-Out time is 11:00 ~.・No curfew・Reception open from 8:00 ~ 22:00.・We can keep your luggages at reception,before Check-In or after Check-Out.・We don't accept credit card. We require full payment upon Check-In time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gojo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing