We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Tatami-Type Guesthouse”
Review of Gojo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gojo Guest House
Ranked #36 of 322 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Basic Tatami-Type Guesthouse”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed in the tatami dorm room for four nights. The room was very spacious for 4 pax. The room is kept clean. They have a fridge, a washing machine (for a fee) and a dryer (for a fee).

The Japanese style toilets is on the second floor while the western type toilets is on the first floor. If you have to go in the middle of the night and you want the western toilet, you have to go downstairs. The shared shower is located on the ground floor. You can only take a bath at certain times. It wasn't really inconvenient but you have to take note of that - no midnight showers and so extremely early showers either. They have a sink on the second floor so you can brush your teeth and wash your face there.

The guesthouse is near convenience stores. It is around 10-15 minute walk from everything: central area, temples, and other sights. Reaching the guesthouse is pretty straightforward, just 10 minutes away from Gion station. Just pay attention to the "Gojo Cafe" sign or you might miss it.

The guesthouse has this cozy cafe where you can hang out. Wifi signal is okay.
You can also use their printer. Really helpful staff here. They also have a cute dog.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melodymedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    42
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
29
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights in August. My partner had lived in Kyoto for a year before, so we knew the city quite well, Even so, the staff were really friendly and gave us a bus and city map when we checked in.

We had a private double room, which was great, very traditional Japanese - like the experience of a traditional ryokan without paying extortionately for it.

Downstairs is a cafe, which is really cosy, the whole guest house has a great atmosphere and the location is in the heart of Kyoto's gojo/gion district. It's walking distance from Kiyomizu-dera and other great locations. You can walk to several bus stops and subway stations from the guest house.

The communal showers are really clean and nice, as are the kitchen and communal living areas. You're even given drink tickets for the cafe downstairs upon check-in.

The staff are really friendly and you can rent bikes from them too. I would stay here again next time I'm in Kyoto. It's a great place!

Room Tip: They're all traditional Japanese futon style - great experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Its my first time to stay in a guest house. My friend from Tokyo suggested this guest house. Stayed in this guess house for 3 days approximately sometime in late feb or 1st few days of march 2011. Cool staff (english speaking) which i have a hard time in Tokyo. Very informative staff. Near to kiyozumi dera. breakfast coupon is very helpful. Laptops are available for free at the reception area. Room is traditional japanese with tatami flooring though it feels really cold for me maybe i am not used to it since i came from Dubai wherein the weather is totally different. Overall this is a great place and value for money guest house.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank g c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Nice guest house located about one station away from Gion (or a short 15-20 mins wlk). The guest house is also very closely located to the Kiyumizu Temple (10 mins walk).

The twin tatami room that we stayed in was nice and averagely sized. However, it was a little bit too cold during winter month.

The shower room is located at the ground floor. During our stay, it wasn't very nice to take bath there due to the water pressure. There isn't a place for us to hang the clothes. Nevertheless, they are already starting the renovation work after we have checked out. I suppose the condition will be better.

The GOOD point of this guest house is every guest will receive a 300 yen coupon for drinks from their cafe. The matcha latte (450 yen)is extremely good and is my all time favorites. The other drinks was good as well. Worth a try.

We are quite please with out stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

It is a small guest house and it is my first time opted for guest house to stay in. Gojo has English speaking staff so it is easy for us to get info and they are helpful too. Breakfast coupon worth 300 yen can be used for a cup of black coffee or hot tea only, if you need to load more, you have to pay.
Wifi is available and it is easy to stay connected via online.
We are traveling in group of 5 and opted for the largest shared room tatami style.
Our room was provided with 2 heaters, shared toilets and shared bathroom.the room located upstair and the bathroom is down stair.
If you are returning to hotel after 10.00 pm, the door is locked and you must get the pin number to enter the guest house.
Please get the right map and direction to the place before you embark your journey to Kyoto coz non Japanese speaking traveler might find it tricky to find places in Japan.So, get your map in advance.
After all, we only need a place to sleep and spend the whole day outside exploring Kyoto.we find OK to stay over there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FaraHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I had an excellent time staying at Gojo Guest House.
The guest house had a very traditional feel to it, in rustic wood, tatami floors, sliding doors, etc. I stayed in the Japanese Twin room and it was by far the biggest room I stayed in on my 5-week trip around Japan.
The staff was nice and helpful, though a little reserved.
Located close to convenience stores and the beautiful Kiyomizu-dera. Bikes could be rented for cheap, and they were great for exploring the city.
Free wi-fi and great Kakigōri (shaved ice) in the café/lobby.

All in all great value!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I stayed at the Gojo guest house over a japan holiday weekend as a solo traveler. It was a good experience. the staff speak good english. They were able to give me details of where to go and how to get there. Bikes are available for hire or you can buy a bus ticket directly from them which is really convenient. The cafe is an ideal place to sit and rest weary feet and enjoy a great cold beer :-) The room was traditional style but confortable and the shared shower room was extremely clean. There is a handy cafe/bar and free internet and you can use their laptop/ipad or your own wireless enabled devices. As a single person it can also be difficult to find somewhere to go and eat and they recommended places nearby with english menus. The Okonomyiake place is really good and fine to sit at the hot plate on your own. The guest house is on a fairly busy road but was very, very quiet and is very convneinent to Gion and some of the key sights around there. It is also then very handy for using the public buses. These are really easy to use. Getting the bus from the main station to the guest house is really straightforward. Would I go back? Yes absolutely.

Room Tip: I had a twin room to myself. Lots of space and quite confortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suey267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
K's House Kyoto
K's House Kyoto
#5 of 322 in Kyoto
782 reviews
Guesthouse Soi
#6 of 322 in Kyoto
163 reviews
Gojo Guest House Annex
#73 of 322 in Kyoto
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Hana Hostel
Kyoto Hana Hostel
#13 of 322 in Kyoto
260 reviews
Gion
Jam Hostel Kyoto Gion
Jam Hostel Kyoto Gion
#76 of 322 in Kyoto
84 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gojo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gojo Guest House

Property: Gojo Guest House
Address: 3-396-2 Gojobashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0846, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 322 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where you would want to come back. We try to keep a cozy, home-like atmosphere where you can relax and chill out after your long day of traveling. In our 100-year-old “machiya”(an old traditional Japanese house) we have shared bathrooms, shower rooms and a kitchen, also free WI-FI which can be used anywhere inside. In our cafe on the first floor, you can choose to sit alone and enjoy your moment, or share the long table with other travelers and share your fun experiences from your trip.Located in Eastern Kyoto within walking distance from ・Kiyomizudera Temple・Higashiyama・Sanjusangendo・Gion・Kodaiji Temple・the downtown areaand・Ginkakuji・Philosopher's Path・Heian Shrine・Yasaka Shrine・Maruyama Park・Fushimi Inari Shrine・Tofukuji Templeby bicycleetc.・We provide futon and linen for each guest.・Shared Shower room and Toilet・All guests receive a Map and Free drink ticket for the frist night.・We provide breakfast set from 8:30 am for 2 hours,at 300 yen.【Facilities】・All rooms are Air conditioned・3 Shower rooms(There are some public baths nearby)・Kitchen・Lounge room・Safety Box・Free Wifi・Cafe【Rental , Sale】・Bicycle rental 500 yen per day(only 4)・Bath towel 100 yen・City Bus 1 day pass 500 yen【Check-in / Out】・Check-In time is 15:00 ~ 22:00 and Check-Out time is 11:00 ~.・No curfew・Reception open from 8:00 ~ 22:00.・We can keep your luggages at reception,before Check-In or after Check-Out.・We don't accept credit card. We require full payment upon Check-In time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Rakuten and Priceline so you can book your Gojo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing