We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Gojo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gojo Guest House
Ranked #44 of 419 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Hey well gojo was really nice place during my stay, The bike hire and cafe downstairs and free internet all made the stay feel really homely as if you were living in japan going off to do your daily deeds.
I got to admit though i did have a few problems with the stay, I think firstly the location, i was Soooo lost and walking around in the rain in the dark was not fun, I did however see half of gion looking for the place and it is in good proximity to the geisha district just the problem is this is at the far side of town.
Second was the rooms, I stayed in a male dorm but it was kinda crowded it was like tetris trying to fit everyones beds into the room, The problem with this is you would have to tip toe around and over people if you wanted to get up early or come back late, But all the people in my room were ok and quite social so we ended up getting to know eachover so there was no issues.
Thirdly and the thing that kinda bugged me a lil was whether the staff were being genuine or not, The guys were really friendly and gave you advice and were talking as if personal like you were friends, One of the girls seemed abit "not in the mood" and not very patient, However another one was really nice and friendly but most importantly, genuine and happy.
Overall though the place is just what you need for kyoto, A traditional style house, Food and drink in-house and local shops, temples,gion district all nearby, The bike hire was the icing because you could just set off in a number of directions from the guesthouse and discover something new each day, 3 days was definately enough though to see most of kyoto but i was a solo traveler and quite fit so i got out early and biked the whole day and came back late.
I would recommend this guest house to stay, Good Value, Once you find it actually in a good location for exploring.

Room Tip: Hire a Bike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brighteststar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 130 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2011

This is not the best hotel you can find, but the location is convenient, close to Gion area and there are a lot of restaurants close to the guesthouse. The staff is friendly. There is a bar in the hotel were you can have breakfest and chat with the owners or the other guests. Sometimes, it was a little bit noisy because of people having a drink, but it wasn't too disturbing.

Free wifi and two computers available. The edifice is a old traditionnal house. The rooms are spacious and the heating works good, but the common areas are really freezing in winter.

It wasn't the more comfortable or fancy hotel I stayed, but I liked very much, I was feeling like at home.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank globecoureuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2009

I had high hopes for this place on checking in -- cheap and well-located seemed like a good reason to go with a hostel-style lodging and and take my chances on who I'd be sleeping next to. But after waking up at 5 am to find a girl huddled on the floor because there were bugs in her bed, and finding evidence in my own bed...it really cast a cloud over my otherwise wonderful trip to Kyoto.

The only thing worse than feeling itchy all day was the massive cleanup I had to do when I got back to Tokyo. I REALLY hope I got all the bugs because they are a nightmare if they get established in your house. It is horrible to have to worry if bedbugs have laid eggs in your passport.

Futons on the floor and shoji and tatami mats are charming, but they are also perfect places for bedbugs to live.

I hope the guest house is doing everything it can to get rid of this problem!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank koyogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

This hostel is nice and staff are friendly.
However, dormitories are very noisy because facing very noisy street called Gojo Street.

If you want to stay this place, you shold choose the room that is not facing the street if you want to sleep well.

Otherwise, it has been nice stay.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank french6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2008

We stayed here for the four-day Kyoto leg of our Japan trip. Gojo was great, especially for young travelers. We reserved a double room and were surprised to receive such a big room -- it ended up being the biggest room we ever had in Japan. The walls are a little thin, but it was never unreasonably loud. People seemed to respect the request to be quiet after 11pm. The futon was very comfy and the room did have air conditioning (though we didn't use it). The toilets/washroom were easy to access and clean. And yeah, the shower room is unisex, but the three showers have individual stalls with dividers that go floor to (practically) ceiling, so who cares? Just don't get undressed until you're in the stall.

The cafe/bar downstairs is absolutely charming. For every night that you stay at Gojo, you get a ¥300 drink coupon. We enjoyed wrapping up the long days of sightseeing with a drink downstairs, some internet time, and talking with other people in the bar. The staff is helpful and friendly, though they're very busy and don't have much free time to chit-chat.

My only complaint is that it was rather far from JR Kyoto Station, putting us rather far from the sights that we wanted to see. However, for people more interested in Gion, Kiyomizudera and other things on that side of town, it would be an ideal location. It all depends on what you're going for. And either way, for a comfortable futon at $60/night (plus good laundry facilities and a cute kitchenette), Gojo is a great option.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank nekostef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

To everyone giving this place a bad wrap- are you for real? If you're in a dorm 10min from Gion, for about $30 a night, be extremely happy, and quit moaning that there's not a little gift wrapped soap and a mint on your pillow each evening. It's a hostel! And it's FANTASTIC.

The atmosphere at Gojo more than makes up for the cold bathroom floor and the sound of chatter from downstairs late at night (if you're sleeping in a place with shared areas, there's going to be a little noise!) The dorms upstairs are clean and warm, with a tiny galley kitchen, and a lounge with lots of maps and leaflets to put you on the right track to the local sights.
Gojo cafe, downstairs, is dimly lit with tables and chairs, and a traditional Japanese sitting area. It's so relaxed and friendly, with people hanging out just chatting with whoever else happens to be around. There's free internet, and a bohemian vibe, right down to the funky staff, who all own really good hats, I noticed.
I will definitely be back, so those who cannot handle a little noise or a clammy bathroom floor, go pay $400 a night at the Hilton! Those who want a fun stay with great people, get to Gojo.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank missyvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2007

The Gojo Guest House is a traditional "Japanese style" lodge that offers a good deal for the money. If you're looking for something fancy, or even to stay in a place that resembles a traditional hotel, look elsewhere. This is definitely more like a hostel. If that doesn't bother you, it's a bargain for the price. Our room had six people (total) sleeping in in. You get roll-out mats with beanbag pillows. There was an air conditioner that worked fine. I was pretty skeptical about leaving all my stuff in a room with no locks and with strangers staying in it, but it was fine. The staff was nice enough to let me leave my laptop behind the counter at night, and there are very small (as in purse-sized) lockers available for a small deposit. There are shared showers, which are co-ed. This wasn't a problem for me, but some people might not like that. IN the main lobby/cafe area, there were two laptop computers available for Internet access during the day + I was able to get a free wireless connection with no problem. The desk staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was convenient and close to transportation. Probably my biggest complaint was the 280 yen they charge for a thimble-sized cup of coffee. Okay, it's about 3-4 ounces, but for those of us who like our coffee in the morning, this was really expensive. Oddly enough "breakfast" (coffee + toast) costs 300 yen. Um, okay. (Pop down the street to the nearby 7-11 instead.) My friend and I did meet some very nice people here, and the overall atmosphere is laid-back, with pretty much everyone reading the Lonely Planet guide and spending their days and nights in Kyoto. If you have a lot of valuables or are used to the comforts of a hotel, you might want to look elsewhere, but if you're looking for a decent, friendly place to stay, you could do a whole lot worse.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank GeeMoneyChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
K's House Kyoto
K's House Kyoto
#5 of 419 in Kyoto
847 reviews
City Center
Hostel Mundo Chiquito
Hostel Mundo Chiquito
#97 of 419 in Kyoto
44 reviews
Gojo Guesthouse - Annex
#82 of 419 in Kyoto
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Kyoto Guesthouse Roujiya
Kyoto Guesthouse Roujiya
#212 of 419 in Kyoto
96 reviews
Gion
Jam Hostel Kyoto Gion
Jam Hostel Kyoto Gion
#133 of 419 in Kyoto
89 reviews
Gion Ryokan Q-beh
#20 of 419 in Kyoto
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gojo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gojo Guest House

Address: 3-396-2 Gojobashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0846, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 419 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range: $17 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where you would want to come back. We try to keep a cozy, home-like atmosphere where you can relax and chill out after your long day of traveling. In our 100-year-old “machiya”(an old traditional Japanese house) we have shared bathrooms, shower rooms and a kitchen, also free WI-FI which can be used anywhere inside. In our cafe on the first floor, you can choose to sit alone and enjoy your moment, or share the long table with other travelers and share your fun experiences from your trip.Located in Eastern Kyoto within walking distance from ・Kiyomizudera Temple・Higashiyama・Sanjusangendo・Gion・Kodaiji Temple・the downtown areaand・Ginkakuji・Philosopher's Path・Heian Shrine・Yasaka Shrine・Maruyama Park・Fushimi Inari Shrine・Tofukuji Templeby bicycleetc.・We provide futon and linen for each guest.・Shared Shower room and Toilet・All guests receive a Map and Free drink ticket for the frist night.・We provide breakfast set from 8:30 am for 2 hours,at 300 yen.【Facilities】・All rooms are Air conditioned・3 Shower rooms(There are some public baths nearby)・Kitchen・Lounge room・Safety Box・Free Wifi・Cafe【Rental , Sale】・Bicycle rental 500 yen per day(only 4)・Bath towel 100 yen・City Bus 1 day pass 500 yen【Check-in / Out】・Check-In time is 15:00 ~ 22:00 and Check-Out time is 11:00 ~.・No curfew・Reception open from 8:00 ~ 22:00.・We can keep your luggages at reception,before Check-In or after Check-Out.・We don't accept credit card. We require full payment upon Check-In time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gojo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing