We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, central and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Karasuma Kyoto Hotel
Ranked #64 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Brighton & Hove
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, central and good value”
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Please read the positive comments about this place, I think there's one whiney person complaining about bedsprings, as it's a great, central and cheap place to stay.

I don't know about you but when I'm travelling all I want from my room is for it to be clean and somewhere to shower and sleep. It's perfect for this.

I really enjoyed Kyoto and this hotel is only 20 minutes walk from Gion district etc so well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoliteBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    309
    136
    20
    6
See reviews for
118
152
110
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LINCOLN
Level Contributor
172 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

An excellent choice of hotel for Kyoto. Perfect position and so near major sights. Food and bar area clean, well maintained, reasonably priced and staff extremely attentive. The starbucks outside is great place to watch world go by early morning. Rooms smallish but comfy and clean. Would definatley go back there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hideyspidey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Quite small, but neat and quiet rooms. OK location near metro and bus stops. Staff were friendly and spoke good English. Possibility to use internet in the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susannaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We book this hotel from JTB website. You buy the bullet train ticket and get the hotel- so you kind of don't have choices-. But I think it was of for what we had paid.

The best part of the hotel it's location. Kyoto can be divided in four quadrants and, this hotel it's right on the middle. Easy access for all sightseeing by bus- no worry, bus is super easy to use it.

The hotel is a bit old, but clean. I would suggest to turn the corner and have you breakfast in one of thousands coffee shops that you can find in Kyoto.

Staff was really helpful. Buy one day bus pass from the lobby, get with them the maps and enjoy Kyoto!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank designative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

This hotel was well situated. Loved the Starbucks on the goround floor and proximity to the subway and train stations. Very easy to get to almost any location in Kyoto from here.
The rooms are small but clean and well-designed for the space allowed. Very modern.

MY BED WAS AN INSTRUMENT OF TORTURE.
I could actually see the heavy metal grid standing up through a light padding. The staff spoke little English. There were no other rooms or beds available. I called housekeeping and asked for three blankets to delivered so I could pad the bed under the sheets. Not enough. The next morning the houskeeping staff removed the padding and we were back to 0.

I photograhed the bed and took the image to the desk staff who scratched their heads and apologized. When I returned to my room nothing had changed and we were still at 0.

I called housekeeping, had SIX blankets delivered and re-made my bed. That night I slept, not from comfort but from sheer exhaustion.

i've never been happier to check out of a hotel in my life! Believe me, the only thing that saved that stay was the Starbucks where I could doze over a morning coffee!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank landscapeartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Visited Kyoto during the Cherry Blossom season in April 2010. Did not know that Kyoto would be so crowded, and after desperate attempts to find any hotel room, was lucky enough to get a room in the Karasuma.
Good point: the location. Near the subway station and only a walking distance from the main shopping area and large department stores.
Bad point: my single room was very small, the bathroom was miniature size. Worse, there was this gross kind of feeling about the whole room as there were age old stains on the carpeting ... I did not dare walk barefooted on the carpet.
There was free Internet connection in the room (cable only, no WLAN)
There is a Starbucks adjacent.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Forsyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Overall, I was happy with this hotel. Although the room was small and the bathroom was cramped, more important to me was that it was very clean. The hotel staff were very helpful. They speak basic English and were able to give us accurate directions to where we wanted to go. When we had trouble locating the bus stop, one of them even accompanied us to its location and informed the bus driver to remind us when it was already our stop. They can also do hotel to hotel luggage transfers which was very convenient for us. Better yet, the location is great! It's right along the Karasuma subway line which is only 2 stops from Kyoto Station. And it's easy to walk from the hotel to Gion, Nishiki Flea market and the Manga Museum.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asucachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijokarasuma
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Grand Bach Kyoto Select
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
HOTEL UNIZO Kyoto Shijo Karasuma
City Center
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
#56 of 369 in Kyoto
689 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
#29 of 369 in Kyoto
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karasuma Kyoto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karasuma Kyoto Hotel

Property: Karasuma Kyoto Hotel
Address: Karasuma Shijo, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8412, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Karasuma Kyoto Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Karasuma Kyoto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karasuma Hotel Kyoto
Kyoto Karasuma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing