We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ryokan Ohto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ryokan Ohto
Ranked #339 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
417 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“An experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Very different from hotels. It was nice and fun to experience staying in a ryokan for 2 nights. Very low maintenance inn with typical very honest staff (and expecting others to be honest as well). When we arrived before noon no one was even at the front desk. The staff are respectful and nice but they cannot speak English. 1-2 minutes away from bus station, 5 minutes from subway, about 20 minutes away from JR Kyoto Station / Kyoto Tower, but only about 3-5 minutes by bus.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetripsdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    30
    33
    15
    44
See reviews for
21
48
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sestu, Italia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed in a room with the bathroom, the room was large with a balcony, hotel and 'clean many operators available even if nn speak English.
Nice experience to sleep on the futon, but not recommended for long stays.
Located in a good position at 10 min from the station and convenient for the Metro & for bus.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprilia, Italy
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

If you want to stay in a ryokan , this is a good place to stay . Stay there seem like be host of a japanese family . Room aren't too big , but the futon is so confortable . Free wifi in all the room .
About a mile from the train station is so easy to find . Near the ryokan you can find a good restaurant and mcdonald . Quality/Price so good

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Ohto ryokan was my first ryokan ever. It left me with a good first-impression. Located just off the easily-accessible Shichijo street, a short walk away from flashy Gion and Kyoto Station, it has made Kyoto a very pleasurable part of my trip. The ryokan was clean and tidy. It being located in a ally branching off Shichijo, it was quite both in morning and night. The staff, though not speaking too much English, were very nice and helpful. The room and lobby were equipped with whatever you need to make your stay there a good experience. When I'll return to Kyoto, I'll make sure to stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to pick a room not on the ground floor. Though it being easier with luggage, it's located ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
212 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

This family owned ryokan is a small ryokan. It is just walking distance to the subway and bus stops. The ryokan is a simple hotel which has a small staircase with no lifts or elevators.
My husband ordered the biggest room which actually is good for 2 people unless you are petite then you can accommodate 4. The toilet/bathroom are small which is quite tricky to move around.
It is not the cleanest place but it is neither dirty. Didn't had any problems with fleas as I am most sensitive to any insect bites. The walls are rather thin that you can hear your neighbor conversation.
Do not leave your keys at the reception as we thought that at times there are no one watching the small lobby if someone comes in.
On our last day, we had to leave our baggage at the lobby, nothing stolen, everything were still in place. It had been pouring that day and we got soaked. The owner told us we can use the shower and toilet for free with towels, soap, shampoo and conditioner. And we were able to change our clothes before our flight. And they called the taxi for us.
The area is near to restaurants, sweet shops, grocery and a cafe.

Room Tip: It is 2 stops to the Gijon area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharetMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights and was eaten alive on the second night by "danni", a type of Japanese flea which lives in tatami, they survive usually when rooms are not clean and the scars the bites left did not go away for 2 weeks. It was ridiculously itchy and quite a dampner on my trip to Kyoto. The ryokan was quite far from the main area and there wasn't really anywhere to eat around locally. I would not stay at this place again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gilldaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kyoto hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

We chose Ryokan Ohto because we wanted to try out traditional japanese inn at a reasonable price. Got it at 68,000yen per night with attached bathroom.
The location is not ideal, a good 20mins walk at least from the Kyoto station. There is however a bus stop right outside the ryokan if need be.
Room is really small and we had no space for our luggages after lying the tatamis. We had to place them in the enclosed balcony area. The attached bathroom is really tiny too. Imagine stretching out both arms and they touched the walls easily...that's how tiny the area is.
Landlady tried to be nice but there was communication breakdown because she knows limited English. She added a nice personal touch during our last night though by giving us a Geisha postcard imprinted with Ryokan stamp.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sendoh_Travelogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Southern Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
#95 of 366 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Rich Hotel
Kyoto Rich Hotel
#273 of 366 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Yadoya Hiraiwa
Yadoya Hiraiwa
#193 of 366 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northern Kyoto
Ryokan Yamazaki
Ryokan Yamazaki
#113 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokan Kyoka
Ryokan Kyoka
#210 of 366 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Chatani
#214 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Ohto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Ohto

Property: Ryokan Ohto
Address: 7 Ichinohashi Miyanouchi-cho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0994, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Hotel Style:
#186 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ryokan Ohto 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Rakuten, Booking.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ryokan Ohto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Ohto Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing