We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Nishiyama Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nishiyama Ryokan
Ranked #17 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Would definitely stay here again. The staff is quite friendly & helpful (English better than most too). Location is superb & the food is really good. This is my 3rd time visiting Kyoto & I just love it! The hot baths are wonderful & help if you do a lot of walking during the daytime. I took a bath every a.m. & p.m. b/c it was so relaxing & felt so wonderful. I can only say good things about this place & that I would definitely stay here again in the future!

Room Tip: all of the rooms that I saw appeared to be nice. The street is a quiet street. Not to worry, just bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LAT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 433 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014

Great bath~ really! It's my first time to take a pubilc bath in my life and, so interesting!
Room is quite good with lovely notes left on the table.
Location is a little far away from the main road if you take your suitcase and get there by walking.
And, in Apr, it's rather a bit to expensive (lol).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LilyZhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We were looking for a traditional ryokan experience in Kyoto and heard this place was lovely, but were quite disappointed. I think the prices were increased for Golden Week and we paid about $500 for one night for two people, including breakfast and dinner. However, neither meal was the traditional experience of being served in our room (the meals are in a common dining room), and there was nothing particularly special about either meal, though they were kaiseki style. Additionally, the public bath is very small (3 people would be crowded!) and basic, and the water is just tap water--not an onsen. The beds in the room were already laid out when we arrived in the early afternoon, so we never got the traditional turn-down service and the room was quite cramped the entire time. The attached bathroom was also very cramped and minimal for the price. The staff was friendly, and we did get to see a tea ceremony, but it was entirely by accident as we were never informed that there was one. We have stayed in much better accommodations in Kyoto, not to mention Hakone and Tokyo, for much less. In short, I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank somethingelse913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed in Nishiyama Ryokan during the spring holidays this year. It was the perfect season to see the sakura ! We had a great time there and the ryokan was perfect. Very attentive hosts, big family room to accommodate all of us, great public baths. The location is perfect and within walking distance from Kyoto center. Bike rental available and recommended. Would definitely come back !

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

October 2012, we went on a trip to Kyoto. It was a short trip of 2 days and 1 night. We wanted to spend a comfortable night in the ryokan. But most of the ryokan is expensive. We have quite a lot of research. Nishiyama Ryokan is small. But it was very comfortable. In addition, the service was excellent. Breakfast was also good taste. We have been satisfied in all respects.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iminara79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

A very memorable stay. The maid was very attentive and made our stay very comfortable. Off peak season so we had the entire bath to ourselves. Would skip the dinner. Can get much better keiseki outside

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoW4-12-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, Manager at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

thank you for staying at NISHIYAMA RYOKAN.
next time see you

NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Agree on the point that someone below made that this place was like a very expensive hostel. The location was great, but the building was not that nice and not particularly "traditional".

The rooms were decorated in traditional style but that was about it.... the beds on the floor were too thin so were quite uncomfortable. The service wasn't great, and I wouldn't recommend eating dinner there (we had a very expensive dinner there on new years eve. The dining room is not very nice at all, and service was bad too....)

Overall I think you can stay in much better places in Kyoto for the price

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caroline_h22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, Manager at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

thank you for staying at NISHIYAMA RYOKAN.
we are very sorry for your uncomfortable.
NISHIYAMA RYOKAN is not traditionl style inn and is like hotel style(5 stories building).
and new year dinner and breakfast is traditional style new years osechi meals ,
meals is not hot for traditional style,and because in Japan long time ago ,we heard that we can not use fire for new years meals.
this is old style.but we had your uncomfortable and very sorry.
next year we will have new style meals.we will try.
we are very sorry.
next time see you

NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Nanzenji Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
City Center
Sawaya Honten
Sawaya Honten
#43 of 407 in Kyoto
166 reviews
Gion Hatanaka
#24 of 407 in Kyoto
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Motonago
#14 of 407 in Kyoto
374 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokufuso
Ryokufuso
#18 of 407 in Kyoto
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nishiyama Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nishiyama Ryokan

Address: 433 Gokomachi St, Nakagyo-ku,, Kyoto 604-0933, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $173 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nishiyama Ryokan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NISHIYAMA RYOKAN is small japanese style hotel.more than 2000 visitors from around the world stay with each year.plese enjoy traditional japanese culture at very reasonable rates.thank you in advance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nishiyama Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nishiyama Ryokan Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing