We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Good~”
Review of Nishiyama Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nishiyama Ryokan
Ranked #23 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2014

October 2012, we went on a trip to Kyoto. It was a short trip of 2 days and 1 night. We wanted to spend a comfortable night in the ryokan. But most of the ryokan is expensive. We have quite a lot of research. Nishiyama Ryokan is small. But it was very comfortable. In addition, the service was excellent. Breakfast was also good taste. We have been satisfied in all respects.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iminara79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 428 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

A very memorable stay. The maid was very attentive and made our stay very comfortable. Off peak season so we had the entire bath to ourselves. Would skip the dinner. Can get much better keiseki outside

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoW4-12-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, Manager at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

thank you for staying at NISHIYAMA RYOKAN.
next time see you

NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Agree on the point that someone below made that this place was like a very expensive hostel. The location was great, but the building was not that nice and not particularly "traditional".

The rooms were decorated in traditional style but that was about it.... the beds on the floor were too thin so were quite uncomfortable. The service wasn't great, and I wouldn't recommend eating dinner there (we had a very expensive dinner there on new years eve. The dining room is not very nice at all, and service was bad too....)

Overall I think you can stay in much better places in Kyoto for the price

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caroline_h22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, Manager at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

thank you for staying at NISHIYAMA RYOKAN.
we are very sorry for your uncomfortable.
NISHIYAMA RYOKAN is not traditionl style inn and is like hotel style(5 stories building).
and new year dinner and breakfast is traditional style new years osechi meals ,
meals is not hot for traditional style,and because in Japan long time ago ,we heard that we can not use fire for new years meals.
this is old style.but we had your uncomfortable and very sorry.
next year we will have new style meals.we will try.
we are very sorry.
next time see you

NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Nishiyama Ryokan is an excellent way to experience traditional Japanese accommodation; it is an easy 5-10 minute taxi ride from Kyoto Station and walking distance to a lot of the temples along the foothills in Kyoto. It is a beautifully run Ryokan; I would recommend having dinner here as well - it was a five star Japanese meal with stunning presentation, nothing my partner and I have ever experienced before. The service at Nishiyama is excellent and exceeded all of our expectations; whilst we stay with Nishiyama a head cold I had contracted in Tokyo took a turn for the very worse, Mr Nishiyama went out of his way to assist my partner and I in making an appointment at an International Doctor (which blessingly was right next door) and walked us over there in person to ensure nothing was lost in translation. They were then very hospitable in extending our stay, as I was too ill to travel, and transferred us to a vaccant room immediately (without having to check out / check back in, in the afternoon). I will forever be thankful for their help and kindness, it literally saved they rest of our trip as I was able to recover and continue back North. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I would recommend EVERYONE to stay here if you visit Kyoto.

Room Tip: We experienced both the Japanese traditional rooms and western rooms; whilst both were excellent qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StephW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, Manager at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

thank you for staying at NISHIYAMA RYOKAN.
next time see you

NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

It was a pleasure to stay at this ryokan. It is very well located and easily accessible by Kyoto Bus services, the best way to go around the town, but you can easily walk (20m) to Gion area, and it's 5m away from the river side. It has also a Public Bath on the basement that it is not crowed at all, in fact we stayed there for two days and it was always empty when we went there.
wifi in the rooms.

Room Tip: We stayed in 8 tatami mat Japanese room with bath and toilet for two and there was plenty of space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilviaC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, Manager at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

thank you for staying at NISHIYAMA RYOKAN.

next time see you

NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband stayed here for three nights while in Kyoto during February 2012. The location was perfect, right in the heart of Kyoto and close to transportation. The staff was extremely welcoming. When we arrived before check in time they held our luggage, and welcomed us into a tea ceremony demonstration. The Ryokan was beautiful. It allowed us to experience a traditional Ryokan room style and onsen, while still enjoying the comforts of modern heating, insolation, and an elevator. We would definitely come back if we ever had the chance, and don't think twice about recommending it to anyone. On a last note, we shopped around quite a bit, and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lanxin Amina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, Manager at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

thank you for staying at NISHIYAMA RYOKAN.

next time see you

NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Overall I had a lovely stay in Nishiyama Ryokan. This was my first time at a Ryokan and overall I was impressed with the quality of the room and public bath facility was surprisingly good! The traditional bed was a little hard however they have an extra futon mattress in the closet and if you lay both down on top of each other it is a very comfortable sleep. Since I combined business with pleasure I was happy to have excellent internet in the room which was definitely a plus. Best of all was the location. It is a 5 minute walk to the Emperor's Palace & Garden, the metro station and bus stations. If you are a runner this is very convenient as it is an absolute pleasure to run in the gardens in the morning, which is open 24 hours and wonderfully safe. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, Manager at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

thank you for staying at NISHIYAMA RYOKAN.

next time see you

NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
City Center
Sawaya Honten
Sawaya Honten
#41 of 407 in Kyoto
166 reviews
Gion Hatanaka
#26 of 407 in Kyoto
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Watazen
Watazen
#57 of 407 in Kyoto
300 reviews
Motonago
#18 of 407 in Kyoto
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nishiyama Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nishiyama Ryokan

Address: 433 Gokomachi St, Nakagyo-ku,, Kyoto 604-0933, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $172 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nishiyama Ryokan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NISHIYAMA RYOKAN is small japanese style hotel.more than 2000 visitors from around the world stay with each year.plese enjoy traditional japanese culture at very reasonable rates.thank you in advance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Rakuten, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nishiyama Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nishiyama Ryokan Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing