We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really beautiful place to stay”
Review of Nishiyama Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nishiyama Ryokan
Ranked #23 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was one of the loveliest places i've ever stayed in. We paid $190AUD/night for a twin room, the room was spacious, clean and airy, in traditional ryokan fashion with lots of separated areas, plenty of cupboard space, a table with a kettle and tea/coffee, clean (but small) bathroom. The beds were a little bit too thin for my liking, though there was extra blankets in the cupboards which i used as a mattress. The staff exceeded all expections, they were incredibly lovely and helpful and spoke English well, offering tea when we sat in the common area (which over looks a beautiful little garden) and always smiling. It is also located in a great area, a short walk to 3 large shopping malls and plenty of restaurants within walking distance, while the surrounding streets have many hidden shops and cafes ready to explore!
If you are looking for traditional japanese accommodation and service, stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, Manager at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

thank you for staying at NISHIYAMA RYOKAN.

next time see you

NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 431 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for seven nights in August. Our room was spacious, clean, bright, and cheery. The location is hard to beat. The onsen baths were lovely and clean - I never had to share them! Baths are open in the morning from 7-8:30 and from 4-12 in the evening. There is a 12 midnight curfew. Free laundry service on the roof was an added plus!

We opted to not have our meals at the ryokan, but they didn't seem to mind that we occasionally brought in food from the conbini (2 blocks away) for breakfast or snacks.

While there is always English speaking staff on hand, they much prefer Japanese. This gives you a chance to flex your skills and learn!

I would have given this ryokan a 5, but the futons and pillows were thin for a ryokan and the bathroom was standardly tiny for Kyoto.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1Wanderer2Another
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, Manager at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

thank you for staying at NISHIYAMA RYOKAN.

next time see you

NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This place was like a very expensive hostel. The location was great, but the building was not that nice and it wasnt much of a ryokan in terms of service - only in so far as your bed is laid on the floor...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FriendofMarcoPolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, Manager at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

thank you for staying at NISHIYAMA RYOKAN.

next time see you

NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were really looking forward to our stay at Nishiyama Ryokan, but unfortunately it didn’t live up to expectations.
Having stayed at other Ryokans in Japan, this one didn’t feel as authentic. It felt more like a hotel than a Ryokan.

LOCATION: The location is perfect. Far enough that you’re out of the noise and in a nice residential area, but close enough that within a 5 minute walk you’re in the centre of the city.
The neighbourhood is lovely for walking around and exploring. There are some excellent restaurants nearby.

TYPE OF ROOM: We had a 10 tatami mat room, which for 2 was a good size.
At 22,000 yen per night during the week, and 26,000 yen per night on a weekend (with no meal plan) the price was expensive given the age and quality of the room.
Our room was spacious, however it lacked character and felt very ‘lived in’.

CLOSET SPACE: The room had a good sized closet, and there was sufficient space for our bags and cases.

CLEANLINESS: The room was clean, but it could do with some new furnishings and freshening up.

TV/Wi-Fi: There was a TV in the room with Japanese channels.
Wi-Fi was available in the reception and foyer area, but there wasn’t any Wi-Fi in the rooms.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: The bathroom was small (which we already knew before booking) however the age of the bathroom was disappointing. It could do with a facelift.
The water pressure in the shower was excellent.
There is a laundry on the rooftop free for guests to use, which was a nice touch.

SERVICE: We found the service at Nishiyama Ryokan to be professional but not personable.
There were regular activities in the foyer such as Tea Ceremonies and music, which were lovely.

OVERALL: Nishiyama Ryokan isn’t a bad choice, but we wouldn’t choose it again as we feel for the price there are better options in Kyoto.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gounta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, Manager at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

thank you for staying at NISHIYAMA RYOKAN.
and we are very sorry for your incomfortavel.
NISHIYAMA RYOKAN is not traditional ryokan,is like hotel style.(5storyies building)
and our guests room bath is very small because our room have no space for private big bath.
because japanese guests use big pablic bath normally(for free price).
but we are very sorry for you.we will think and solve about this problems.
we will change our guests room bath in the future.
thank you
next time see you

NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights with breakfast. The Jap brekkie was super and service is tip-top. The location is good with high accessibility to most places. Facilities are good too! We enjoyed the free tea ceremony wif much interest!

1  Thank erinayeo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nishiyamahotel, Manager at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

thank you for staying at NISHIYAMA RYOKAN.

next time see you

NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We are a family of four who got the chance to stay here for one night recently although we could have happily stayed for more (Especially as we had no proper relaxing time to be able to watch the tea ceremony that they hold in the lobby in the morning)! The communal baths were lovely, the beds comfy and the lobby a friendly place to sit with souvenirs on hand to buy or origami to tackle if you so desired. Theres water, tea and a sweet to welcome you and if you want to purchase the kimonos then you can! Staff were always on hand to help with directions (Nijo castle is a twenty minute walk) and to be waved off in a taxi by the innkeepers was the icing on the cake. Although its a relatively modern building for a ryokan this also means that it has more rooms and is able to take more guests and therefore increases your chances of being able to secure a room. I would thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bureaudechange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, Manager at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

thank you for staying at NISHIYAMA RYOKAN.

next time see you

NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The ryokan is situated in a really neat, seemingly older part of town. This lovely neighborhood is very convenient for the traveler with very easy access (short walk) to the subways, rail, bus and central Kyoto shopping (Teramachi). The neighborhood is also a great exploration with "gems" of restaurants and shops neably worthy of visits. After a long day, we found the rooms to be very nice, clean, spacious, and comfortable. The "public" bath was also very nice and relaxing! The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. This is a unique combination of old "Kyoto" with amenities and convenience. We had a wonderful stay and would definitely return / recommend to others!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maui-mango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, Manager at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

thank you for staying at NISHIYAMA RYOKAN.

next time see you

NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
City Center
Sawaya Honten
Sawaya Honten
#41 of 407 in Kyoto
166 reviews
Gion Hatanaka
#26 of 407 in Kyoto
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Motonago
#18 of 407 in Kyoto
372 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokufuso
Ryokufuso
#19 of 407 in Kyoto
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nishiyama Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nishiyama Ryokan

Address: 433 Gokomachi St, Nakagyo-ku,, Kyoto 604-0933, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $173 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nishiyama Ryokan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NISHIYAMA RYOKAN is small japanese style hotel.more than 2000 visitors from around the world stay with each year.plese enjoy traditional japanese culture at very reasonable rates.thank you in advance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nishiyama Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nishiyama Ryokan Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing