We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of Nishiyama Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nishiyama Ryokan
Ranked #94 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Connecticut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This place was like a very expensive hostel. The location was great, but the building was not that nice and it wasnt much of a ryokan in terms of service - only in so far as your bed is laid on the floor...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FriendofMarcoPolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, Manager at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
thank you for staying at NISHIYAMA RYOKAN.

next time see you

NISHIYAMA RYOKAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    122
    26
    11
    6
See reviews for
60
150
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
230 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were really looking forward to our stay at Nishiyama Ryokan, but unfortunately it didn’t live up to expectations.
Having stayed at other Ryokans in Japan, this one didn’t feel as authentic. It felt more like a hotel than a Ryokan.

LOCATION: The location is perfect. Far enough that you’re out of the noise and in a nice residential area, but close enough that within a 5 minute walk you’re in the centre of the city.
The neighbourhood is lovely for walking around and exploring. There are some excellent restaurants nearby.

TYPE OF ROOM: We had a 10 tatami mat room, which for 2 was a good size.
At 22,000 yen per night during the week, and 26,000 yen per night on a weekend (with no meal plan) the price was expensive given the age and quality of the room.
Our room was spacious, however it lacked character and felt very ‘lived in’.

CLOSET SPACE: The room had a good sized closet, and there was sufficient space for our bags and cases.

CLEANLINESS: The room was clean, but it could do with some new furnishings and freshening up.

TV/Wi-Fi: There was a TV in the room with Japanese channels.
Wi-Fi was available in the reception and foyer area, but there wasn’t any Wi-Fi in the rooms.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: The bathroom was small (which we already knew before booking) however the age of the bathroom was disappointing. It could do with a facelift.
The water pressure in the shower was excellent.
There is a laundry on the rooftop free for guests to use, which was a nice touch.

SERVICE: We found the service at Nishiyama Ryokan to be professional but not personable.
There were regular activities in the foyer such as Tea Ceremonies and music, which were lovely.

OVERALL: Nishiyama Ryokan isn’t a bad choice, but we wouldn’t choose it again as we feel for the price there are better options in Kyoto.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gounta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, Manager at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
thank you for staying at NISHIYAMA RYOKAN.
and we are very sorry for your incomfortavel.
NISHIYAMA RYOKAN is not traditional ryokan,is like hotel style.(5storyies building)
and our guests room bath is very small because our room have no space for private big bath.
because japanese guests use big pablic bath normally(for free price).
but we are very sorry for you.we will think and solve about this problems.
we will change our guests room bath in the future.
thank you
next time see you

NISHIYAMA RYOKAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights with breakfast. The Jap brekkie was super and service is tip-top. The location is good with high accessibility to most places. Facilities are good too! We enjoyed the free tea ceremony wif much interest!

Helpful?
Thank erinayeo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nishiyamahotel, Manager at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
thank you for staying at NISHIYAMA RYOKAN.

next time see you

NISHIYAMA RYOKAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
london
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We are a family of four who got the chance to stay here for one night recently although we could have happily stayed for more (Especially as we had no proper relaxing time to be able to watch the tea ceremony that they hold in the lobby in the morning)! The communal baths were lovely, the beds comfy and the lobby a friendly place to sit with souvenirs on hand to buy or origami to tackle if you so desired. Theres water, tea and a sweet to welcome you and if you want to purchase the kimonos then you can! Staff were always on hand to help with directions (Nijo castle is a twenty minute walk) and to be waved off in a taxi by the innkeepers was the icing on the cake. Although its a relatively modern building for a ryokan this also means that it has more rooms and is able to take more guests and therefore increases your chances of being able to secure a room. I would thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bureaudechange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, Manager at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
thank you for staying at NISHIYAMA RYOKAN.

next time see you

NISHIYAMA RYOKAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahului, Hawaii
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The ryokan is situated in a really neat, seemingly older part of town. This lovely neighborhood is very convenient for the traveler with very easy access (short walk) to the subways, rail, bus and central Kyoto shopping (Teramachi). The neighborhood is also a great exploration with "gems" of restaurants and shops neably worthy of visits. After a long day, we found the rooms to be very nice, clean, spacious, and comfortable. The "public" bath was also very nice and relaxing! The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. This is a unique combination of old "Kyoto" with amenities and convenience. We had a wonderful stay and would definitely return / recommend to others!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maui-mango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, Manager at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
thank you for staying at NISHIYAMA RYOKAN.

next time see you

NISHIYAMA RYOKAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

There are many ryokans in Kyoto, each with different price ranges and specialties. Nishiyama blends the traditional and modern in its accommodations and service.

We got a room with ensuite bath and toilet. The bath was a bit small, but the room was big. The beds were comfortable, and we liked to wear the Japanese robe and winter coat. There's free bottled water, tea, and a little snack everyday.

We got the bed and breakfast package, and would recommend it. I didn't realize Japanese breakfast was a ceremony in itself. There are at least 10 small plates with food or side dishes. It's a filling, healthy start to a day of sightseeing in Kyoto.

Join the lobby activities if you can. They're free and are a good introduction to Japanese arts and culture. We enjoyed the calligraphy and origami class one night, and a tea ceremony one morning.

Service is courteous and helpful.

The hotel is located in a quiet part, and nearby are a convenience store and bank. The bus stop is about 5 minutes walk away. The Kyoto Imperial Garden is about 10 minutes away, and the Nijo Castle half an hour more of walking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderful888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, Manager at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
thank you for staying at NISHIYAMA RYOKAN.

next time see you

NISHIYAMA RYOKAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I selected this ryokan because we wanted the experience of a traditional ryokan but were looking for something that fit our budget. The experience was one of the most authentic I had in Japan mostly because of the small details the owners add. It was freezing cold when we were in Kyoto and we were very comfortable and warm sleeping on the mats. The highlight for me was the tea ceremony which was hosted for us by the owner in the lobby. An added bonus was that since there is wi-fi in the lobby we were able to show our daughters the ceremony live from Japan, as it was around 5pm for them in Mexico City. I am a teacher and found this to be an amazing teachable moment. The owner took my girls on a virtual tour and showed them her doll collection and the blooming plum tree.She also made them an origami crane and gave it to us to take back to them. The owners were very kind and the overall experience was amazing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, オーナー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
thank you for staying at nishiyama ryokan
see you next time
thank you very much

nishiyama ryokan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Shimogyo-ku
Matsubaya Inn
Matsubaya Inn
#56 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Watazen
Watazen
#43 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Urushitei
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Matsui Honkan Ryokan
Matsui Honkan Ryokan
#66 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nishiyama Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nishiyama Ryokan

Property: Nishiyama Ryokan
Address: 433 Gokomachi St, Nakagyo-ku,, Kyoto 604-0933, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nishiyama Ryokan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NISHIYAMA RYOKAN is small japanese style hotel.more than 2000 visitors from around the world stay with each year.plese enjoy traditional japanese culture at very reasonable rates.thank you in advance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Nishiyama Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nishiyama Ryokan Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing