We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nishiyama Ryokan
Nearby Hotels
$390
$347
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kanra Kyoto(Kyoto)
$348
$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$194
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ryokan 
Arashiyama Benkei(Kyoto)
$570
$359
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$300
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$151
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$128
$78
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$227
$169
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ryokan 
Ryokufuso(Kyoto)
$278
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveler rating
266
150
32
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
150
32
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea ceremonypublic bathjapanese breakfastjapanese style roombeer vending machinekyoto shiyakusho maequiet streetgreat japanese experiencesubway stationevery morningfree laundryjapanese culturebath housetatami matsour room was spaciousthoroughly enjoyed our stayminute walk
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 467 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A well run, friendly family business. Good location for shopping/sightseeing near to subway/buses. The rooms were very comfortable. Although Tatamis with Futons are extremely comfortable, we choose western style beds. Why? Because then you can read in bed and have an afternoon sleep without having to get the bedding out of the cupboard! The Japanese room was nice. Bath room was small but OK, communal bath in basement was great, use it! Main difference/advantage to a traditional Ryokan is that meals are optional. In other Ryokans the normal evening meal is lavish and quite expensive, will easily double the price. The japanese breakfast was very good if you eat breakfast at all. So don't order meals but go out to a myriad of places to eat at all price levels. The massage service (shiatzu) is very good, about 4,500 yen for 45 min. Enjoy Kyoto, we did.

Room Tip: Western rooms are better to read in bed and for afternoon naps!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, オーナー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

thank you for staying at nishiyama ryokan. and we are happy to hear you.and we try our best for all travelers. and our all guest rooms are non smorking,and our guestroom bath is small,and please use our big publicbath for free.
thank you NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I was only able to go to Kyoto for 2 days and figured I'd spend my one night in a Ryokan. I spent a lot of time on Trip Advisor trying to figure out which one, finding one that was centrally located, etc. and settled on Nishiyama Ryokan for a couple reasons:
1) it seemed to be in a good location
2) it wasn't ridiculously expensive
3) it had an attached bathroom

Now I know that #3 technically means this isn't a "traditional" ryokan but in all other aspects it was. But I was traveling with coworkers and we decided that bathing together was probably not the best option.

Anyway, the room was really cute and much bigger than I expected. We spent the evening in the room, sitting in our little chairs drinking green tea and chatting. Our beds were basically just pallets on the floor and it wasn't too bad. I'm not sure I could have slept on the floor for more than a night or two, but I slept fine for that one night.

While I didn't partake of the baths in the Ryokan, I did poke my head in and it was really cute and had a very nice hot tub, which made me bummed I hadn't brought my bathing suit.

The staff was friendly and willing to watch our baggage both the day we got there (too early for check in) and the day we left. They also are able to sell bus passes, which is extremely helpful in Kyoto and gave us several great restaurant recommendations.

Overall it was a cute place and I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laydenredd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, オーナー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

thank you for staying at nishiyama ryokan. and we are happy to hear you.and we try our best for all travelers. and our all guest rooms are non smorking,and our guestroom bath is small,and please use our big publicbath for free.
thank you NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

At this ryokan you may enter the lobby with shoes on. At the rooms you wear slippers in western bedrooms but barefoot in traditional rooms with tatami (japanees carpets)
Very clean rooms and public bath. Breakfast both japanees and western style very fresh, well tasting and nice presented.
Bath rooms small but use public bath if you need more space. No place to put clothes in except for 3 hangers, we had to keep them in our travel bags. Very nice staff and tea ceremony in the lobby was really nice experience.
Location perfect close to City Hall, the river and resturant area. Bus stop with at least 3 different busses to reach other parts of Kyoto.
We choose western style bedroom and got 2 rooms, one western adn one japaneese.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marierose054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, マネージャー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

thank you for staying at nishiyama ryokan. and we are happy to hear you.and we try our best for all travelers. and our all guest rooms are non smorking,and our guestroom bath is small,and please use our big publicbath for free.
thank you NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

we were 3 people who shared a room. the room was very clean, well maintained, the bathroom though small was adequate for our needs. the common bath in the basement was very very clean and i would recommend this experience for all. Nishiyama is well located with easy access to bus and train stations. the Terramachi shopping arcade is a short walk away and there is a Family Mart round the corner . The staff was very helpful and spoke good english.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayatri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, マネージャー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

thank you for staying at nishiyama ryokan. and we are happy to hear you.and we try our best for all travelers. and our all guest rooms are non smorking,and our guestroom bath is small,and please use our big publicbath for free.
thank you NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Beautiful experience. The tea ceremony that concluded our stay,conducted by the owner herself, was pure poetry.

Spacious rooms. Japanese breakfast is exquisite. Would stay in this Ryokan again, friendly staff. Bike rentals.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, マネージャー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

thank you for staying at nishiyama ryokan. and we are happy to hear you.and we try our best for all travelers. and our all guest rooms are non smorking,and our guestroom bath is small,and please use our big publicbath for free.
thank you NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews