We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really cute Ryokan”
Review of Nishiyama Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nishiyama Ryokan
Ranked #26 of 405 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I was only able to go to Kyoto for 2 days and figured I'd spend my one night in a Ryokan. I spent a lot of time on Trip Advisor trying to figure out which one, finding one that was centrally located, etc. and settled on Nishiyama Ryokan for a couple reasons:
1) it seemed to be in a good location
2) it wasn't ridiculously expensive
3) it had an attached bathroom

Now I know that #3 technically means this isn't a "traditional" ryokan but in all other aspects it was. But I was traveling with coworkers and we decided that bathing together was probably not the best option.

Anyway, the room was really cute and much bigger than I expected. We spent the evening in the room, sitting in our little chairs drinking green tea and chatting. Our beds were basically just pallets on the floor and it wasn't too bad. I'm not sure I could have slept on the floor for more than a night or two, but I slept fine for that one night.

While I didn't partake of the baths in the Ryokan, I did poke my head in and it was really cute and had a very nice hot tub, which made me bummed I hadn't brought my bathing suit.

The staff was friendly and willing to watch our baggage both the day we got there (too early for check in) and the day we left. They also are able to sell bus passes, which is extremely helpful in Kyoto and gave us several great restaurant recommendations.

Overall it was a cute place and I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laydenredd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, オーナー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

thank you for staying at nishiyama ryokan. and we are happy to hear you.and we try our best for all travelers. and our all guest rooms are non smorking,and our guestroom bath is small,and please use our big publicbath for free.
thank you NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 418 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

At this ryokan you may enter the lobby with shoes on. At the rooms you wear slippers in western bedrooms but barefoot in traditional rooms with tatami (japanees carpets)
Very clean rooms and public bath. Breakfast both japanees and western style very fresh, well tasting and nice presented.
Bath rooms small but use public bath if you need more space. No place to put clothes in except for 3 hangers, we had to keep them in our travel bags. Very nice staff and tea ceremony in the lobby was really nice experience.
Location perfect close to City Hall, the river and resturant area. Bus stop with at least 3 different busses to reach other parts of Kyoto.
We choose western style bedroom and got 2 rooms, one western adn one japaneese.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marierose054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, マネージャー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

thank you for staying at nishiyama ryokan. and we are happy to hear you.and we try our best for all travelers. and our all guest rooms are non smorking,and our guestroom bath is small,and please use our big publicbath for free.
thank you NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

we were 3 people who shared a room. the room was very clean, well maintained, the bathroom though small was adequate for our needs. the common bath in the basement was very very clean and i would recommend this experience for all. Nishiyama is well located with easy access to bus and train stations. the Terramachi shopping arcade is a short walk away and there is a Family Mart round the corner . The staff was very helpful and spoke good english.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayatri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, マネージャー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

thank you for staying at nishiyama ryokan. and we are happy to hear you.and we try our best for all travelers. and our all guest rooms are non smorking,and our guestroom bath is small,and please use our big publicbath for free.
thank you NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Beautiful experience. The tea ceremony that concluded our stay,conducted by the owner herself, was pure poetry.

Spacious rooms. Japanese breakfast is exquisite. Would stay in this Ryokan again, friendly staff. Bike rentals.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, マネージャー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

thank you for staying at nishiyama ryokan. and we are happy to hear you.and we try our best for all travelers. and our all guest rooms are non smorking,and our guestroom bath is small,and please use our big publicbath for free.
thank you NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

If you are looking for something Japanese - this is the spot in Kyoto! The room rates are reasonable, the staff is always ready to help you. They like to conversate, help you in what way they can, and makes your stay throughout cozy. This place is the epitome of japanese ryokan culture.

Room Tip: Pick the traditional rooms. They are outstanding, and gives you quite an experience. Nothing disturb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, マネージャー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

thank you for staying at nishiyama ryokan. and we are happy to hear you.and we try our best for all travelers. and our all guest rooms are non smorking,and our guestroom bath is small,and please use our big publicbath for free.
thank you NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I really like my stay at Nishiyama Ryokan
The room was a single one but there were enought space to live
Staff was good, and public bath very nice

If I go again in Kyoto, I think I'll stay there one or two nights
A remark, just a little dust in air conditionner

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christophe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, マネージャー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

thank you for staying at nishiyama ryokan. and we are happy to hear you.and we try our best for all travelers. and our all guest rooms are non smorking,and our guestroom bath is small,and please use our big publicbath for free.
thank you NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I chose this ryokan randomly because the location seemed good (near a subway in the central area).
Not only the location was indeed good, but the room was excellent (we were 2 in a room for 4 people, what a luck), the staff was professional and welcoming.

There was a small bathroom in the room, however we never used it since there is a communal bath which was large and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank in t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, マネージャー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

thank you for staying at nishiyama ryokan. and we are happy to hear you.and we try our best for all travelers. and our all guest rooms are non smorking,and our guestroom bath is small,and please use our big publicbath for free.
thank you NISHIYAMA RYOKAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
City Center
Sawaya Honten
Sawaya Honten
#38 of 405 in Kyoto
162 reviews
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Watazen
Watazen
#55 of 405 in Kyoto
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokufuso
Ryokufuso
#12 of 405 in Kyoto
283 reviews
Gion Hatanaka
#32 of 405 in Kyoto
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nishiyama Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nishiyama Ryokan

Address: 433 Gokomachi St, Nakagyo-ku,, Kyoto 604-0933, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $166 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nishiyama Ryokan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NISHIYAMA RYOKAN is small japanese style hotel.more than 2000 visitors from around the world stay with each year.plese enjoy traditional japanese culture at very reasonable rates.thank you in advance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nishiyama Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nishiyama Ryokan Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing