We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, clean & comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Ranked #65 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed July 14, 2010

The hotel is a few min walk from the nearest subway station which is about 3 stops from the JR train station. The location is okay esp going to/from the JR station. We bought day passes at the hotel for the bus and was given a map of bus routes. The walk to the closest bus stop is about 15 min near city hall passing some bakeries, shopping along the way. When we left out for sightseeing in AM, we didn't return until late afternoon so coming/going from hotel wasn't a big deal with it being a little out of the way.

The hotel is tucked away in an alley off the main road so it's very quiet. I loved the waterfall in the open atrium. The room was clean and comfortable bed which is all I ask for. All rooms in Japan are small so ignore the complaints about small rooms unless you want to pay 3-4x more for luxury hotel. Our 4 nights here was in the middle of our trip and I did laundry. They have washer/dryer located on every other floor, cost was very low. I can't recall soap avail because I just used a travel size packet of Tide I brought along.

We ate the breakfast buffet one morning, for the price it was excellent. They had a huge western style buffet of food available and price was reasonable. Because it was a lot of food we choose to limit ourselves to just one morning.

On the 2nd level there was free internet pc's setup however there seemed to be young people hanging out for hours. We generally just walked up the stairs to level 2 to check b4 boarding elevator to go up to room. Not a huge deal, at some point one would have been open.

I would def stay here again in a heartbeat esp for the price and comfortableness. I would prefer to stay at JR station for the location for day trips, some of the eateries, etc located down there.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (757)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 757 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2010

Hearton hotel is a great centrally located hotel only 15-20min walk away from busy shopping area Sanjo dori. However its 45min walk from Kyoto JR station, 3 stops by subway but NO bus routes.

I personally thought the size of the room was quite large for what japan has to offer, clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom has a bath tub big enough for two and good selection of amenities. I think the best thing about this hotel is optional free bike hire (register with reception asap, as they can be booked out early), which is a great way to see the city, temples and sites. Most (not all) sites will have bike parking facilities. Also this hotel provides free internet access on the 2nd floor, which became very handy.

Staff are very helpful and polite as expected from japanese customs. For £50 a night we thought this hotel was good vaule for money, with its great location and clean nicely sized rooms, we will recommend this hotel to any traveller.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walnut_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

The staff may not recommend the dining room, located on an upper floor. They seem to prefer that hotel guests dine in the entry-level cafe.

Ask to be directed to the restaurant and you will find locals being treated to elegant traditional Japanese cuisine, served in a relaxed atmosphere. We stumbled on this restaurant and were surprised to find that it compared favorably in price with the cafe and the food was far superior. We really felt that the hotel staff was keeping this one under wraps.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
3  Thank landscapeartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our expereince at this hotel. It's not in the most exciting location but it's within reasonable walking distance to Nijo Castle, the Imperial Palace, and the east side of the river in Kyoto where a lot of the temples are. We had trouble finding the place though because the streets were poorly marked. We found out later that the hotel is right next to a subway stop that is 3 or 4 stops away from Kyoto station--very convenient. They also have a really good $10 USD breakfast buffet that really filled us up each day.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

This hotel was a good surprise. The room was bigger than the one I had in Tokyo (at least now I had space to walk around in room). Cool yukatas. The bed was extremely comfortable. Room temperature easily adjustable. Tv had only one international channel - BBC. Beware: the remote control is not self-explanatory and you can easily zap into the pay-tv porn channels. This can obviously represent a problem if you have children. The hotel won't charge you for unwittingly zapping into the porn channels (unless of course you decide to watch them). This hotel is within walking distance from the Nijō Castle. For most other attractions in Kyoto, a subway station is nearby. Convenience stores and pharmacy also close by. Free bike rental service.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olisiponensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

This hotel was very dissappointing. The standard double room we had was far too small for 2 people and the decor was very dated. The room is so small that there is nowhere to put your luggage so I had to clear all the stuff off the desk and put it on top of that. We had to take turns getting ready as 2 people cant move around the room so it wasn't very pleasant. Staff on reception were polite but were unable to offer us an alternative when the Geisha dance show we wanted to book was full.

On the plus side the location us good and free internet is great (though you often had to wait)

I wouldn't stay here again if I came back to Kyoto.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleMaharani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

This hotel is good, but not outstanding. It has nice rooms, with BBC News on the TV. Comfortable, though no good views over Kyoto. The rooms were very clean and tidy and large. We didnt hear much noise during the night.

The hotel seems to be a magnet for tour groups and does offer free internet with 3 computers available. The cafe looked good with a limited menu.

There is no one good location to stay in Kyoto, but next to the only crossing point between the two subway lines, this hotel is well located. Its 20 mins walk to Gion, and other districts where shops and resturants can be found. Theres a convenience store nearby too.

Nothing really "stands out" about this hotel, but is a good bet if youre in town sightseeing.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tungstenthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Southern Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
#100 of 407 in Kyoto
355 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
#78 of 407 in Kyoto
601 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijo Karasuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Sunroute Kyoto
Hotel Sunroute Kyoto
#73 of 407 in Kyoto
348 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearton Hotel Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearton Hotel Kyoto

Address: 405 Funayacho, Higashi no Toin Dori Oike Agaru, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0836, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $64 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hearton Hotel Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hearton Hotel Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearton Motel Kyoto
Kyoto Hearton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing