We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel in a noisy city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Ranked #56 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel in a noisy city”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is located within walking distance of restaurants, shops and nightlife. However, you can still get a good night's sleep due to the quiet area where it is located. The rooms were nothing special, small size with a desk and wired LAN included. There wasn't really a view either, as the hotel stuck to the Kyoto standard for number of floors. Great value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    374
    163
    21
    6
See reviews for
108
274
75
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Korea
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Directions: Take exit 1 from Karasumaoike Station. Take the (pretty sure 2nd...) left, and the hotel will be right there on your left. It's a few (at most) minutes walk, but a little hard to find if one hasn't been there before. If it takes more than a few minutes; you're going the wrong way!

The rooms are pretty nice. Not especially cute, but decently done - very Japanese-business hotel. Of course everything is perfectly clean. For the breakfast - you can do Japanese or western. Strange to say, but go with western - it's a surprisingly large buffet. The Japanese one is just a single dish ordered from the on-site restaurant - so the buffet is a better value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Hearton is a few stops north of the main train station in Kyoto. I actually walked it- about 40 minutes straight up Karawamachi boulevard. The hotel is off the main streets, which means it is even quieter than the rest of Kyoto. The staff speaks good English and were uniformly helpful and efficient. After my room in Tokyo, my double in the Hearton felt vast. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. There is no wifi in the room, but with the provided LAN cord I had no trouble. If you are set on moving your laptop about the room they will rent you a wireless adapter for 1000 yen per day. There was a small washer and dryer on my floor by the elevator, which was handy, though I had to go to a local convenience store for detergent, and it was hard sometimes at night getting a spot since it was quite popular. A very short walk from the Manga Museum and a traditional crafts museum, several Starbucks, a big sports/northface store. A bit more of a walk (15-20 minutes) to the river and all the restaurants and the shopping district. I did walk back fairly late at night several times and always felt safe. Did not eat at the cafe in the hotel, but it is there and has a full menu. The Hearton is an excellent choice, especially if you don't mind being a little ways from the action. To get to the temples, there are many buses which take you right there. and stop a short walk from the Hearton I will stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KhunKru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeartonHotelKyoto, Front Desk/Reservation at Hearton Hotel Kyoto, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us,
We appreciate your comments and we are happy to hear that you really enjoyed during your stay.
There is subway station and bus stops near by as your comments.Therefore it is convenient and really safe to see around in Kyoto.
We would like you to stay again especially Spring season(Cherry Brossoms) and Autumn Season(Japanese maple).It is always really beautiful.
We are looking forward to seeing you next time.

Thank you very much.
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Verbano-Cusio-Ossola, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

BB - double room - laundry - western and japanese breakfast, free wi-fi in the hall.
The receptionists were very kind. The hotel is not in the centre but not so far from Gion. Near the hotel you can find many restaurants. The room was small (as in all japanese hotels) and the bathroom the same (bathtube and shower - soap and shampoo - hairdryer).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaCH26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeartonHotelKyoto, Front desk/Reservation at Hearton Hotel Kyoto, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us.
That's correct. Our hotel is located near Gion area. Therefore you could find many restaurant around there.And you could walk from the hotel. Or you could take a bus from here.
We have Single, Double, Twin, Deluxe twin type of room.If you could stay with us again with twin or deluxe twin room, you might feel more confortable.
We are looking forward to seeing you next time.

Thank you very much,
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Front Deske
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Bigger room and better breaky than other places in Japan for same amount of euros. Handy location, wifi in the lobby. Best aircondition in Japan tour. Highly recommend this hotel. Missing it already staying now in tokyo

Helpful?
Thank Semu S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HeartonHotelKyoto, Front desk/Reservation at Hearton Hotel Kyoto, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us.
We really appreciate your comments. We are trying to provide good service for the customer.
Therefore we are wationg for you to come back again.

Thank you very much
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at the Hearton Hotel in Kyoto for 6 nights and were really happy with our choice. The room had a double bed and enough room for two of us. There was a LAN connection for us to use which was fine.
There was a coin operated washing machine and dryer on our floor, plus a vending machine for snacks on the 6th floor.

Staff were pleasant and helpful. English speaking was no problem. We walked 5min to the station and there was the shopping district not too far away. Plenty of restaurants to choose from so we didn't have to eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeartonHotelKyoto, Front desk/Reservation at Hearton Hotel Kyoto, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us.
We are very happy to hear about your comment. As your comment,there are many restaurant near by and if you could walk about 10min from our hotel, you could find a lot of souvenir shops.
We are going to establish of wi-fi in every room in the next year. Therefore we are sure that it is going to be more convenience for the guests.
We are looking forward to seeing you next time.

Thank you very much
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel was very clean, quiet, and the rooms were quite spacious compared to other hotels I stayed in while in Japan. The location was a little bit difficult as it isn't very close to a lot of the attractions, but it is close to the limited subway line, and it was easy for me to take a taxi. The location is geared more toward the business traveler. The price was very good, and I found the staff to be very pleasant. Most do not speak English, so it may be difficult to ask for directions or help. My stay was very pleasant and I was glad to have a quiet home base during my trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeartonHotelKyoto, Front desk/Reservations at Hearton Hotel Kyoto, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us.
Hearton Hotel Kyoto does not front on the main street(Oike Street) . That's why you do almost not hear the street noise. But our hotel is located in close by subway station.It takes about few minutes from Karasuma Oike Station.Therefore it is convenient for the guest.
We really appreciate your comment.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Thank you very much
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Southern Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
#94 of 369 in Kyoto
332 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
#69 of 369 in Kyoto
569 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#33 of 369 in Kyoto
517 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijokarasuma
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#22 of 369 in Kyoto
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearton Hotel Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearton Hotel Kyoto

Property: Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Address: 405 Funayacho, Higashi no Toin Dori Oike Agaru, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0836, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hearton Hotel Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hearton Hotel Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearton Motel Kyoto
Kyoto Hearton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing