We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to visit for food and experience”
Review of Nishiki Market

Nishiki Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$114.36*
and up
Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour
More Info
$127.00*
and up
Small-Group Nishiki Market: The Heart of Kyoto Cuisine
More Info
$118.00*
and up
Walking Food Tour of the Nishiki Market in Kyoto
Ranked #22 of 1,119 things to do in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good place to visit for food and experience”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We headed to the Nikishi market and it was then we found out it was so near to the Gion area we were in yesterday. The Nikishi market is really a market place where they sell their products such as raw fishes, sashimi and oyster. Many of the stalls had fried food but it was already cold so we didn't try much of it. I had the cold cold oyster and sashimi there. Nothing much to shout about there either.

Most of the stalls sell the same stuff others are selling. But I think tourist should visit the place to experience the food of Japan.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pushpop83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,377
    1,313
    440
    67
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A delicious slice of the old capital”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Nishiki market is, like so many old town markets a glimpse into the culture of its people.
In a not terribly wide lane way one can watch people selling their ware much as their fathers and mothers before them have done.
The fish and other sea treasures are respectfully and neatly shown to the prospective buyers, an d the traditional eating utensils are also available for purchase at reasonable prices.
A visit to Nishiki would be wasted without a trip to the famous knife shop. Here locals and visitors view the magnificent choice of knives (for both the left and right handed) and when chosen,may have their name engraved on the handle. Along with every possible grade of bamboo shoot you may wish to choose, there is an abundace of delicious sushi, pancakes, chestnuts and more. A must on any visit to Kyoto.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank journeywoman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“crazy busy, but good to do on a rainy day”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This market was so long with many different yet similar stalls. It was great to visit but gets very busy!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tinydancer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Feast for the senses!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I'd read about this market in my guide book and insisted on visiting it on our last morning in Kyoto before rushing to check out and catch a noontime train to Hiroshima. It took us about 30 minutes to walk there from our hostel, K's House Kyoto but it was a nice walk through the downtown area where all the department stores are. We got there a little early, at around 9 in the morning so many of the shop owners were still setting up. We walked through it once and had breakfast at Cafe de Crie, somewhere in the market - butter toast, yoghurt, egg and potato salads, ham and hot tea or coffee. We then walked through it a second time and bought foodie souvenirs to bring home - fresh sencha and genmaicha and a skewer of marinated salmon sashimi. It is a really colourful place and you can buy snacks to eat, fruit and vegetables, and even all sorts of pickles. It is definitely worth a visit, but note that you should go there sometime between 10am-12nn for the maximum experience. :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeishanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Wow! Cultural immersion through food! Shopping galore too”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

So I was told go see the Nishiki Markets... Just another blooming markets I thought to myself.
Alas was I ever wrong.

We entered through the end of the market where Daimaru Store was and it was I believe a good 2 kilometres long of various Japanese fresh seafood, vegetable, fruit, craft, food shops. Then at the end you hit a T junction (all walking) where there are modern clothes shops & so on.

Suffice to say, we spent most of our time in the traditional Nishiki Market side.

We had salmon & tuna sashimi (raw fish slices) fresh from the fishmonger packed with soya sauce & wasabi for us to eat as we continued our exploration.

If you want cultural immersion this is a way to go!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edster88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nishiki Market also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Nishiki Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing