We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$47
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/27/21
Hotels.com
$47
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/27/21
FindHotel
$38
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/26/21
Booking.com$49
eDreams$49
Trip.com$61
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,077)
Filter reviews
1,077 results
Traveler rating
518
430
98
16
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
518
430
98
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kyoto station each evening comfortable hotel convenient location onsen japan yen slippers arashiyama
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,077 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2019

Location:It is about a 7-10 min walk from tne Kyoto station. There is also a subway station (Kujo) and a busstop right outside the hotel. So the location is pretty decent. However, I would have preferred something closer to Kyoto station becaise we had bags to pull.
Room:Extremely small. We were expecting small rooms because we were in Japan, but this was worse than expected. One entire side of the bed was stuck to the wall of the bathroom so it was difficult for one person to get in an out. There were very few electric plugs - and also near the tv - so essnetially, we had to boil water right near a whole bunch of electrical wires. Very very unsafe,
There was no space to store clothes or the suitcases and also no safe to keep our valuables.
Bedsheets didn't look too clean either.
We had to push the chair against the window so we didn't even open the window during our stay.
We were also not able to adjust the AC during our stay so it was quite uncomfortable every night

Hotel Amenities: There was a laundry which we did not use. There was also an onsen.We bought the one day kyoto pass from the hotel reception. The hotel also served one free drink per person in the evening and had free tea/ coffee throughout the day

Breakfast: We purchased the breakfast buffet as part of our room. It was pretty decent - we ate most of the western style food which had scrambled eggs, granola, cereal, fruits, fresh smoothies, muffins etc. It was all quite good.

Overall, the amenities and the breakfast were the big positives, but they did not make up for the really bad room. I would prefer to stay another place closer to Kyoto stattion if I can , next tme.

Room tip: No room is good, but take rooms facing the eat. At least you'll get sunshine.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Plush-Escapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2019 via mobile

We had three nights at the Sakura terrace and found our stay pleasant. The room was of average size, clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is an easy walk from Kyoto stations and the subway station is across the street. We did not eat at the hotel but the breakfast Buffett looked pretty good. My only criticism is the location of the smokers area which is right outside the main entry foyer. The smoke blows straight into the hotel when the doors open and detracts from your first impression to be met at the door by cigarette smokers.

Overall a good central place to say when visiting Kyoto. Would stay again and recommend.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank russellt270
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019

Western type hotel. Free tea and coffee throughout stay, cosy public areas, very good breakfast, excellent public baths, only 5 minutes walk from station. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable with TV and fridge. Well worth the price. Thoroughly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanhipperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019 via mobile

About the only positive thing I can say about it, is that it is very clean! And that is a positive! Coming from five nights at the Hilton Tokyo, this was a disappointment, but I do realize that it is size wise comparable to other hotels in Kyoto. It was very hard to have to live out of a suitcase for five nights, as other than space to hang a few clothes, there are NO drawers. And the safe doesn’t even work. We were not greeted as if the staff was happy to see us. They had no recommendations for dinner. And there was only the option to order pizza at the hotel. The breakfast was pretty good, but when they ran out of something, it wasn’t replenished. It is off the beaten track but close to the subway system. Next time I will take a taxi from the subway to a hotel in a neighborhood with activities and restaurants close by.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank annarc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2019 via mobile

For the price (£140 a night, excluding breakfast) I was highly disappointed. The photos are extremely airbrushed. Surly staff at front desk. You have to pay at a machine in the lobby for your entire stay before you’re allowed to go up to your room, presumably for a reason. The standard rooms all overlook a busy intersection with poor sound proofing - we were asked for a lot to upgrade to a quiet room on the other side. I am currently sitting on the bed listening to a constant stream of motor cycles and beeping from the pedestrian crossing, and this is from the 5th floor! Furniture is cheap veneer, bed creaks. Seems a favourite for Chinese tour groups. If the price were half what we were paying I might consider an average review. Despite already paying, I am debating upping sticks and finding a better option. Very depressed at the idea of 2 nights here.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews