We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to nature”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Philosopher's Walk

Philosopher's Walk
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.28*
and up
Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour
Ranked #22 of 1,074 things to do in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This scenic path follows cherry-tree lined canal and is named after a Kyoto University philosopher, Kitaro Nishida, who used it for his daily walk.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
105 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Back to nature”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Although we did not visit this place during Sakura or Koyo, it was good enough for us in June, just being away from the maddening crowds at the temples and Kyoto highlights. We went in the evening at about 5pm and had a lovely time admiring the plants and being amazed by the huge fishes in the river. Very pleasant indeed! Do this walk if only you have extra time to spend in Kyoto.

We took bus no.100, stopped at Ginkakuji temple and walked down till Eikando and walked further down till we got the bus no.5 at bus stop Nazenji Eikando-michi back to the city.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingbear88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,000
    732
    331
    55
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't go if it's not Sakura time!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Just a walk with a little river. There's no flowers on the side of the walk, just Sakura trees without flowers. I'm sure it's beautiful during spring...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanie_Art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Magical, Romantic and memorable”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

25 minutes walking through tiny green pathway that is charming and cozy, easy walk with many temple on the way .. very peaceful

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ALAAJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
223 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Go in cherry blossom time”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I agree with another reviewer that this walk is somewhat over rated. We went after the blossom and there was not much of interest along the walk itself. It does give access to some popular shrines and temples though. Not many places to take a break with a drink sitting outside, but then this seemed true of a lot of Japan.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MartinBDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We went of in high hopes to enjoy the walk, but were disappointed. There is a great deal of hype and romanticism around the walk, but we found it to be mediocre and commercialised. We just missed the cherry blossom season, so perhaps it is worthwhile when the trees are in flower.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philosopher's Walk also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Philosopher's Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing