We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go There During Cherry Blossom Season... and Go Early!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Philosopher's Walk

Philosopher's Walk
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.78*
and up
Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour
Ranked #22 of 1,074 things to do in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This scenic path follows cherry-tree lined canal and is named after a Kyoto University philosopher, Kitaro Nishida, who used it for his daily walk.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Go There During Cherry Blossom Season... and Go Early!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

If there was one thing we did right when we were in Kyoto in early April 2013, it's going to Philosopher's Path early. It was a very nice and peaceful walk along small canal on stone path under blooming sakura (cherry blossom). It would be just ok outside of cherry blossom season but during cherry blossom season (typically early April), it was stunning and a must in Kyoto! When we arrived, we almost had the path to ourselves but when we left (around 8:30 a.m.), people started arriving. Imagine sharing this narrow stone path along this small canal with hundreds other tourists... If it had happened during his time, the philosopher himself might have looked for another place to meditate!

I think the best advice for Philosopher's Path visit is go there during cherry blossom season and go there early!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JT2520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,017
    737
    333
    56
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Only worth it during Cherry Blossom Season”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Essentially this is a path behind some houses that links the Nanzenji Temple with the Silver Pavilion. Awesome to see during Cherry Blossom season but outside of that I wouldn't both making a special trip. Plan a whole day seeing the Nanzenji Temple and travel along the Philosopher's walk to the Silver Pavilion.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stiosti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
169 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“We enjoyed this lovely walk with limited blossom”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed this lovely walk with limited blossom. It was nice to get away and walk quietly along the picturesque canal. Plenty of places to stop for tea and a cake too...and a bit of shopping.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kckaceykc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A beautiful afternoon walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We visited the Silver Pavillion and then walked through down Philosopher's Walk. It is beautiful and there are several clusters of cute stores to stop in along the way. Beautiful during Cherry Blossom season.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LWMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Majestic view during Cherry Blossom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

The cherry trees along the canal is very beautiful. This canal connects to The Silver Pavillion Temple. The walk is actually long, but the view makes you forget about it. It a must visit if you're Kyoto. Majestic!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hasif_ishak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philosopher's Walk also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Philosopher's Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing