We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arashiyama

Arashiyama
Book In Advance
More Info
$93.79*
and up
Private Highlights of Kyoto Tour
Ranked #2 of 119 Outdoor Activities in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Arashiyama is a small town on the Oi River. Its moon-crossing bridge, Togetsu-kyo, is a beautiful, much-beloved wooden structure. Arishiyama also has Tenryu-ji temple, one of the 14 World Heritage Sites in Kyoto.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Must visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This little village is not a long ride from Kyoto and is wonderful to stroll through the streets of.

It is situated near a river, but by far the best thing we did was to get lost in the streets looking at the beautiful gardens and day to day life in Japan.

There are a lot of shops where you can buy souvenirs (the good ones) to take home.

It was one of the highlights of our trip.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,322
    1,415
    398
    80
    24
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience in the towering bamboo forest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Alongside Fushimi Inari shrine, this was my favourite part of our trip to Kyoto. It's a forest of giant bamboo! A path winds its way through it so you can gaze up at the enormous stalks towering above you. It's beautiful and atmospheric like so much in Japan and being from the UK, this was unlike anything we see back home.. We went through the forest and ended up emerging out onto a view of some mountains which I remember thinking was the most inspiring view I'd had so far on our holiday.

Tip: we rented bicycles from just next to the station (a narrow road on the right) and this was a great way to both experience the bamboo, and to get to nearby smaller features such as the moss garden/temple which is serene and beautiful.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
198 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

This site is slightly on the outskirts of Kyoto, but is a must see. I rented a bike and road out to it, but there are other ways to get there. The forest is a true marvel, with tall majestic bamboo that grows up to filter out the sun. It is a relaxing experience to wander in the first. Afterward there is a nice river to sit by and a little village where one can buy food and nik-nacks. The people are very friendly.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sfrantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

If you are working on an itinerary - please add this town in. It's breathtaking and beautiful.
The town itself is really peaceful and do visit the little shops in the town - you will find something really unique to take home with you. If you have the time, do go for the boat ride and visit the bamboo groves. Also there are plenty of temples you can visit and take amazing photos. Finally go for the saga scenic railway - worth the time and money. Do book in advance though!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angelr82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

While getting directions at the visitor centre at Kyoto station we saw a poster of a bamboo forest on the wall. Enquiring at the desk we were given instructions to the town of Arashiyama. Having a JR rail pass made the journey easy. It is a 10 -15 minute walk from the station (taking into account the time trying to find our way to the bamboo forest). The forest is near the Tenryuji Temple so use that a reference point.
Travelling in winter the forest was not as green but the walk and the wonderful help we got from the people around the station and way to the forest and temple made the experience a wonderful one.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldenbeach2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arashiyama also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Arashiyama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing