We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A breath of fresh air”
Review of Arashiyama

Arashiyama
Book In Advance
More Info
$91.91*
and up
Private Highlights of Kyoto Tour
Ranked #2 of 122 Outdoor Activities in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Arashiyama is a small town on the Oi River. Its moon-crossing bridge, Togetsu-kyo, is a beautiful, much-beloved wooden structure. Arishiyama also has Tenryu-ji temple, one of the 14 World Heritage Sites in Kyoto.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A breath of fresh air”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Getting out to Arishiyama by bus was a bit tedious, but once we stepped onto the ground, we felt like we'd stepped into a magical world. The bamboo forest is a breath of fresh air. We were there over New Years and it wasn't too crowded. Men in pointed Japanese hats pulled rickshaw's, we saw the sunrise on New Years morning on Arishiyama bridge (on a second trip back), and the whole walk was delightful. There's an outdoor bath house that is worth going to, just down the road from the bus stop.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shane_Gang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,386
    1,453
    415
    83
    27
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful walk among the lighted bamboo grove”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Walk in the grove in daylight and try it during the December light-up is worth the effort for any visitor to Kyoto. On the way visit the many temples that are open at night during the festival. .

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank rywwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
250 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Dedicate a full day to Arashiyama”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

or even 2 full days if you are here in the fall- its totally worth it, there are endless small temples and gardens here that are all so beautiful and yet so different, each and everyone worth a visit. Dont skip the main spots either- do it all!!! avoid the weekends though, they get crowded. If you only have the weekend, then skip Arashiyama.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mish_H50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Traditional Japan”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was the first place I visited after arriving into Japan and I wasnt disappointed. I managed to get into one of the Temples near the river before it closed (arrived into Kyoto quite late) and missed the chance to walk through the bamboo grove as it was shut for the night :( Oh well, maybe next time!
The walk from the station is nice and easy and didnt feel lost at any point, great selection of restaurants and shops along the way too which mostly were closing by the time I wandered past! Jealous of all the others here that saw more than me but what I saw made me want to come back and really explore the area!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ScottyH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Monkey fun!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have traveled around to many small towns around Kyoto. I say that to add some umph to our belief that this was the prettiest town. It has a beautiful little lake and quaint thatched roof homes and stores. Plus, you can hike up a little mountain and hand feed monkeys some apples- excellent experience!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chalome S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arashiyama also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Arashiyama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing