We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

Gekkeikan Okura Sake Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$106.01*
and up
Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour
Ranked #82 of 1,127 things to do in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Learn all about Sake and the production of Sake.
The best bit though was the 3 samples to taste at the end.
There is a small shop here too, very reasonable in price.
No more than an hour needed her.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank letskeepexploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    77
    34
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not so difficult to locate. Value for money.”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

A less than 10min walk from Chushojima station (Keihan railway). There is a big map at the station exit showing all the place of interests in the area, take a picture so that you can use it to find your ways later if you need. Anyway there are clear signage along all the paths.

There are English explanation next to the exhibit, clear and concise. The lady staff in the sake tasting corner explain in simple English about the 3 different bottles (2 sake, 1 ume wine). There is a small shop near the entrance/exit sells limited edition sakes and sake related products. The sake beer (sake with gas) is quite nice to try.

This place can be crowded when there is big tour group. A lot of locals also visit this place.

Worth a visit if you plan to visit the southern part of Kyoto in one day. We did it this way: Tofukuji->Fushimi Inari Shrine-> Gekkeikan Okura Sake Museum-> Uji.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SSMiffySS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting but not worth the effort”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Made our way to this Sake Museum but found it hard to find. The displays were decent with some English interpretation. The guided tours were in Japanese only. The sake tasting at the end was limited with only two sakes and one plum wine. The visitor did receive a small bottle of sake with the paid admission to the museum. With several sake manufacturers in Fushimi, it would be nice to have an English speaking tou that went to the different sake brewers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tfisch100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My partner and I visited in August. We each paid JPY300 and this included a tour of the brewery and museum, a sample of three different sakes and a free bottle each. It was easy to get to (a short walk from Chushojima JR station) and very good value – certainly worth visiting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Learn how sake is made, and you might even get a free sample.”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Tired of visiting temples and shrines? Then head over to the Gekkeikan Sake Museum. The museum is in the Fushimi area of Kyoto, which is famous for it's water, so there are several sake breweries located in this area. The museum is located in a large, traditional looking wooden building. When I visited, the cost of admission included a commemorative can of sake. I liked the displays of the tools and methods used to make sake, and I also learned a little bit about the science of it all too. The display of old bottles and historical advertisements was also very interesting. At the end of my self-guided tour there was a tasting counter where I tried some sake, and the gift shop at the end sells sake, including limited edition product that you can only buy at the museum. This was a great way to spend an hour or two, and close to other sake breweries which I walked to afterwards.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gekkeikan Okura Sake Museum also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Gekkeikan Okura Sake Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing