We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palace Side Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$329
$212
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$380
$235
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$481
$235
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Monterey Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
$415
$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$465
$213
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
$253
$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
$328
$248
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kanra Kyoto(Kyoto)
$566
$482
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$278
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Ryokufuso(Kyoto)
$324
$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveler rating
101
174
65
12
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
174
65
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsimperial palacesubway stationbudget hotelenglish tv channelslaundry facilitiesshort walkbreakfast buffetthe hotel staffrooms are smalllocation is greatenglish speaking staffwestern foodbus stopstayed here for nightscentral locationsmall kitchenyen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 354 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The Palaca Side Hotel must have been an excellent hotel when first built. It is still is a good hotel but it is showing its age. The room was quite spacious for Japanese standards, the beds were comfortable, and each room has its own WiFi router, providing good signal free WiFi!
The stuff were excellent, very helpful and polite. They provided information about local eateries and directions in English without problems. The location of the hotel is ideal, as it is situated very close to the Marutamatsi subway line, the Imperial Palace, and several temples and shrines. The area around the hotel is very nice, with lots of eateries (for all budgets) and convenience stores.
Breakfast was not included in our room but could be purchased at check-in (for Y1100 per person per day). The breakfast is buffet style and offers a decent spread of choices, both Western and Japanese. I found the quality of the food adequate but some of the offerings looked somewhat stale (possibly due to not many guests opting for the breakfast).

Room Tip: All rooms are non-smoking but there is a smoking booth on the 2nd floor. I noticed that if I opened the window in my room, I could smell the smoke coming from downstairs...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Though this hotel in out of central Kyoto, its just 4 stops away from Kyoto Station. We booked directly with the hotel and they were very responsive via email. We spent 3 pleasant days exploring Kyoto, and the staff were informative and very helpful at guiding us. Admittedly, its the most we had spoken to any hotel staff during our stay in Japan. The bus station is just a short walk away with convenient access to all the main areas.
The hotel has a small communal kitchen ,coin washing machine (200 yen) and dryer that proved useful. For the price we paid, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yasotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We spent 4 nights here, using it as a base to see all the sights around Kyoto and a day trip to Nara. The room was spacious and comfortable and we had a great view overlooking a temple next door with a magnificent weeping cherry blossom tree in full bloom. It is opposite the Kyoto Imperial Palace (hence the name) which is a great place to take in the cherry blossoms, and a short walk to the subway which is really convenient if you are doing your sightseeing by train. We made use of the coin laundry to do some washing, and handily it even had a beer vending machine... We had the buffet breakfast once which was quite good, a mix of western and traditional foods, though most days we ate on our sightseeing journeys, or bought food at the incredible Daimaru store and shopping area just a couple of subway stops away.

While the staff weren't overly friendly, they were polite and helpful when we wanted to forward our baggage to Tokyo instead of lugging it on the bullet train. Probably the best thing is the price, our cheapest hotel by far, but it didn't feel budget or cheap. It's not located right amongst the hustle and bustle, so if you are wanting a more central location this probably won't appeal, but everything is accessible by the subway.

Room Tip: We asked for a room overlooking the Palace, but got a corner room that overlooked the temple next door which was very pretty and just as good.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XAGTKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The hotel has am amazing location and easily accessible by subway. I stayed here for 6 nights ad had a nice experience. The staff speak reasonable English and they are extremely helpful. The rooms are good size. There is a communal kitchen and space to have your own cooked meals if you wish. You may also rent a bicycle for an hour free to get to the supermarket. Full day bike rentals are very reasonable. Self aundry sevices and dry cleaning aavailable. Awesome stay I had.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Rozanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed at the Palace-Side for four nights at the end of a ten-day stay in Japan, after experiencing both a fancy hotel in Tokyo and a range of traditional Ryokans in other places. The Palace-Side was our favourite because the room was comfortable and quiet, the desk staff were amazingly helpful (and speak good English), and we could get anywhere in Kyoto quickly using subway and bus. Breakfast isn't fancy, but it's adequate to get you going. Wifi (fast and reliable) is included for free, as it should be at every hotel above the most basic. And the price is very reasonable. There's even laundry facilities, very helpful if you're on a longer trip. The pre-fabricated bathrooms are on the small side, scaled to Japanese proportions, so that could be a bit of a problem for larger nationalities. The only other downside is that there aren't many restaurants within a quick walk other than the hotel's own, Cafe Ganko (good for quick cheap "family" food if you need a break from the traditional Japanese) and McDonalds.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norbert_Halibut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews