We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palace Side Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Noku Kyoto(Kyoto)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Ryokan 
Togetsu(Kyoto)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveler rating
101
174
65
12
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
174
65
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsimperial palacesubway stationbudget hotelenglish tv channelslaundry facilitiesshort walkbreakfast buffetthe hotel staffrooms are smalllocation is greatenglish speaking staffwestern foodbus stopstayed here for nightscentral locationsmall kitchenyen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 354 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed in May/June for 4 nights.

It has good location close to a number of bus stops and the subway, convenient for reaching the many temples across the city.

The rooms are a little old, but fine, especially considering the price.

Breakfast is expensive, but there's a bakery at the subway and other places for breakfast close by.

As other reviewers have said, the bathrooms are small, but that's quite normal in budget hotels in Japan. Staff are extremely knowledgable and helpful and speak good English.

Highly recommended for the price

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank boro2008Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I generally prefer budget but efficient hotels.This hotel was poor for me.The rooms was old and having an undesirable smell.We can't find a place to open our luggages.There wasn't even a closet,just a small section for clothes.When we arrived at room,we found all towels on bed.Then when we opened the bathroom door,we understood the reason.There was no place for towels.The bathroom was just 2.5m.In the mornings there was a very heavy food odour coming from 1st floor from restaurant.We were staying at 5 floor,that smell was everywere, and the hotel was quite old.The good side of the hotel was only the staffs kindness.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank haticeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here in April for 2 nights. Location is fantastic about 5-7 min walk to subway station and just beside the Imperial Palace. I think the nearest exit is exit 2. If you have a big luggage, you can take the elevator from another exit and just cross the street diagonally across. I was lucky to see an area with lots of cherry blossoms inside the park since it was already late April . The beds were comfortable, room was big enough for Japanese standards. Rates were reasonable since it is Kyoto. They also had bikes for rent which was very convenient. From the hotel I walked to Nijo castle also for about 20 minutues. I would've given this hotel a 5 star if only the wifi would work in the rooms. The only downside for this hotel is that you have to go to the lobby to get wifi.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badbatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I think this hotel is a very good option to stay in Kyoto because it is very close to a subway station and it is close to very interesting places. Perhaps the only problem is that, in order to have Internet connection and wii-fi you have to go to the lobby and that is not very convenient if you have to work... Besides that, I think this hotel is pretty good. The rooms are spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alelilo-lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

It's a clean hotel with really nice staff (=not such a special thing in Japan...). But everything is quite old... Still ok, but for my taste they should invest some money. The interieur looks 20 years+.
Also the breakfast buffet isn't recommendable. Compared to european standarts= low.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nils G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews