We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful lighting” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palace Side Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palace Side Hotel
Ranked #73 of 352 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Danville, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful lighting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Most hotels have lousy lighting in the room, often making it difficult to read. My room in the Palace Side had the best lighting of any hotel I have ever visited. The room was small, but they managed to squeeze the normal amenities into the small space. I had a small chest of drawers, which other guests told me they lacked, maybe because I had a single room. The temperature control worked well. The shower was adequate for me, and I appreciated the delightful Japanese toilet seat. I also enjoyed the fridge for cooling my sake. There were two small elevators that were fast and responsive. The staff were courteous and responsive, and most spoke good English. I did not, however, enjoy the food in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a chest of drawers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joehearst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    159
    59
    9
    2
See reviews for
49
114
58
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Large room, but absolutely unusable bathroom. I had to shower standing sideways because there wasn't enough room for me to shower otherwise. I used the lobby bathroom as much as possible and contemplated visiting the public bathhouse down the street. The furniture and room needed some attention-- very old and worn. The bathroom was clean, but the carpet was disgusting. Luckily we had some disposable slippers from our previous hotel that we used.

Even though the hotel advertised room temp control, it's not quite correct. Once they flip the switch to heat, you can no longer cool your room. Only heat it. My husband and I were really hot the first couple of days, and then a cold front moved in so we finally got comfortable without having to open the window (which has no screen).

The worst part is that the hotel is located by a hospital and a fire station. Three of the four nights we were there there were no fewer than three emergency vehicles blazing their sirens in the middle of the night. I didn't get much sleep.

The hotel staff was helpful and spoke English well. The Fresco down the street is pretty nice and the laundry facilities were great.

The free Wi-Fi in the lobby worked well, but hotel computers are full of malware. Despite advertisement, there is no in-room safe and having to drop the key off at the front desk is irritating.

I can't recommend this place and won't stay here again. My husband and I were counting down the nights until we left.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatchaParfait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Central hotel with very spacious rooms, located next to the garden of Kyoto Imperial Palace, 5 minutes walk from the bus station and Marutamachi metro station. Large foyer with two free internet terminals. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annalisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed in the Palace Side Hotel for almost a week to attend a conference, followed by some sightseeing around Kyoto (I had seen most of Kyoto already during my first visit). The room was clean, and although small (for Western standards, for Japanese standards it was probably above average) big enough to be comfortable. The hotel has free internet (wifi only in lobby), a restaurant with decent prized meals and the staff spoke adequate English. You can get a Y 100 discount on the good breakfast buffet if you buy your ticket the day before.

Although the hotel is next to the Imperial Palace, it is not close to most major sights inside Kyoto (which didn't matter to me as I already seen those). There are also not many restaurants on walking distance. However, it is within 5 min. walking of the subway, which was very convenient for me. Close to the subway station is also a 7/11 with an ATM, in case you run out of cash.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svollebregt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Nice modern reception area, with free wifi. Shame the rooms hadn’t been maintained to the same standard: ours was distinctly outdated, and a more than a little tired, in terms of both decor and furnishings.

The location was okay - not far from the subway. We walked to the centre quite happily in the evenings, but it’s not close, and we’re probably more inclined to walk than the average hotel guest. That it’s next to the Imperial Palace isn’t really much use for anything - most of the sights are on the other side of the city.

It was the best option we could find on a public holiday weekend, and there’s probably a reason that it was available. It was fine, but I’m sure in other circumstances you could do better.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohnMenzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

What a wonderful hotel. Have stayed there on two trips and loved it. Once a daughter was with me and she sleeps in so I strolled all over the palace gardens across the street. The pictures I took were spectacular. The dining area is nice, the lighted sitting area outside, beautiful. Once there was music in the entryway where a piano sits. The staff is helpful and always there. Top notch!

Room Tip: Can take a bus or taxi to the shopping area of Kyoto but this hotel was convenient to one Kyoto stat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Same principe as the Garden Palace Hotel, which is next door, but a bit cheaper.
Very clean also, perfect location and possibility to rent bike for the day.
We didn't try the breakfast though, but the buffet seemed quite all right!
I would totally recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fonzarelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Nishijin District
Hotel Kyoto Garden Palace
Hotel Kyoto Garden Palace
#122 of 352 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Heian Hotel
Kyoto Heian Hotel
#153 of 352 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
#65 of 352 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
#53 of 352 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Northern Kyoto
Hotel Chrysantheme Kyoto
Hotel Chrysantheme Kyoto
#202 of 352 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Sunroute Kyoto
Hotel Sunroute Kyoto
#64 of 352 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Side Hotel

Property: Palace Side Hotel
Address: 380 Oukakuencho, Kamigyo-ku, Kyoto 602-8011, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Nishijin District , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palace Side Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Palace Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Side Kyoto
Hotel Palace Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing