We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great autumn foliage”
Review of Tofuku-ji Temple

Tofuku-ji Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.47*
and up
Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour
Ranked #16 of 1,120 things to do in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great autumn foliage”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Easily one of the best gardens for Autumn foliage that we saw during our stay in Kyoto. Fully recommend it.

We combined it with a trip to Fushimi Inari and Sanjusangendo Hall on the same day due to their proximity on the train line(s) in that area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Timberford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    475
    96
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous grounds espec in autumn”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Very large zen temple grounds beautifully maintained with Fantastic array of maple trees and plantings with at least three wood covered bridges spanning the hillsides offering picturesque views. Cons: depending on what u want to see, there are several entrance fees to various areas and buildings. That was a it weird

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank litebags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
1,131 reviews
727 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 511 helpful votes
“Beautiful fall colors and easy access bring crowds”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Take the JR train to Tofukuji station. From there the walk is maybe 10 minutes and on a day of fall colors can be accomplished by following the throng of passengers who exited with you. The view of the valley with the most trees is seen from a bridge and it will be loaded with tourists taking photos of you taking photos as you enter. The buildings are lovely but if the crowds are substantial, getting around among them can be problematic. Go early in the day.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A beautiful site”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Don't miss this - another fine example of Temples and the most beautiful raked gardens.and paths laid with square stones and surrounded by moss. Some of the paths lead you to quiet areas where one could just sit and take in the beauty around you as the attention to detail is amazing. We did catch the JR Train to this site then subway to the Daimaru and shopping centre after, which we managed quite easily.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank paulsa60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I am not religious, but if someone asked me what heaven would be like, I'd say like Tofukuji temple in the fall. The autumn leaves were just mesmerizing. I am definitely visiting Kyoto next year again and staying close to Tofukuji.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Krishna1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tofuku-ji Temple also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Tofuku-ji Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing