We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meet and work with talented people from all over the world while exploring Kyoto's vibrant culture”
Review of 47 Ronin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
47 Ronin
Ranked #218 of 322 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Kyoto-shi, Kyoto, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meet and work with talented people from all over the world while exploring Kyoto's vibrant culture”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

47 Ronin is a Japan paradise for travelers looking to come to Japan, experience the cultural life of Kyoto, and connect with like-minded entrepreneurs. The staff are very supportive and helpful, and the house/neighborhood gives you a real glimpse into a traditional Japanese home. Sometimes, community events and gatherings are held at Ronin, including concerts, film screenings, presentations and co-working events. The other guests are fun, friendly, and come from all over the world. You also get a spectacular view of the mountains which lie behind the house off at a distance. The location is accessible by subway and near restaurants and ATMs that accept international cards. Highly recommend 47RONIN to travelers and business-people alike visiting Kyoto.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Osaka, Japan
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Homely feel hostel located close to central Kyoto. What makes this place special is the co-working space available where you can work while on your holiday or traveling in a relaxed manner. The people here are friendly and informative and can offer you many tips and suggestions while you are here. You might even be able to join some of the events that are held regularly at 47 Ronin or meet some of the international people that come together to work in the co-working space.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Latintw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

47 ronin, located very calm quiet Japanese residential street, I could experience real Japanese life's atmosphere.The place has 2 floors. 1st floor is very sophisticated cafe style place,and 2nd place are residential area. The unique character of 47 ronin is they also running co-working space & kindergarden, so I could get in touch with local people as well as very international people who visit there as co-workers. The owner can speak fluent English, Chinese, and Japanese, so my tour become more & more comfortable. He also introduced me local people & place where I am interested in.
Near the 47 ronin, you will find local supermarket, so it'll be easily find reasonable Japanese food,or daily necessities,so as a total, it is easy to save cost.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yayoi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amagasaki-shi, Hyogo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

There's also a good co-working room inside the place. And I met a couple of experienced entrepreneurs and business people. That's why I should come back here soon.
If you're coming to this area for your business, I can say this place is the best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlhshino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongcheukfung, Manager at 47 Ronin, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi mlhshino,

Thank you for your kind comment.
Hope you will join us again for coworking next time soon.
We also have a new service which is unlimited supply of coffee for the whole day for just 500yen.

Cheers,

Tong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

47 Ronin is in Kyoto. You can access all sightseeing spots of Kyoto easily.

And you can feel Omotenashi mind. Staff is very kind.There is full of hospitality and comfort in 47 Ronin.

Except for residence area, it includes a working space, cafe, and nuesery,too. You can work in Kyoto after you finish visiting some spots of Kyoto and Nara.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NariFCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamihara-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I had a great time in 47ronin. The host,Tong is very nice and thoughtful. He reminded me to use map or other tools cuz the place was a little bit hard to be found. But actually it was not if you use GPS. And he's familiar wiz Kyoto, so you can ask him if you have no idea where to go or sth. else.
The house is traditional Japanese style, but inside is very modern, very "at home" atmosphere. I quite like there, cuz it become very quiet at night, so I can sleep tight. And you can find almost everything u need there.
There are also working space, cafe, even kindergarten there, for those ppl who come to Kyoto wiz kids and be busy wiz their work!
Last but not least,u can make friends wiz ppl have different culture backgrounds there too!!! What a great experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris Yun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I went the place for an event. The place is in a good neighborhood, and the staffs are very friendly. The room is clean and good enough for one person. The price is reasonable, but it is a little far from downtown area in Kyoto.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yooyama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 369 in Kyoto
2,926 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#33 of 369 in Kyoto
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
City Center
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
#56 of 369 in Kyoto
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 47 Ronin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 47 Ronin

Property: 47 Ronin
Address: Yamashina-ku Oyakegotannbadake-cho 8 Kitarinkan | Hokurinkan, Kyoto 607-8178, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 322 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are planning to travel to Japan by yourself & you looking for some adventures with a pinch of luxury & speed, join me to tour Japan in a convertible Porche Boxster. Tell me your preferences, your interests, what you would like to do & see, and I will customize an itinerary just for you. I will take you to different parts of Japan for a totally different experience, and a ride of your life. Japan is a popular travel destination as it is a very unique and mysterious country to all foreigners. It has mega cities like Tokyo & Osaka filled with the latest cutting edge technology & unimaginable subculture, yet it also offers the very original traditional crafts, food, culture, & festival in places like Kyoto & Nara that trace back beyond thousands of years. Geographically, Japan presents you with mountains, forest, rivers, volcano, lakes, and seas, together with many national parks across the island nation. As the season changes, all these features give a distinct difference in color, smell, and sound that simulate your five senses you have never experienced before. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing