We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oil Street Guest House and Space
Ranked #8 of 333 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed at the Oil Street Guest House with my wife and two children aged 12 and 9. This guest house was converted from "Kyo-machiya", a traditional wooden house found in Kyoto, and we had a wonderful experience here. Our room, the East Room, was clean, spacious enough for us, and very comfortable. The host and his dog were very friendly and warm-hearted. He does offer a very nice continental breakfast, including sliced fresh fruits, yogurt, assorted juices, milk, tee, coffee, bread, bagels, cereal, ham and cheese. We had a wonderful time and really enjoyed our stay. I want to stay here again if I visit Kyoto next time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1322kh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
40
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Oil Street is located just north of Kyoto in a quiet neighbourhood - the distance might seem off-putting at first but from about 5-10 minutes walk there is a bus stop and subway that literally links you to all areas around Kyoto.

The guesthouse is a renovated Machiya designer home - I was really looking forward to staying here as the images looked stunning… and it did not disappoint me!! The guesthouse is extremely clean, especially the tatami mats in the bedrooms (as I notice other traditional hotels aren't), the bedroom is equipped with a western private bathroom, with very comfy futons and electric heaters for extra warmth as it can get a bit cold. As it is a Machiya house, any loud sound made could be heard around the house but we didn't have much of an issue with that.

The breakfast is western style and very filling, it comes with a different range of bread, spread, cheese, ham, fruits, cearals, yogurts and if it's not enough Yasu will happily provide more although it is more than enough anyway! There is also a kitchen you can make use of if you feel like cooking your own food too~

Yasu has been a great host - he speaks very good English, recommends restaurants and helps you get around Kyoto the best way as possible. His companion Burrito is a very friendly and humble dog who makes the stay extra enjoyable - especially if you are a dog lover! Yasu and Burrito have been very kind to walk all the way to my next hotel (in Kyoto) to deliver a necklace I have accidentally left behind - thank you very much!

It is one of the best highlights during my stay in Kyoto, so stay here if you can! :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiki_delivery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Our stay at the Oil st. guesthouse was one of the best experiences we had in japan. Authentic traditional japanese house with excellent modern facilities. The bedroom was large with ensuite bathroom(bath & shower) and toilet. Traditional bedding was very comfy and plenty of warm quilts. Breakfast was lovely each morning with plenty of good coffee/tea. Yasu (the host) was extremely helpfull and friendly, providing information on places to visit and where to eat and the Kyoto magazine he gave us with local map was sooooo helpfull. Burrito (the dog) is so friendly and placid. Great location in quiet area, close to both bus and train transport. 10 minute walk to Imadegawa station and approx 7 minutes on the train from there into central Kyoto. (visit the Nishiki markets) I recommend using a taxi from Kyoto station to Oil st. guesthouse and give the phone number of the questhouse to the taxi driver so he can ring yasu and get directions how to get there. Thanyou Yasu and burrito for making our stay one we will not forget.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is a great place to book when travelling in groups. Japanese style living, the owner is friendly and the interiors are very homely and neat (wooden). It has only 2 toilets, and no Bathrooms. But there is an ancient sento (public bath) right across the street and i recommend a visit there too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ridhesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I couldn' t be happier about my choice in Kyoto. Not only about the place but also the opportunity to enjoy Yasu's (the owner) company and kindness, together with Burrito, the cute dog, she is very discrete so even if(and it is definateky not my case) you don't like animals, she won't bother you. The guest house is perfectly located, in a quiet area close to the most well-known places and all the options of public transport. Available for guests, you also have 2 bikes(very stylish, extremely in line with the guest house itself). I strongly recommend to stroll around Kyoto with them. It is really worth it.
The guest house is very nice, typical, they really did a very good job in renovated it. Everything super clean and confortable. the only thing I should probably mention is that, in case you are planning to stay during winter months, is that the place can be a bit cold due to the structure itself but the quilts of beds are rreally warm and I wouldn't have change my choice anyway.
The breakfast is included and it was a very pleaseant start of the day: very good coffee, a great Roiboos tea, fruits lovely cut and even Nutella for the home sick.
I also liked the toilets amenities, like shampoo, conditioner...very god quality so you won't miss yours.
One more thing to know is that taxi driver(consider to use them especially in the evening or when you have lots of luggages because there are a lot and they are not so expensive) most of the time doesn't know where to go if you give tell him the right adresse and not even if you point the place in the map.You should tell him the intersection about the two closest main streets which are Homidawa -Imadegawa ( hope I remember right and please forgive me the wrong spelling) and he will realise it.
I really hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReginettaLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Thanks Yasu for your perfect hospitality during our 4 night stay! We loved the house, the room, the breakfast, the neighborhood, and ofcourse our hosts Yasu and Buttito. It's a beautifully renovated Machiya with all modern comforts. Loved the bathroom too- was great to come back after a long day sightseeing and soak in the tub.

Yasu was a lovely host, and helped us map our travel everyday. His restaurant recommendations were nice (do try the ramen shop opposite the shrine).

The futons were very comfortable and the house was warm and cosy throughout our stay. Excellent wifi connection too.

Location- quiet neighborhood and takes 5 mins to reach the main road from where you can catch buses, get something to eat. The immadegawa station is also close and connects you to most parts of kyoto very easily- Kiyamachi, kyoto station can be reached within 10 mins.

We still miss our stay at Oil Street and would definitely go back there on our next trip!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Oil Street Guest House is one great choice if you like to experience Kyoto stay with Machiya-style-traditional house. You are not expecting hotel like facilities but this well maintained antique gives you more than relaxing.
The owner, Mr Yamamoto is very friendly and speaks good English. His dog Britto also welcomes you with warm hugs!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Yoshi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Piece Hostel Sanjo
Piece Hostel Sanjo
#1 of 333 in Kyoto
437 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Fujitaya Kyoto
Fujitaya Kyoto
#5 of 333 in Kyoto
240 reviews
Guesthouse Soi
#6 of 333 in Kyoto
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Guesthouse KYOTO COMPASS
Gion Ryokan Q-beh
#13 of 333 in Kyoto
111 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Mosaic Hostel Kyoto
Mosaic Hostel Kyoto
#11 of 333 in Kyoto
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oil Street Guest House and Space? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oil Street Guest House and Space

Property: Oil Street Guest House and Space
Address: 87-2 Mizuochi-cho, Kamigyo-ku, Kyoto 602-0058, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Nishijin District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 333 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is a traditional Japanese “Machiya” style house with two guest rooms and a spacious salon located in northern section of downtown Kyoto. Stay in an air-conditioned classic Japanese style guest room with a private bathroom. Each room holds up to five people. You will love sleeping on futon mattresses. Free wi-fi throughout the building and fully furnished kitchen are available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing