We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveler rating
186
166
23
10
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
166
23
10
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leave the key drink vouchers corner room nice hotel same rate nice lounge chose this hotel based shijo karasuma room key tea and coffee making facilities lovely boutique small boutique hotel shopping area three star bus stop bath amenities tourist sights
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 385 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2017 via mobile

Pros:
-Good location; walking distance to subway; with some food options and convenience stores nearby
-High standard of cleanliness, typical for Japan. Clean scent welcomed us everytime we enter our room.
-Complete bath amenities,

Cons:
-Odd room layout
-Prefab bathroom ceiling is too low. I'm over 6 ft.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank eric_sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2017

I'm in love with Kyoto, and this boutique hotel :-)
Hotel staff is very welcoming, offered more help than I had initially asked for (they help point me to the correct stations to go, printed the map and routes). They also have the printed autumn leaves color report daily which you can pick up at the front desk (if you're here in the autumn season). They have a nice lounge to sit back, relax, and watch the street from above while you map out your day trip routes (you get free drink vouchers to use in the lounge too !). One thing about the hotel, you have to pass your room key to the front desk when you go out for the day, and collect them again when you're back at the end of the day.

Tip: If you're coming to the hotel at check-in day with luggage, i recommend you stop at the Karasuma station, and exit near to the Shijo station (there's an elevator you can use). Then walk down south about 3-5mins to reach the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose any room which has windows
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank KelVin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2017

Just the next stop from kyoto train station, with walking distance to both Nshiki Market and Phonco alley: thats roughly 15-20 mins walk. Easily accessible and friendly staffs ready to greet you. Also the kimono rental shop is nearby for your choice. Big room and a nice bath.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAJ_Grewal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2017 via mobile

Firstly I would love to take this opportunity to acknowledge all the staff whom work here,all staff are extremely polite and friendly. Loved the room,the structure and layout is just perfect.Beds are clean and extremely comfortable including the pillows.Although they don’t have onzen@public bath but they made the toilet setting identical to one and you can do a personalized hot tub for one. An environmental water saving toilet bowl included@check it out yourself!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Eyvonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017

What immediately struck me about this hotel was the courtesy and professionalism of the staff. They were forever smiling, always helpful and very accommodating. We stayed for three nights while travelling across Japan and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The room we had was on a high floor and had a decent view. The room was quiet, furnished well and was in good decorative order. The hotel itself was in a good location, only a five minute walk from a subway.

My only issue with the hotel was the combined factors of needing to hand in the room key each time we went out and the fact the hotel only had one elevator. This meant we ended up holding the elevator door when stopping off to hand in the key as the reception wasn't on the same floor as the exit. You could also end up waiting for an elevator for a good five minutes which could be a tad frustrating. A little niggle which wouldn't prevent us from staying again.

Overall we had a great experience staying at the Kyoto Itoya and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews