We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cozy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kyoto Itoya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
Ranked #28 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A cozy hotel”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are quite small but everything is comfortable!! The staff is really kind and attentive. Rooms are well equiped with wifi, fridge, tv, tub in bathroom and air conditionnal! At our arrival we got 2 vouchers for free drinks. I have spent a great time.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mieschtel_Pech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    129
    18
    7
    0
See reviews for
55
142
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I love the modern and good-quality furnishings of the hotel, and the lounge/room are tastefully decorated with simple wooden furniture and chic lightings. Gives visitors a sense of calm while having a tea/coffee (welcome drink) at the lounge. Newly-refurbished rooms with a traditional Japanese setting (example, the bath is separate from the toilet). Quaint and nice! Most important of all, the staff are very friendly and helpful, always ready with suggestions on what to eat, where to go. High recommend this hotel in a great location and good value-for-money!

Room Tip: Non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiYan115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The staff was very nice and greeted us with the professionalism of any of the larger corporate hotels in Kyoto. If was our first stay in a "boutique" style hotel in Kyoto. The rooms are very clean and apparently quite new. The size is quite standard for Japanese hotels. Though the staff did not speak much English, we managed to communicate fine. It's located about half-way from Kyoto station and the main shopping areas to the North and the Geisha district to the East. There were a lot of Izakaya in the nearby streets (though none had English speaking people, but we managed with our minimal Japanese language.) The rooms were very clean and not a hint of smoke in our non-smoking room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Staff don't speak much English, but were lovely, and very helpful. Bikes available for hire, which we used for visiting the temples. The rooms were of a decent size, they were clean, the bathroom was great, wi-fi free and very handy, and the bed was very comfy. The only thing we really missed were tea and coffee making facilities, as the hotel charges $6 for a tea in the lounge. Located about half way between central station, and the main shopping district, the location is handy, although it might be easier to stay at either of these other areas and use the subway; although this is not really an issue if you don't mind walking. Overall, we had a great stay, and would come back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weclom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend this boutique hotel. It is 10- 15 minute easy walk from the Kyoto station and you can walk it with luggage. The hotel is on the main road. The rooms are a decent size and great value for money. Very clean and new (opened in 2013) and very friendly staff. Good for romantic getaway or just staying with friends. Great location....in the center of the city. About a 15 minute walk in all directions to very cool areas of the city. They have two bikes for rent but I would recommend going down the street 7 minute walk to rent better quality bikes for cheaper at rental bicycle Kyoto miyabiya.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank porfin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel is just like a second home for me. This is not a typical hotel with a very large building occupying large space so we opted to have a stay here. The place is really fun. I was in Japan for attending a boring training. The work we used to do at our pharmaceutical factory for nearly five years and the company told us to have a visit to get training on it. The country has a lot of worth visiting site and I was lucky to visit nearly all of them. the hotel was good and the people stayed there were of different caste. We all mingled with each other. The environment of conducting business is also good. Our parent company is located in japan and the specialist’s people deployed to get us trained. In the initial days I was not aware of the customs. The hotel had some great food items and was very easily digestible.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorelGlorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying here last November. I stumbled onto this little gem of a find through booking.com and I am so glad I booked it for the night.

The hotel staff was friendly and warm (typical of service everywhere in Japan. :) ) We arrived earlier than the stipulated check-in time but the hotel staff offered the option to store our bags at reception. When we got back to the hotel around 5pm to check-in, our bags were already brought to our rooms. (nice touch :)) I loved the wall behind the reception. All the room keys were hung up on the wall and each had tassel keychains. (available for purchase at the hotel).

Our rooms were adequately sized. (I stayed in smaller rooms in Tokyo) It was very comfortable and more importantly, squeaky clean! I ran a hot bath and had a very comfortable evening. There's no AC during winter, all you have to do is open the windows to let the cool wintry air in. They provide a heater as well so you can stay warm if it's too chilly. there's free Wifi provided so techies can stay connected. The hotel is really close to the next building (I can actually touch the wall of the building next to me) but it isn't really a problem.

It was easy to get to Gion and the temple trails. (A short bus ride away 220 yen or a slow walk if you're up for it.)

The only downside is that I only planned for one night's stay; wish I could have stayed longer. Thanks Kyoto Itoya for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijokarasuma
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
#13 of 366 in Kyoto
458 reviews
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Grand Bach Kyoto Select
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#31 of 366 in Kyoto
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Itoya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Itoya Hotel

Property: Kyoto Itoya Hotel
Address: 712 Yakushimaecho, Karasumadori, Matsubara Agaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8416, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyoto Itoya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Rakuten, Expedia, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kyoto Itoya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing