We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended restaurant ”
Review of Sugarhill Kyoto

Sugarhill Kyoto
Ranked #24 of 16,128 Restaurants in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Bar, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Shimogyo-ku
Description: For those who want to ease their way into new Japanese flavors or just want a taste of home, we offer "New Japanese Fusion" in addition to a number of our items being made Gluten Free, all at a reasonable price. English menus and English speaking staff are waiting to serve you. No reservation required however making one is highly recommended, just call the number you see connected to our store and we will be able to help you out. Can't wait to see you, Irashaimase!(Welcome!)
Reviewed April 18, 2019 via mobile

I absolutely agree with other reviewers, probably the best place we ate in Kyoto. It’s a small and nice place, the food is delicious and the staff very professional, and they speak English, so it’s possible to talk.
Highly recommended

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank edtani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 562 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2019 via mobile

My husband found this place on TripAdvisor so we turned up expecting to eat some yummy food but unfortunately it was booked out. We learnt quickly and soon booked for 2 nights. Really great food, excellent service. Tony the host and the chef are great.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank mandmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019 via mobile

We stumbled across this restaurant totally by accident a few hours after arriving in Kyoto and looking to fight off the hunger pangs. There was a party due at 8pm but as it was just after 6pm we had enough time.

The manager (Tony) is great with the ability to keep a busy room ticking over while responding to any queries in an attentive and engaging manner.

The food is great, fresh, full of flavour and well presented at a great price.

We have also booked for Friday night to avoid the potential disappointment of being fully booked.

Highly recommended!!

Dave C

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank davecurran40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

We had teriyaki chicken, both deep fried and stir fried. We also ordered rice omelette which was interesting to try. Fried cheese was so scrumptious, not on the menu but could be made by request. Highly recommended to try. Lemon sorbet is refreshing. And Tony was a great host with his youthful charm :). Booking essential to avoid disappointment.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MyTien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2019 via mobile

Really nice food, worth every penny. I was looking for a gluten free restaurant and I found this one. Booking is required, even from 1 or 2 days before.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank erikass14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugarhill Kyoto also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Sugarhill Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing