We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Piece Hostel Kyoto
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,003)
Filter reviews
1,003 results
Traveler rating
774
203
26
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
774
203
26
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastricea private double roombarley teashower roommix dormfirst floorshare bathroomgreat facilitiesthe ground floorextra pillowscommunal areasshampoo and conditionersimple breakfastrooms are smallfamily roomcomfy bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
569 - 574 of 1,003 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a great hostel. I have stayed in a lot of different places and this is the only hostile I have ever stayed up with a comfortable proper bed. Granted it is in a bunk situation but it's more like the traditional tunnels style With plenty of room to move. The only thing I didn't like was that if somebody below you as their lights on it shines through your bunk they should do something about that. Also for the value it was quite good that they offered free breakfast but the breakfast was only bread rolls and white toast or plain rice basically. The staff were really helpful and spoke English quite well although they all give different directions to places which was a bit confusing and I got lost a little bit because of this. Another thing that I didn't like was when I was getting helped by the girl at the front desk she stopped helping me to serve someone at the bar and I thought this was very rude

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selkielikesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My daughter booked this hostel over the phone. You have to remember that it is Japan, so the room is a very mini. The bed is western style and very soft. The room is very clean. The room contains AC, flat screen TV, free WiFi, a regular bed (we got twin bunk beds), a small table, a night stand, a sink, and a blow dryer. There are men's and women's restrooms on every floor and men's and women's showers on the first floor. You have access to a very nice kitchen, a family type area, small library, four computers, and there is a bar. Free light breakfast comes with the room. This was definitely a winner!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank vswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My family selected this hostel months ago before I decided to tag along. It was a fun experience to stay in a hostel where no private bathroom attached. This was my first time staying is such accommodation. Not really loving the shared bathroom but I did like the common area at the kitchen. I felt like home.

This hostel located very near to the Kyoto train station but it was very tricky to find this hostel as it is located in a very quiet residential area. I wouldn't have found it if it wasn't for the detailed instruction!

I opted for a single room which is ok for me because there is a sink in the room. The room is super tiny and basic. There is only one single bed, sink and a flat screen TV on the wall. Though they do provide me a bath towel. The shared bathroom was not bad after all, I love the powerful shower head. As this is a brand new hostel ( opened inApr this year) everything are sparkling clean.

There are 3 apple computers at the tiny lobby for guest usage. The staff speak good English and were very helpful.

There are coin operated washer (¥200 per load) and dryer (¥100 for 30minutes) (located by the little courtyard outside the kitchen

The rate is super cheap considering the location, the breakfast and the free wifi

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VanessaMunYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We took a 8 person mixed dorm, but the layout of the room is brilliant. You basically have your own private space, like a private mini space all to yourself. The mattress, duvet and pillow provided are all clean, fresh and comfortable, no complain at all. For a bunk bed concept/level, this is like a 5* standard. The rooms are all located on 1st floor and above while the lounge, toilets, bathrooms, dressing rooms, etc are on the ground floor. At the sound of it, it may seems inconvenient. But is a good idea after all, as there is less traffic, less movement, less noise and more peace. The toilets, bathrooms, kitchen are all well taken care of, clean and spacious. The concept of eco-shower is applaudable. All the basic amenities are taken care of. The breakfast choices are decent.
The front desk staff speaks good English, very helpful and approachable.

Location: 5 minutes walking distance to KK

The downside of staying in a dorm is when you have loud-snoring dorm mates ;)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TanyaTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Really nice hostel. Nice loungy common area. Staff speak excellent English and are very helpful. We stayed in a double room, very small but big bed and your own wash basin. Never a problem with showers. Breakfast of bread and rice included, which was nice. A bit far from the city centre but really close to train station, so good for day trips.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sixten1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews