We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sunline Kyoto Gion Shijo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Gion Hatanaka(Kyoto)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
    Ryokan 
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
      Ryokan 
      Sakanoue(Kyoto)
      View Hotel
      Great 4.5/5
      • Room Service
      • Free Internet
      Ryokan 
      View Hotel
      Great 4.5/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      View Hotel
      Good 3.5/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Restaurant
      Ryokan 
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      • Free Wifi
      Ryokan 
      View Hotel
      Great 4.5/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      Ryokan 
      Kinoe(Kyoto)
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Room Service
      Reviews (268)
      Filter reviews
      268 results
      Traveler rating
      95
      138
      30
      1
      4
      Traveler type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      95
      138
      30
      1
      4
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsthe busgreat locationwithin walking distancesouthern higashiyamalock the doorroom sizes arewho speaks englishjapanese style showermaruyama parklarge bathroomdeep bathtoilet areatwo double bedsbreakfast buffetshrines templesgood sized roomssightseeing places
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      124 - 129 of 268 reviews
      Reviewed September 22, 2013

      Excellent budget-friendly hotel with spacious rooms. The bathroom was big too. The hotel is perfectly located, walking distance to almost all the temples in Kyoto. Downtown Kyoto is nearby, walking distance to many restaurants and breakfast places like starbucks or local bakeries. Be ready for a 20 minute walk to the tram station to go to Saga. It's not walking distance from the Kyoto train station though. The staff is helpful. You can find vending machines at the ground floor. I strongly recommend this hotel for a stress-free stay in Kyoto.

      • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Roxanne F
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed August 18, 2013

      My husband & I stayed here in April as it is convenient to the Gion Kobu Kaburenjo Theater and we had tickets to the Miyako Odori, "Cherry Blossom Dances" and "Dances of the Old Capital".

      The hotel is a modern building within walking distance to a number of attractions and shops (we spent a lovely morning at an international coffee shop just down the road people watching). We had had a long day so we were happy that the front desk staff checked us in efficiently and quickly even though we had booked online. We had taken the deluxe non-smoking twin bed which gave us an extra large room with two beds and a large en suite japanese style bath and western toilet/sink. The bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean and fresh.

      Unfortunately, I cannot recommend the Italian restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel. There was a mix up with the order and the waiter brought the wrong meal. When I finally received my pizza it was awful. I understand that it was a long shot, ordering Italian in Kyoto, but it was a very simple order and when it came it was inedible.

      We were so pleased with our stay at the Hotel Sunline that when my husband returned to Kyoto with my son in June they stayed at the Hotel Sunline again.

      • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      3  Thank summ3r
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

      The hotel is at 3 minutes from the bus stop Gion which is at 15 minutes from Kyoto train station. It's at walking distance from Yasaka shrine. The building looks new, the reception staff is helpful and efficient. The room we had was spacious, we asked for a quiet room after reading other comments. The mattresses were nice and hard, the pillows too. The bathroom was spacious. The hotel and room in particular was clean. The only negative comment I could make is the same as for Japan more generally, the level of English speaking is basic. However, people will do their best to help.

      • Stayed: July 2013
        • Value
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Adam J
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed July 15, 2013

      This hotel is in Gion which is very beautiful area in Kyoto. It is easy to visit famous temples such as Kiyomizu-dera and Yasaka-Jinjya. Also it is easy to take a walk in the area with a lot of Japanese traditional houses.

      If you want to eat out or go for shopping, many restaurants and boutiques are easily accessible.

      I liked the size of the room and accessibility, so I would recommend this hotel.

      • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank Rafaelherm
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed June 30, 2013

      I booked this hotel based on good location and competitive rate. It was clean and the location was great, the service was adequate until checkout, when an abrupt deception occurred. We arrived back at the hotel to check out at 1115. We gathered our luggage and checked out at 1140 and were disappointed they had a 30% charge for late checkout (after 11) with no previous fair warning of this unyielding policy! We weren't informed of this policy when booking nor during check-in. I have never seen a hotel this hungry for money, and have never been treated this poorly at checkout! If you're going to have a strict policy then you need to inform your guests of such policy, especially when it comes to late checkout by a matter of minutes! Maybe English speaking tourists are not welcome at this hotel because they spoke very little English and charged us 30% extra for checking out minutes late without fair warning of this policy.

      • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      13  Thank AF1kona
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      View more reviews