We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cook your own meal”

Matsuzakagyu What’s
Reserve a Table
Ranked #31 of 16,074 Restaurants in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Neighborhood: City Center
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: City Center
Reviewed March 16, 2016

You cook your own food at this Japanese steakhouse, which features top cuts of beef. It makes for an interesting and delicious meal. The secret is to cook the very thinly sliced meat quickly. We enjoyed our meal, although we wish we had ordered more vegetables. Good service.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 274 of 382 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2015

it was one of the best yakiniku meal in our trip, matsuzaka beef never disappoint us. beef quality is superb, juicy and melt in your mouth. The restaurant decoration and service are great, only complain is very pricey.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Narain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

We were recommended this by a Japanese chef and it did not disappoint. Wonderful steak and wine with great service. They provide you with your own booth so you have complete privacy and it's very comfortable. If you are ever in Kyoto you must go to this place.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank Irishfoodie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2015

We chose to go to 'What's' because a) the reviews were good, b) we are carnivores and c) it was just round the corner from our hotel and we were not disappointed. We were shown to a booth which had a gas bbq in the centre of the table and it was nicely private. We chose a set meal and had appetisers, several cuts of beef with veg, both raw and to be cooked, soup, noodles and dessert. It was not cheap but was a most enjoyable experience.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Singingjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2015 via mobile

So glad I read the trip advisor reviews. This place is excellent - own booth, lovely relaxed atmosphere with lovely pond and lighting. We were a bit unsure of what to order but soon got the hang of it. Meat is excellent although a tad pricey. It's worth it for the experience. The staff are very helpful.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Nadiadew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsuzakagyu What’s also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Matsuzakagyu What’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing