We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Jolla

La Jolla
Ranked #118 of 12,166 Restaurants in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $36
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: City Center
Description: WE RECOMMEND YOU TO CALL US OR SEND US AN E-MAIL BEFORE COMING TO THE RESTAURANT.We serve delicious california style mexican food! Only the natural and fresh ingredients. We recommend you to make a reservation.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great find”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We went here based on it's high rating on Trip Advisor. When we got there we were quite shocked but by the time we left we absolutely loved it! We were shocked because a) it was so randomly located (up a quiet, dark alley) and b) it looks like someone's house from the outside. When you go in it is tiny.

There appears to be space for about 12-15 people, with one waiter and one chef. They initially apologised that we would face a 45minute wait (there were 10 people there). However, we had some wine and waited as we weren't starving. It was WELL worth the wait! We had the Chicken Quesedilla's, Beef Burritto (with exceptional Kobe beef) and the Vegetable nacho's. The food was excellent!!! The wine was great also. It was also quite cheap. The guys working in this cosy restaurant were great too!

Would definitely advise people to reserve, because this place is so small. We were quite lucky to get served just turning up. Definitely worth a visit - especially if you are a foreign tourist looking for a break from Asian food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulHReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    26
    8
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant in Kyoto!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We went to this californian/mexican restaurant and we tried the daily specials which were very tasty (the meat and vegetable were very good ) and the size of the portions were perfect (not too large).
The service was excellent (this is often the case in Japan).
I strongly recommend this restaurant in Kyoto.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lindakarena75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best night in Japan!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

After nearly 2 weeks in Japan I couldn't stomach another night of ramen noodles so went in search of something else. Found this place on trip advisor and this was the best mexican food I've had outside of Mexico. Everything was amazing and so fresh. The corn chips were made from scratch and the meals were delicious. The staff were so friendly and the small amount of tables created a lovely atmosphere.
This place is a must go when you come to Kyoto!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahului, Hawaii
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Full of atmosphere...”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Went to this place as a "change of pace" and because of the reviews. Its tucked away pretty good in a small neighbor and alley so a taxi would be the best way to go. We made reservations and arrived to find there were only about a dozen seats for this small place run by two great guys. The "owner-chef" loved California when he lived there. He began this restaurant 19 years ago which is a testament to his food. And the food was very good! But the whole place from the alley, small dining area, wall hangings, and menu exudes "atmosphere" creating a very nice evening!
Bravo Lajolla!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maui-mango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alor Setar, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurant i ever have”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I love the mexican food in this restaurant.I usually order Extra Spicy Taco with extra salsa and chip.Yummy Yummy,it taste so good.I also order some mexican chicken ( it extra spicy too,man i still don't regard about the decision on the sauce) i love it very much.I gonna say that this is really one of the best restaurant i ever have.Oh don't forgot to look at the describe that wrote up there.It
's real and i agree with it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DannyTheLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Jolla also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing