We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I do not like meat!”

Kyo no Yakinikudokoro Hiro Sembon Sanjo Honten
Ranked #102 of 12,152 Restaurants in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $45
Cuisines: Japanese, Barbecue, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Toronto
Level Contributor
161 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“I do not like meat!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

But everyone else in our party thought they had died and gone to heaven!
Apparently the various cuts of beef were as good as anyone had ever tasted - and one member of the party runs a chain of beef bistros in Toronto!!!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank World-Traveller-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    39
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Superb grilled steak with outdoor seating/river view”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were taken here by my husband's business colleague - the Pontocho area location. Entrance is not on Pontocho but on Kiyamachi, a few steps north of Shijo-dori. To find it, look at website first & memorize picture of raw yellow egg yolk on top of raw red beef. Then walk up Kiyamachi on the right side of street (canal on your left side) and look for the picture of egg & beef. It will be at entrance of a long skinny alleyway with lanterns on the ground - walk down that alley, halfway down you'll see window into their kitchen & busy chefs at work... Walk into door at end of alley & be greeted by huge, bright restaurant with 2 levels of seats overlooking the river and ask for a seat on the terrace. There you take off shoes, sit on tatami mats & start ordering! (If u want real chairs, eat inside)

Our Japanese guy did the ordering so all I can say is that we were served a bento box app with "interesting" tidbits.. I skipped most of that. It others said it was all delicious. Then came small cubes of saw, marbled beef that we coked on the hot stone in middle of our table. DIVINE. Seasoned, and we cooked to our own level of doneness... I will miss this dish! Next was 4 big, slabs of raw beef, also marbled, seasoned with salt & pepper.. You cut it with scissors to get sizes you want. Came with a few token veggies, but this was a carnivores delight! And beef was Superb!!

A few pitchers of beer, great service, yummy pudding-like dessert & the view of being on the river... All made this one of the best meals I ate while in Kyoto for 4 days. Other Yelpers say they have an English menu & if that's true, GO HERE. Especially if you're a picky eater in Japan (like me.. No fish)..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LemonCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“For meat lovers”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We came here for dinner-at the Pontocho location ( they have a few more locations in Kyoto).
It was relatively easy to find once you take with you a picture of the Japanese sign of the restaurant on your smart phone...( as there is no English on the sign) - it is on one of the small side streets off Pontocho.
We made a reservation and that was a good idea - as they were packed on a rainy midweek day.
The menu was simple and straightforward- you pick how much meat you want to eat for a set price and you get a platter with the seasoned uncooked meat to your table and then proceed to grill it yourself on the small grill on your table.
You can also order meat a la carte and order vegetables to grill, as well as a small selection of side dishes.
The staff was very friendly and explained the process in good english.
Everything we had was absolutley great.
Would definitely recommend for the food and the experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keynans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Kyoto”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We ate dinner in this restaurant whilst staying in Kyoto and, despite not having had a single negative experience in Japanese restaurant, this was definitely the one where we would return to if given the choice.
The atmosphere was great and friendly. There is an english menu but I believe it it a full translation of the japanese menu, so you may want to ask a few question to the staff who are all lovely and speak good english. The place is very popular, so booking at least a day in advance is recommended is you want a slot before 9.00pm.
We went for the sirloin and fillet speak as these were slightly cheaper options and were were traveling on a budget, but we later wished we'd ordered the 5,000 yen or 7,000 yen tasting platter.
The meat was prepared in front of us by the chefs and we then grilled it using a table barbecue in front of us.
The food was absolutely delicious and the meat was some of the best we had ever eaten. We also ordered grilled vegetables as sides and they were very fresh and tasty.
Smoking is allowed in most japanese restaurants but the exhausts above each dinner table means you won't get inconvenienced by this or the smoke from other barbecues.
Bottom line: this is not to be missed if you are in the Pontocho area of Kyoto and like good meat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R_Henaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
73 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I generally get tured off by places which say English menu outside in Japan as they might not be genuine and I generally don't go to places without recommendation but in this case I was just lucky! The place is ran by young guys including the chef, but the quality of the meet is excellent and the service too! The chef selection platter is 7000 yen and it was enough for 2. I really recommend it... Tasty and good value!!! Place is also very clean and with a great exhaust in from of each diner not smoky!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank butchHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyo no Yakinikudokoro Hiro Sembon Sanjo Honten also viewed

 

Been to Kyo no Yakinikudokoro Hiro Sembon Sanjo Honten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing