We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet little gem in Kyoto!”
Review of Almont Hotel Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Ranked #22 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet little gem in Kyoto!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is within a walking distance from Kyoto station. The room and bathroom are tiny by Western standard but it had everything we needed, from toiletries, room spray, slippers, bath robes, to humidifier. A minimalist, no frills concept hotel. Our room was on the 2nd floor (the same floor as the public bath) and it did not have any view outside (frosted glass window that let in bright, natural light). Helpful and friendly staff.
Pluses: free wifi, excellent Japanese buffet breakfast. Quiet but strategic location (there's a Lawson across the street). Checkout was a breeze, using an ATM-like machine.
Tip: take a small suitcase/tow-along with you, as there is not much space in the room, and it will make it easier for you to move around if you are taking the bullet rain to/from Tokyo/Osaka.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RaniMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    321
    46
    7
    4
See reviews for
167
291
83
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The Almont hotel is located on the quiet side of Kyoto, and is approximately 10 minutes away on foot from the JR-Kyoto Station. The hotel is well appointed and looks new. The rooms are cozy and are well-maintained, clean and comfortable. I was also surprised to see that the room size is much bigger than those rooms in larger cities like Tokyo or Osaka. In-rooms are carpeted floors with big screen TV and comfy beds to sleep in. Showers are great with complete in-room amenities. Overall a really pleasant stay here in Almont.

The hotel also provides a public steam bath for hotel guests, which made our stay even better. A nice steam bath after a long day traveling in Kyoto! That puts you in to a good sleep very quickly once you hit the bed!

I arrived late on the night that I checked in, and the staff actually emailed me to confirm whether I was going to turn up at the hotel (as I was traveling from Hakone to Osaka, then back to Kyoto as there were no rooms available in Osaka at the time that I made reservations). They actually waited to check me in for the night and greeted with smiles and even with welcome drink.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oakerz119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Some details made our stay very pleasant : the hotel has a small library where you can borrow books for free (our kids really enjoyed this); staff goes all the way to please you (I was checking on the map in the lobby and one of the staff came walking towards me asking if she could help me); the public bath (onsen style, but without the hotspring water) allows you to enjoy the real Japanese experience (and is an instant winner with kids as well)

We stayed in a 3 bed-room, wich was big for Japanese standards, well appointed, and very clean. Didn't try the breakfast (Kyoto station, 5-10 minutes walking away has plenty of choice).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The Almont is modern, well appointed & conveniently located within 5mins walk from the enormous Kyoto Station.

I booked a single room & truth be told [given Japanese hotel rooms can be tiny], was expecting a 'shoe box'... but was very pleasantly surprised. Yes, the room was compact but perfectly proportioned so you still had a sense of space (even with a luggage 'roundabout' !).

The room was scrupulously clean & the bathroom compact but modern. Fast, free wifi provided and there appeared to be vending & ice machines on each floor, plus a very handy coin operated laundry - which when you're staying in a place a few days is a welcome service to the more expensive hotel laundry.

The staff spoke very good English & were extremely helpful.

Would highly recommend this hotel to those who want a comfortable stay close to transport.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoDaVinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed here for four nights while sightseeing around Kyoto, and doing day trips on the Shinkansen. The hotel is the perfect base, only a 5 min walk to Kyoto station. The rooms are big (if you book a twin and push the beds together you get a bigger bed than if you book a double- a mistake by booking.com that worked in our favour!!) and spotlessly clean- even though we were mistakenly given a smoking room, it didn't smell at all. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wappingfoodie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel is about a 5-6 minute walk from the station and really seems to be brand new. The staff are really nice and the hotel is clean and modern. I had a really nice stay. I'd rate this to be a very good standard 4-Star hotel. Few shops nearby and proximity to the station makes it ideal. It wasn't even expensive. Would definitely stay again and have recommended to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArcticRoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time. The hotel is feels very new and modern. The rooms were clean and comfortable, typical compact size for Japan. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the Kyoto Train station, which doesn't sound that far but after long days of walking and site-seeing we wished for a more centrally located hotel. There isn't much else around the area except another hotel. I'm sure it's safe, but there weren't many other people out late at night.

The hotel has an onsen, which was VERY popular. It's open til 2am and since I was using the laundry machines located in the change room, I saw a constant stream of people going in and out. A passcode is required to access the women's onsen, and not only is the code changed daily, the digits on the electronic keypad move around each time to deter people who may be watching. Very high-tech!

We did not try the breakfast buffet but the restaurant looked packed each day. There aren't a lot of restaurants or convenience stores in the area, but they do have drink vending machines. The hotel also offers umbrellas, which came in handy during our stay.

Overall we were very pleased and would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the same floor as the onsen (2nd floor?), lots of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace
Sakura Terrace
#19 of 369 in Kyoto
833 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
#11 of 369 in Kyoto
486 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#36 of 369 in Kyoto
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almont Hotel Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almont Hotel Kyoto

Property: Almont Hotel Kyoto
Address: 26-1 Nishi-iwamotocho, Higashikujo, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8005, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Almont Hotel Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Rakuten, Agoda, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Almont Hotel Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing