We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hotel”
Review of Almont Hotel Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Ranked #25 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location, good hotel”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The Almont hotel is conveniently located 10 minutes walking distance from the Kyoto train station. The staff were polite and helpful and spoke English. The place was typically scrupulously clean. Rooms were a nice size and all toiletries were provided, with ample power points and a kettle. Wi-Fi was free, although there were times when it did become a little patchy. Depending on how many people there were in the room the layout of the rooms and bath would differ, but you won't feel too crowded in. Bedding was comfortable and for those who would not want to wait for the tub to fill, there is a Japanese bath in the hotel. The bath has a passcode for the women's side. It's not too big though so peak hours it may get a little crowded.

The only thing lacking was a small face towel, but it's such a minor point. The walls were solid, although some sound filtered through, it should not be too disruptive.The neighbourhood in general was quiet and felt safe.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrisVivienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    318
    46
    7
    4
See reviews for
164
289
82
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This hotel is convienintly located close the the Kyoto train station.
The rooms were very high standard and in lovely cleaned condition. Considering the price, the value you get is really great!

As the location is so close to the trainstation, it is easily accessible even though coming late or so. We arrived with the Shinkansen from Tokyo, landing with the plane the same day. But without a flaw :)

Breakfast was really an experience with a huge variety of dishes.

The bath/pool area was also very very nice.

This place is a great recommendation!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LasseWatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The hotel has a modern, new and zen visage. It is about 10mins walk from Kyoto train station. The room, though was small, it was comfortable and well organised with its room amenties, i.e. choice of wireless and LAN access, and what more, 3 to 4 power points. The bed mattress is firm to provide us a good night sleep. The hotel also has a nice touch of engaging their guests to practice "care for environment", for e.g, instead of handing the usual signages of "do not disturb" or "make up room" cards at the door, these signages are with magnetic backing for guests to paste it on the door. The staff are warm, friendly and ever-ready to assist. Well done, Almont staff!

Room Tip: As my review title mentioned, it is a good hotel located in a quiet neighbourhood and a 10 mins walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jastom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

"I visited this hotel with a friend of mine who was a local and introduced me. The person took me to the hotel and on the way told me about the offerings. On arrival and enquiry I saw that whatever was told by the person proved to be right. The hotel was large with spacious rooms and good reception. Each room was clean and the bed was large and the bath room had all the facilities. The fridge in the room was newly bought and had all the yummy chocolates and other stuff.
Before finalizing the room I asked the reception personnel to show me some rooms for making decision after conducting an exercise of comparison. Almost all the 4 rooms showed were balanced so I did not hesitate in choosing any one of them. Ancillary services were upto and exceeding expectations."

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarinRodrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This hotel is a simple yet elegant and modern hotel at the heart of Kyoto. The beds are comfortable and the people are accomodating. The view from our room is great, especially at night, overseeing the citylights. Although the room is quite small, it has everything that we need. The double room that we had also had some couches a small table, perfect for the room service breakfast that we had. We stayed here for a couple of days, and we tried going buffet for breakfast on our second day. Although there were a lot of people, we had quite our fill and enough for us to go through the day energized. Thank you, Almont! It was a wonderful time we had at Kyoto.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Location wise it's near Kyoto station about 10-mins walk from Hachijo east exit. The environment is less happening but peaceful and quiet. There is a convenient store, Lawson, just across the road.
The room is clean and modern, although it not very big but very well organised. Bathroom, air purifier are absolutely clean. Universal charger is next to the bed for all kinds of USB, and gadgets, however, not for iphone5 and iPad using lighting ports. There are vending machines, ice maker and microwave oven as the common area in some levels. It's really convenient if you wanna get some ice for your drinks or reheat food bought from supermarket. Wifi is good, they have computers and printers at lobby which is free to use also. There is also public bath in level 2, it's very clean as well, ladies can get the password (changed everyday) from reception.
The staff are friendly, polite and attentive to queries and requests. They would greet you without fail whenever they see you.
We spent six night here, everything went well and very satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSMiffySS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel is located within a 10-min walk from the Hachijo east exit of the subway. Be sure to know exactly which exit to take, or you might spend a long time locating the hotel. It is located at a quiet side of the Kyoto station. Room was very clean with adequate amenities. The 2-piece robe provided was very comfortable. Main grouses were the hard beds and size of room. It's really tiny. Tiniest room I've stayed in. Could be common in Japan to have stiff beds and small rooms. Overall, it's a good 4-day stay for me. Anything more, I could end up feeling claustrophobic. We moved on to Osaka to spend 8 days and chose to book a large 1-bedroom serviced apartment for its accessibility and much needed space for luggage and shopping.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank moonsafarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace
Sakura Terrace
#18 of 369 in Kyoto
821 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#33 of 369 in Kyoto
517 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almont Hotel Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almont Hotel Kyoto

Property: Almont Hotel Kyoto
Address: 26-1 Nishi-iwamotocho, Higashikujo, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8005, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Almont Hotel Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Almont Hotel Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing