We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Almont Hotel Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Ranked #26 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Modern and well maintained hotel with small rooms but very clean and comfortable. The hotel is conveniently located next to the train station. The staffs are welcoming and helpful, wifi and aircon works well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel with reasonable price and quality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jehntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
There are newer reviews for Almont Hotel Kyoto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 726 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Pros
Room size bigger than normal
quiet neighbourhood in terms of traffic noise
on site onsen
5-10 mins walk to Kyoto station (depends whether you do bus, shinkansen, JR or metro as these are very spread out across the big station)
near to the river for running
no problems with the wifi

Cons
5-10 mins walk to dinner options- some sushi and ramen in the station (south east corner) or at level 10
few tourist attractions around hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank IJB_Cavendish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Only about a 10 minute walk from the west exit at Kyoto station. Modern, comfortable, very good size rooms. The entire property is immaculately clean. The rooms have a full bath inside but there is also a great onsen on the 2nd floor. The women's onsen even requires an entry code for added security. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. Less expensive than you would pay for other hotels in the area, but I can't imagine a better stay anywhere else. Highly recommend.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank 272JS272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Reasonable value for money, modern hotel 5-10 mins walk from Kyoto station. Rooms were quite small and the area around the hotel is quiet with very few restaurants/tourist attractions nearby but as long as you're happy to take public transport or do a bit of walking this is a good hotel. The onsen public bath is also very nice - once you get over the usual western prudishness!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The toilet paper is better quality than other hotels we've been to in Japan, and there are full English instructions for most anything one might need. There is a public bath as well as a private one, and the TV in the room is the largest one we've seen so far in a Japanese hotel. Also, there are lots of electric outlets.

For negative points, the wifi is horrible - we're on the second floor and it keeps cutting out - and there is no view as the window is opaque. Also the in room tub is one of the smaller we've seen in Japan, but that might be negated by the public bath option. Keep in mind that as with everywhere else in Japan, you cannot enter a public bath with a tattoo.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LandStander82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We really liked this hotel. I got a booking.com deal for a night's stay at 8,330 Yen and it was a steal. It is located within 10 min walking distance from the Kyoto train and bus station. The hotel name could be seen from afar making it easier to locate while walking there from the station. The hotel is new and the room is very well designed to utilize the space efficiently. It is clean and the bed is very comfortable. Pyjamas and slippers are provided and useful to wear to the complimentary spa which many utilized. Provided in the room are : kettle, green tea, nice shampoo, shower gel, toothbrush kit, comb, alarm clock, and even a universal charger. Fast and free internet access from the room. There is enough space to unpack our things. The staff are very friendly, professional and speak good English. We really liked the clean, modern shower facilities and had the most comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our favorite hotel in Japan. Excellent/friendly service, very clean, and convenient location. Though the room is on the small side (compared to western standards), the layout is great and you'll find everything you need, including a bedside charging station, small desk, closets, Wi-Fi, etc. They offer a buffet breakfast (you have to buy tickets at the front desk the day before) with both Japanese and Western options. We thought the breakfast was exceptional, as it featured a wide range of Kyoto cuisine, and would recommend it to others. Though there aren't a lot of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, restaurant options abound in Kyoto station, which is about a 5-10 minute walk. While we didn't use the public bath, the facilities seemed nice and many guests took advantage of this amenity. They also have coin laundry machines, which was a pleasant surprise. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HTK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace
Sakura Terrace
#19 of 374 in Kyoto
878 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
#25 of 374 in Kyoto
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Shimogyo-ku
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae
Southern Kyoto
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almont Hotel Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almont Hotel Kyoto

Address: 26-1 Nishi-iwamotocho, Higashikujo, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8005, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $91 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Almont Hotel Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Rakuten, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Almont Hotel Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing