We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Nearby Hotels
$194
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$300
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$128
$78
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$151
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$227
$169
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Monterey Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
$114
$86
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kanra Kyoto(Kyoto)
$348
$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$390
$347
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Arashiyama Benkei(Kyoto)
$570
$359
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (777)
Filter reviews
777 results
Traveler rating
357
355
52
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
355
52
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspublic bathminute walktrain stationsouth exitpower pointshot bathfree wifijapanese hotelswashing machines and dryersstation areabuffet breakfastsmall roomstayed for two nightsmodern hotelconvenience storeconvenient locationnight's sleep
Filter
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 777 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Service and hotel itself was excellent. This place was so clean and looked really new. I was already impressed when I used the lobby bathroom with the automatic toilet seats and buttons everywhere. Location is a 5min walk from the station which I thought was ok although my cousin felt it was a far walk for a heavy suitcase in heat. Rooms were spacious even with our 3 beds in the one room. Pity we didn't have time to use their public bath / pool...I know I would've enjoyed it. The breakfast was excellent in variety...loved the Japanese selection.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a-little-fatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

As others have said this hotel feels brand new. It's a short walk from Kyoto station and on arriving (and every other time through reception) you are greeted by the very friendly staff with excellent English. The deluxe room was large and clean.

Although you can hear general noise from rooms around you and the road outside, this all stops around 10pm and there is silence until the next morning.

Friendly staff, comfortable and clean rooms, and a quiet night's sleep. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcus_uk2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is brand new. The rooms are very clean.
It's located very near Kyoto Station (a five minute walk), so a good base if you want to explore the surrounding of Kyoto, like Nara, or any location that can be best visited by public transport.
We opted for an upgrade when we arrived: the smoking room we had to book could be changed into non-smoking after all, and an upgrade bought us more space. After all, Japanese hotel rooms can feel a bit small...but we got a good deal.
The rooms were very well designed, with even a universal phone charger next to the bed. Very handy indeed! The room felt four star to us, even thought it's only three stars I think.
The public bath was nice, but not the best we have encountered during our trip.
One remark: for a new hotel, the washing facilities were a bit disappointing. The dryer almost did not work at all. Would recommend doing your laundry at another hotel, this will save you time (after two half hour runs in the dryer my laundry was still wet) and annoyance.
Tip#1: Kyoto Station is huge, and you can get lost easily. Take the South exit for Hatchi Street, near the JR-lines to Nara. We forgot our exit once and were completely lost!
Tip #2: when you take a taxi in Kyoto to the hotel, bring a full address with phone number (and a map if possible) to show the driver. We thought that it was because of the hotel being so new, but taxi drivers in Kyoto will often call the hotel where it's located. That's they way they work.
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CharshankRedemption
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel is very new and so very clean and quite a nice place. It's a short walk to the station, which was very handy and there are shops and a couple of restaurants along the road and in the station. The room was tiny, though, and not really enough space to put two suitcases or for more than one person to be standing up at the same time. Fortunately, you won't be spending too much time in the room as Kyoto has a lot to see and do. Make sure you hire a bicycle and ride around to some of the temples and other sightseeing places in the area - it's a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just spent a week here and very happy. It literally is 5 mins from Kyoto station which served us splendidly, all the buses and trains right on our doorstep. As others have said Kyoto station is complicated(!) so ensure you leave by the east exit - the Hachijo exit (its also the same exit as where the Shinkansen trains are) when you emerge onto the street from the Hachijo exit you will be facing the Avanti building/store, with this in front of you and the station behind you turn left and walk up the street, cross the first intersection to the next, then turn right. The hotel is right there. Once you are in you will find an even quicker shortcut back to the station. Breakfast at the hotel was ok, although the cooked stuff got a bit cold and unpalatable some days. Our room was at the back which was very quiet. Wifi was brilliant, very strong. Our room was a small double and yep, it was very small! you have to take it in turns to get changed! but it was clean and location suited us very well, we would stay here again. Oh and the eateries in Kyoto station (floors 10 and 11) are really excellent!

Room Tip: 414 is quiet, but very small! wifi was good.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shellbellUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews