We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“among the best hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Kyoto
Ranked #68 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“among the best hotel”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Checked in room 404 during April 2014. (spring season)
- Awesome sakura tree from the window.
- Still able to receive Wifi from 2nd floor.
- Receptionist able to speak english well.
- Centralized location. typically you can just wander around Gion, Kiyomizu, Pontocho until night without having to worry about transportation.
- 9/10 point.Generally I do not have any complain. Just the aircon/heater will somehow auto off constantly. And yes,i will visit this Hotel again.

Room Tip: choose from room 1 to 9. (example 404 means 4th floor room no.4). - You will be amazed by the sakura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    183
    42
    6
    3
See reviews for
69
101
69
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I chose this hotel because Sunroute is a great brand – I’ve stayed in two other Sunroute hotels and found them flawless. Hotel Sunroute Kyoto is well located – very central – and is very good value. The breakfast is good. And the staff are typical Sunroute staff – EXCEPTIONAL – and do all they can to make your stay comfortable and welcoming. My room (single), including the bathroom, was a reasonable size. The bed was a bit of an issue, a foam mattress had been placed over the bed base I assumed to ‘modernise’ and older bed – not very comfortable. This was a bit disappointing as I generally found beds in Japan to be fantastic – very comfortable. Although and older style hotel and a little bit tired I’d stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiddyBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Probably in the best and most convenient position of any hotel in Kyoto, the Sunroute is on the canal and river, a 5 minute stroll to the main city centre and a myriad eateries, has a bus stop out front which takes you to Kyoto station in 7 minutes and is a mere 20 minute walk to the eastern hills. The staff were always ready and willing to assist and the front desk always had at least one staff member with excellent English skills. While the rooms are showing a bit of age, mine was clean and comfortable. The only downside for me was that while WiFi was available in the hotel lobby and cafe, it was not available in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I usually stay at the Sunroute Plaza Hotel in Tokyo and I rave about it. Thinking that Sunroute was such a great brand I thought this would be a great value like their property in Tokyo. The hotel is in the best location of any hotels in Kyoto. It is literally a 5 minute walk to the Main city center where all the night life is happening. On the other had, I would have to say that this hotel is a solid one star property. The hotel itself is very run down throughout the corridors and the rooms you can smell mildew. I booked a single room and was expecting a tiny room. The beds were hard as a rock and it would be more comfortable sleeping on a wooden floor. The staff were helpful but they barely spoke any English. Because the beds were so uncomfortable I had to check out and go another hotel. I tried very hard to outweigh the great location over the cons but I couldn't.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bem247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable beds, a coin operated laundry room, reasonably priced cafe and restaurant, friendly and helpful English-speaking staff. Rooms very clean and also quiet despite being on a main road. 5 mins walk to main shopping area with convenience stores situated just outside the hotel.

Room was quite small and bathroom tiny, but overall excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarkini30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel in our recent trip to Kyoto. The taxi fare from Kyoto station (after arriving from Osaka Kansai by the airport limousine bus) to the hotel was 800 Yen. It was a short ride of under 10 minutes.
With lower exchange rate for Japanese Yen these days, we are quite pleased with the rates of JPY 7,800 for twin and JPY 8,900 for triple which we got from Travel Rakuten.
The rooms are of reasonable sizes, clean with the usual hotel amenities such as hot water jug and bathroom items. We booked our light breakfast set at 350 Yen per person the night before at the reception counter, otherwise it would be 500 Yen. There is a more pricey breakfast buffet available on the 2nd floor for 1200 Yen I think. We had to get to Kyoto station in the morning for our day tour so just taking the 350 Yen breakfast set was fine for us. It included coffe/tea, toasted sandwich, salad and an hard-boiled egg. There are also other items available on the cafeteria menu, not too expensive.
On the third day before we left for Osaka, we found a Japanese fast food chain type of restaurant (I can’t remember the name) that is to the left direction of the hotel, if you are standing in front of the hotel facing the road, about 5 minutes walk. Reasonably priced and we love the beef rice.
In terms of location, the hotel is not right in the middle of happenings, but it is not too far from the Nishiki market, Takashimaya departmental store and the Kawaramachi-Kyoto station of the Hankyu line, all within 10 – 15 minutes leisurely walk. We paid 620 yen for the Hanyu express to Osaka with journey time of just under an hour.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LemonJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
#57 of 373 in Kyoto
705 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
#74 of 373 in Kyoto
580 reviews
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijokarasuma
Southern Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
#93 of 373 in Kyoto
337 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel San Crane
Hotel San Crane
#81 of 373 in Kyoto
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Kyoto

Property: Hotel Sunroute Kyoto
Address: 406 Nanbacho, Matsubara-sagaru, Kawaramachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8027, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunroute Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Rakuten, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing