We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and friendly hotel at good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Kyoto
Ranked #61 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly hotel at good location”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We spent 3 nights here. The service was good. Staff were kind and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable (TEMPUR-PEDIC bed). It locates close to the Kamo river (鴨川) and is one bus stop or 10 mins walk from Shijo-Kawaramachi (四条河原町). The bus stop was just in front of the hotel entrance. Restaurants in hotel provide meals at reasonable price. There is also a convenient store across the street.

Room rate is comparable to rate of the Japanese style hostel (shared bathroom) we lived in before we moved to the Sunroute hotel, and we got better quality stay here. If you do not need to experience a Japanese style hostel, this is the hotel we recommend. We love it very much.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaiming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    180
    42
    6
    3
See reviews for
68
100
68
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
raleigh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed at the Sunroute for 3 nights. Although the staff didn't speak great English they tried and were very helpful. The rooms are small, we stayed in a semi-double and the bed was a bit small but comfortable. I would stay here again. The location is great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul Province, Turkey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We got a great deal and stayed here for a week. Yes, the rooms are not big, but we stayed in the smallest room (a corner twin) and even with two beds PLUS a 'sofa bed' for our son there was still enough room for all of us, luggage, and breathing.
There is a small bar fridge, kettle (great for making instant noodles from any of the convinience shops nearby) and a small but functional bathroom.
The reception staff always went out of their way to help us.
The location is excellent - within walking distance of many of Kyoto's most famous sites (or most of them if you are 'walkers' like us) and within walking distance of the main train station. If you don't want to walk, it is a short, cheap taxi ride away.

Room Tip: Ask if you can get a deal for a longer stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoBeatenPath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

I echo the reviews here. Great mid range option, excellent location. By walking, it is 10 minutes to Kawaramarchi (main business district), 15 minutes to Gion and Nishiki market, 25 minutes to Kiyomizu-dera Temple and 25 minutes to main train station.

By bus from main train station, take bus 4, 17, 205 to Kawaramarchi Matsubara stop, 220 yen. Hotel is right across street, look for Cafe Briller, as the hotel does not have a large sign. Bus back to train station is right in front of hotel.

Rooms are small but clean. They have internet cable to connect to laptops and memory foam beds. In short, great hotel for trip to Kyoto.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamblix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
130 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

The hotel is located in a good position, near the center but in a quiet area.
My room was comfortable and spacious (for the japanese standards!)
Good service.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank einai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

I stayed 4 nights in Sunroute Hotel on May 2009 with a girl friend of mine. We enjoyed our stay. It was very clean. My bed was comfortable. The room was a bit small but nothing to worry- there was a big big window with some view. Breakfast is buffet style and has both western and japanese options. The staff very helpful and smiling! It is within close walking distances from main train station and there is a bus station just in front of it; Gion and shopping streets are really close. I freely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbarella_1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

The most useful feature of the hotel is that it is a short walk from the Geon Corner area and that there's a but stop just outside, taking you to the Kyoto station. There are 2 laptops with free internet in the lobby, make sure to change to English language when you begin else you are stuck with Japanese keyboard layout. Hotel front desk staff was good but telephone operator could speak only Japanese.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMfromMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
#55 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijokarasuma
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#33 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
#72 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Southern Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
#94 of 366 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Kyoto

Property: Hotel Sunroute Kyoto
Address: 406 Nanbacho, Matsubara-sagaru, Kawaramachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8027, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunroute Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing