We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room and no air condition”
Review of Kyoto Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Ranked #64 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
1 review
“Small room and no air condition”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

1st time travel Kyoto , and 1st time have bad feeling for hotel stay in my life.
The room is too small and no air con. I can't sleep well for no air con. The staff is not good in English, and they don't understand what i need. But just only one night in this hotel, so forget it, but will not take this hotel if i travel here next time.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    251
    159
    29
    11
See reviews for
165
153
60
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

1st time travel Kyoto, and 1st time have bad feeling in hotel stay.The room is small and no air con . in room, can't sleep whole night. The staff is not very well in English, and i don't think they are nice when i check in, my flight has been delay for 3 hours so i checked in around 6pm, when i show my passport to check in, she asked me why i check in so late, i don't understand why i can't check in late, i have made full payment for the
room. i really don't understand is this attitude they should give me. i will not stay in this hotel, NEVER.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaUra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel based on availability and price as there wasn't much choice around Sakura season. I was a little worried what we were going to get based on some of the reviews, so when we arrived and saw our room I was very relieved! Small,yes, but no worse than other japanese hotels. The breakfast was very good, helpful staff and good links to the north/south metro line, trains and especially the busses. The free ticket up the tower was also a nice touch and worth doing. Next time we'll stay in Osaka as the prices are more reasonable and you start in kyoto at the same spot as this hotel (the train station) but this is no reflection on the hotel. Just a lesson learnt from experience ;)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hodgsojv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burfjord, Troms, Norway
Level Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Kyoto Tower Hotel has nice well equipped rooms with ok beds in them, public bath available in the next building (entrance via hotel lobby shop), and good tourist information service at the front desk. They offer smokers room and also smokers salong in common areas. Despite somewhat hard beds and some traffic-noice at night, top rating 6 i given for overall impression and considered the location, excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Kyoto Station are excellent if you wish to study this sculptural building. Rooms no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
112 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stayed here for a couple nights during my trip to Kyoto. The hotel is in a pretty good spot, since Kyoto station is directly across the street, and there is a fair amount of shopping nearby as well. When you check in, you get a free voucher to go up to Kyoto Tower, which isn't that great, but still worth doing. The staff here was very pleasant. The rooms are pretty small, but I guess that's to be expected. I'd probably stay here again if I was stopping over in Kyoto again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulahdelah, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Older hotel so close to the station. Not a lot happening around the station area, but very convenient if you have luggage, and limited time in Kyoto. Room was exceptionally clean, and although compact, was exceptional value at less than $AU50 a night. There was always at least 1 staff member at reception who spoke English, and even those who did not, tried so hard (their English was always better than our Japanese). Booked 2 rooms and requested that they be close together, unfortunately being a long weekend in Japan the hotel was very full and we ended up with rooms at opposite ends of the hotel which was a little inconvenient, but for the price we paid, can't complain. The free tickets to the tower was a nice bonus. Certainly not a luxury hotel, but you can't beat the price of this place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyAnn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

we arrived Kyoto at 10 pm at the JR Kyoto station. The hotel is just across the street from the station, extremely convenient for a stopover as well as a abase for exploring Kyoto. The bus station is just one traffic light away.
the front desk staff were efficient and friendly, the rooms were comfortable, and the price was very reasonable. I

Room Tip: ask for nonsmoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aycl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
#85 of 366 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#30 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
#49 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#45 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Tower Hotel

Property: Kyoto Tower Hotel
Address: 721-1 Higashishiokoji-cho, Shichijoo-sagaru, Higasinotoin-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kyoto Tower Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Fastbooking, JAPANiCAN, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kyoto Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing